Peninsula’s Fox, Maurer collect wins at Tour of Anchorage

  • By Staff Report
  • Tuesday, March 7, 2017 12:44am
  • Sports

Soldotna High School graduate Sadie Fox, who now skis for the University of Alaska Anchorage, led a contingent of Kenai Peninsula skiers by winning the 25-kilometer classic event Sunday at the Tour of Anchorage.

Fox finished the course in 1 hour, 30 minutes and 28.1 seconds to beat second-place Alison Arians of Anchorage by over 10 minutes. Fox had the top 25K classic time on the day, as men’s winner Erik Hjelm of Anchorage crossed at 1:31:42.6. Current Soldotna High School skier Kellie Arthur was fifth in the 25K classic at 1:51:17.9.

The peninsula claimed another win in the women’s 25K freestyle, with Jasmine Maurer of Homer crossing at 1:32:52.9 to top Clare Ross of Anchorage by just over six minutes.

In the men’s 40-kilometer freestyle, three peninsula high school skiers were able to slip into the top 10. Chip Schoff of Anchorage won at 1:48:16.3, while SoHi’s Addison Downing was seventh at 2:02:56.1, SoHi’s Jeremy Kupferschmid was ninth at 2:03:13.6 and SoHi’s Josh Shuler was 10th at 2:04:44.3.

In the women’s 40-kilometer freestyle, Sterling’s Becca Ford led the way for the peninsula by finishing sixth at 2:22:12.9, with Jaime Bronga of Anchorage claiming top honors at 2:05:15.1.

In the women’s 50-kilometer freestyle, Homer’s Stacey Buckelew notched 10th by crossing at 3:08:04.6, with Anchorage’s Rosie Frankowski notching a dominant win at 2:23:42.0.

About 900 skiers came to the event, which had the 40- and 50-kilometer distances for the first time since 2013.

Full results for peninsula skiers follow:

Men’s 25K classic — 32. Larry Martin, Homer, 2:24:22.7; 40. Deland Anderson, Homer, 2:44:22.7.

Women’s 25K classic — 1. Sadie Fox, Soldotna, 1:30:28.1; 5. Kellie Arthur, Soldotna, 1:51:17.9; 45. Sarah Segura, Kenai, 3:11:34.5; 46. Megan Swangel, Kenai, 3:11:44.0; 64. Lyn Maslow, Homer, 4:06:24.6; 68. Lisa Chambers, Soldotna, 4:26:52.1; 69. Stephanie Kobylarz, Soldotna, 4:45:51.7; 75. Lisa Chambers, Soldotna, 5:25:53.3.

Women’s 25K freestyle — 1. Jasmine Maurer, Homer, 1:32:52.9; 16. Claire Neaton, homer, 1:47:30.2; 18. Tara Swanson, Seward, 1:49:41.0; 24. Katie Holmes, Homer, 1:52:35.2; 25. Katie Davis, Homer, 1:52:35.7; 50. Morgan Aldridge, Sterling, 2:07:21.5; 108. Christine Anderson, Homer, 2:44:21.3; 111. Kim Sweeny, Homer, 2:46:16.1; 114. Willow Jones, Homer, 2:50:35.8; 134 (tie). Judy Gonslaves, Homer, Suzanne Haines, Homer, 3:24:02.4; 137. Lacey Brown, Soldotna, 3:28:41.1; 138. Katy Meek, Soldotna, 3:28:44.1.

Men’s 40K freestyle — 7. Addison Downing, Sterling, 2:02:56.1; 9. Jeremy Kupferschmid, Soldotna, 2:03:13.6; 10. Joshua Shuler, Sterling, 2:04:44.3; 20. Bradley Walters, Soldotna, 2:15:45.1; 36. Steve Milliron, Soldotna, 2:23:32.9; 37. Jordan Chilson, Soldotna, 2:23:42.9; 39. Frederick Dickerson, Homer, 2:24:02.6; 42. Tom Seggerman, Sterling, 2:24:23.4; 48. Dan Harbison, Soldotna, 2:31:09.1; 78. Isaac Dale, Soldotna, 2:46:11.9; 79. Quinn Stoops, Kenai, 2:46:13.4.

