Opinion: A balanced approach is needed for oil tax rates

For the good of Alaska and the future of the state, please vote no on Proposition 1.

  • Sep 24, 2020

 

Opinion: Alaska and America’s very survival are at stake this election year

There’s only one choice for this Marine and others who treasure our democracy.

  • Sep 23, 2020

 

Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships logo provided.

Voices of the Peninsula: Celebrate those who recover from addiction

September is national recovery month

 

(File)

Alaskans helped make PFD filing a success

Moving forward, we will continue to strive for improvements that benefit all Alaskans.

  • Sep 21, 2020
(File)

Ballot Measure 1 — The Very Fair Share Act

I am betting the oil industry can afford to pay a greater share.

  • Sep 21, 2020
In this Aug. 25, 2017, file photo, provided by NOAA Fisheries, a newborn beluga whale calf sticks its head out of the water in upper Cook Inlet, Alaska. (NOAA Fisheries via AP, File)

Voices of the Peninsula: Cook Inlet’s pollution double standard

If fishermen can’t flush a head in Cook Inlet, why should Hilcorp be allowed to dump toxic waste?

  • Sep 21, 2020
In this Aug. 25, 2017, file photo, provided by NOAA Fisheries, a newborn beluga whale calf sticks its head out of the water in upper Cook Inlet, Alaska. (NOAA Fisheries via AP, File)
Former Alaska Gov. Sean Parnell

Opinion: Sen. Dan Sullivan: Alaska’s authentic fighter

Dan consistently pushes back against federal overreach and protects our access to federal lands.

Former Alaska Gov. Sean Parnell
Some lawmakers think the Legislature should reconvene in Juneau and appropriate federal COVID-19 relief funds. The governor and others at the Capitol want to get the money out as fast as possible. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire File)

Alaska Voices: Alaskans should be honest with each other

Next year we are projected to receive only half the revenue we need to cover projected spending.

  • Sep 17, 2020
Some lawmakers think the Legislature should reconvene in Juneau and appropriate federal COVID-19 relief funds. The governor and others at the Capitol want to get the money out as fast as possible. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire File)

Point of View: ‘Tis the season of the vote

I believe we all want our voices heard.

Kenai River Brown Bears defenseman Preston Weeks moves the puck up the ice against the Janesville (Wisconsin) Jets on Friday, Oct. 11, 2019, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)

Voices of the Peninsula: What to expect this Brown Bears season

To answer the big questions, yes, we do expect to play a season in 2020-21.

  • Sep 16, 2020
Kenai River Brown Bears defenseman Preston Weeks moves the puck up the ice against the Janesville (Wisconsin) Jets on Friday, Oct. 11, 2019, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Jason Grenn (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: Ballot Measure 1 proponents are making wild claims. The numbers prove them wrong

In times like this though, we must, as always, rely on the numbers to guide us.

  • Sep 16, 2020
Jason Grenn (courtesy photo)
Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)

Opinion: Protecting Alaska’s fisheries during the pandemic

From the beginning, it was obvious this would not be an easy road.

  • Sep 16, 2020
Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)
Ricky Gease is Director of Alaska State Parks. (Courtesy photo)

Opinion: Alaska State Parks offers open space to meet COVID challenges

The pandemic has disrupted life for many, and Alaska State Parks is no exception.

Ricky Gease is Director of Alaska State Parks. (Courtesy photo)
A sign shows people where to vote on Aug. 21, 2018, at the Homer Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)

Opinion: Ballot Measure 2 replaces fair elections with political trickery

Ballot Measure 2 would toss aside our “one Alaskan, one vote” system for ranked-choice voting

  • Sep 12, 2020
A sign shows people where to vote on Aug. 21, 2018, at the Homer Chamber of Commerce and Visitor Center in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
A ballot.

Opinion: Unveiling the mistruths about Ballot Measure 1

The fact is oil has paid for 85-90% of our budget for the past 40 years.

  • Sep 12, 2020
A ballot.
Chuck Legge (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: Trump wins

Frankly, I’m more worried about this election than any other in my life.

  • Sep 10, 2020
Chuck Legge (courtesy photo)
Department of Administration Commissioner Kelly Tshibaka (Courtesy photo)

Opinion: Improved telework protects state workers

There have been some questions and misinformation about the contract for PPP Phase 2.

  • Sep 10, 2020
Department of Administration Commissioner Kelly Tshibaka (Courtesy photo)
Jeremy Field, regional administrator for the U.S. Small Business Administration (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: Pivot plan is critical for small business survival in Alaska

Being a small business owner can often feel lonely, carrying the weight of the world

  • Sep 10, 2020
Jeremy Field, regional administrator for the U.S. Small Business Administration (courtesy photo)

Vow to hold a civil election

Reject violent protest as we head into fall elections

Opinion: Powerful issues are at stake this election season

It won’t be easy, but nothing valuable ever is.

  • Sep 10, 2020