Women’s 40K freestyle — 6. Becca Ford, Sterling, 2:22:12.9; 22. Alison O’Hara, Homer, 2:37:20.4; 40. Tara Schmidt, Homer, 2:49:18.4; 47. Annie Ridgely, Homer, 2:54:52.4; 48. Krista Arthur, Soldotna, 2:56:08.7; 63. Cameron Blackwell, Soldotna, 3:07:58.0; 64. Hannah Delker, Soldotna, 3:07:59.7; 79. Eve Downing, Sterling, 3:29:30.0; 80. Kealey Hendricks, Kenai, 3:29:31.2; 87. Kali Glosser, Homer, 3:44:01.1.

Men’s 50K freestyle — 25. Pete Alexson, Homer, 2:41:11.0; 48. Chuck DiMarzio, Seward, 2:58:10.3; 52. Russell Brandon, Seward, 3:01:54.6; 78. Luke Rosier, Seward, 3:16:47.1; 95. Pat Cooper, Kenai, 3:25:49.6; 107. Sean Ulman, Seward, 3:35:24.6; 128. Jeffrey Helminiak, Kenai, 4:02:16.7; 130. Joe Nyholm, Seward, 4:06:12.4; 140. Gary Dickerson, Homer, 4:20:11.0; 152. Mark Flanagan, Seward, 4:48:43.3.

Women’s 50K freestyle — 10. Stacey Buckelew, Homer, 3:08:04.6; 14. Sarah Glaser, Seward, 3:17:27.4; 41. Binget Nilsson, Seward, 4:38:01.3.

More in Sports

Mat-Su Miners catcher Blake Balsz forces out Cole Wilson of the Peninsula Oilers on Thursday, June 20, 2024, at Coral Seymour Memorial Park in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Thursday: Oilers take 3rd straight against Miners

The Peninsula Oilers defeated the Mat-Su Miners 2-0 on Thursday in Alaska… Continue reading

Learn to identify the invasive green crab. (Photo provided by NOAA)
Refuge Notebook: Invasive green crab rapid response plan: Just what the doctor ordered

As Alaskans, we all love our coastline. It’s where treasures are found,… Continue reading

Olympic gold medalist Lydia Jacoby waves to the crowd in Seward during her celebratory parade on Thursday, August 5, 2021. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Lydia Jacoby, after surprise Tokyo Olympic gold, misses out on Paris: ‘It hasn’t quite hit me yet’

Veteran swimmers often describe U.S. Olympic trials as the hardest swim meet in the world

Lars Arneson runs to victory and a new event record in the Kenai River Marathon on Sunday, Sept. 25, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Arneson, McCabe win at Bird Ridge

Lars Arneson, a 2009 graduate of Cook Inlet Academy, won the Robert… Continue reading

Wednesday: Oilers take 2nd in a row from Miners

The Peninsula Oilers defeated the Mat-Su Miners 4-3 on Wednesday in Alaska… Continue reading

Wednesday: Eagle River sweeps doubleheader from Twins

Host Eagle River swept a doubleheader from the American Legion Post 20… Continue reading

Nick Varney
Reeling ‘Em In: Hey fishers, keep up with regulations

What is up with brain stems who seem to be incapable of comprehending simple fishing regulations?

Peninsula Oilers catcher Brock Wirthgen congratulates pitcher Mose Hayes after a victory over the Mat-Su Miners on Tuesday, June 18, 2024, at Coral Seymour Memorial Park in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Tuesday: Oilers topple Miners in home opener in dramatic fashion

Homer’s Hayes starts 4th year with club by winning sudden-death game

Olympic gold medalist Lydia Jacoby waves to the crowd in Seward during her celebratory parade on Thursday, August 5, 2021. (Ashlyn O'Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Jacoby scratches from 200 breaststroke

Lydia Jacoby, a 2022 graduate of Seward High School, announced on Instagram… Continue reading

Most Read