Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, is seen in this Dec. 19, 2019 file photo. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky, File)

Opinion: Alaska will greatly benefit from historic infrastructure bill

I was able to add many provisions to our bipartisan bill that are targeted to help Alaska.

  • Sep 25, 2021

 

A roadside sign welcomes drivers to Nikiski, Alaska, on Jan. 7, 2019. (Clarion file)

Alaska Voices: Proposed incinerator poses serious hazard to public health

Based on the threat to public and environmental health, ADEC should revoke the permit and reject the proposed operations plan.

 

Claire Richardson is retired and resides in Juneau. (Courtesy Photo)

Alaska Voices: Whatever happened to governing our ship of state?

Like it or not, we are all in this together.

  • Sep 21, 2021

 

teaser

Opinion: How our differences should unite us

The tribal anger emanating from the opposite poles won’t produce good governance

  • Sep 18, 2021
teaser
UAA Chancellor Sean Parnell (Courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: UAA: A place for you, a place for fresh starts

UAA, with campuses in Anchorage, Mat-Su, Kenai, Homer, Kodiak and Valdez, is a valuable asset to our state.

UAA Chancellor Sean Parnell (Courtesy photo)
Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)

Opinion: Protecting people with a disability should be a legislative priority

The question still to be answered: “Will mental health care improve?”

  • Sep 16, 2021
Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)
File

Opinion: To safeguard our future, it is critical we act now to protect our fisheries

To that end, we invite Biden administration decision-makers to visit our Alaska fishing communities.

  • Sep 16, 2021
File
In this Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2020, file photo, front-line caregivers wait in line to receive a Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine at Providence Alaska Medical Center in Anchorage, Alaska. Overwhelmed by a surge in COVID-19 patients, Providence Alaska Medical Center, Alaska’s largest hospital, on Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2021, implemented crisis standards of care, prioritizing resources and treatments to those patients who have the potential to benefit the most. (Loren Holmes/Anchorage Daily News via AP, File)

Alaska Voices: Help us alleviate a crisis of care

“The acuity and number of patients now exceeds our resources and our ability to staff beds …”

In this Wednesday, Dec. 16, 2020, file photo, front-line caregivers wait in line to receive a Pfizer COVID-19 vaccine at Providence Alaska Medical Center in Anchorage, Alaska. Overwhelmed by a surge in COVID-19 patients, Providence Alaska Medical Center, Alaska’s largest hospital, on Tuesday, Sept. 14, 2021, implemented crisis standards of care, prioritizing resources and treatments to those patients who have the potential to benefit the most. (Loren Holmes/Anchorage Daily News via AP, File)
Bill Walker, left, candidate for governor, and Heidi Drygas, right, candidate for lieutenant governor. (Photo provided, Bill Walker and Heidi Drygas)

Alaska Voices: In a time of crisis, Alaskans deserve true leadership

By Bill Walker and Heidi Drygas Leadership means taking strong positions in Alaskans’ best interests, even in tough times. Alaska certainly is in tough times… Continue reading

Bill Walker, left, candidate for governor, and Heidi Drygas, right, candidate for lieutenant governor. (Photo provided, Bill Walker and Heidi Drygas)
)Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Hospital vaccine mandates make sense

lLt’s run through why some people are opposed to getting vaccinated…

  • Sep 12, 2021
)Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
teaser

Opinion: The state’s financial puzzle would be easier to solve without stretched numbers

Better to use all the puzzle pieces to build a more durable bridge.

teaser
A sign at Main Street Tap and Grill on Friday, Aug. 20, 2021 alerts customers of a temporary closure due to a staff shortage and COVID-19 cases. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)

Opinion: What the pandemic taught us about crisis preparedness

History has shown that up to 25 percent of businesses that close because of disaster never reopen.

  • Sep 9, 2021
A sign at Main Street Tap and Grill on Friday, Aug. 20, 2021 alerts customers of a temporary closure due to a staff shortage and COVID-19 cases. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)
In this Monday, March 2, 2020, file photo, Alaska Department of Health and Social Services Commissioner Adam Crum addresses the state’s coronavirus preparedness at a news conference in Anchorage, Alaska. (AP Photo/Mark Thiessen, File)

Opinion: Alaska’s COVID response: Why we need legislative action

A question frequently asked: Can’t the governor just issue a new disaster declaration?

In this Monday, March 2, 2020, file photo, Alaska Department of Health and Social Services Commissioner Adam Crum addresses the state’s coronavirus preparedness at a news conference in Anchorage, Alaska. (AP Photo/Mark Thiessen, File)
Former Alaska legislator and gubernatorial candidate Les Gara is seen in this undated photo. (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: I’m Running To Build A Better Future

We need a real PFD you can bank on with revenue to pay for it, not endless fights and false promises.

Former Alaska legislator and gubernatorial candidate Les Gara is seen in this undated photo. (courtesy photo)
Gov. Mike Dunleavy, seen here at an Aug. 16, news conference, announced Thursday the state was taking steps to help Alaska’s hospitals deal with the strain of a spike in COVID-19 cases. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire file)

Opinion: The COVID leadership Alaska needs right now

Followers are anything but leaders.

  • Sep 4, 2021
Gov. Mike Dunleavy, seen here at an Aug. 16, news conference, announced Thursday the state was taking steps to help Alaska’s hospitals deal with the strain of a spike in COVID-19 cases. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire file)
Ryan Smith, South Peninsula Hospital CEO. (Photo courtesy of South Peninsula Hospital)

Voices of the Peninsula: This Labor Day, give thanks to health care workers

The return to normal is not in sight at this moment.

Ryan Smith, South Peninsula Hospital CEO. (Photo courtesy of South Peninsula Hospital)
Kim Lofstedt casts her vote early in Alaska’s Primary Election at Kenai City Hall on Aug. 17, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)

Letter to the Editor: For the People Act would strengthen democracy

For the People Act addresses voting rights, fair elections and campaign processes.

Kim Lofstedt casts her vote early in Alaska’s Primary Election at Kenai City Hall on Aug. 17, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
A vial of Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine is seen at Central Emergency Services Station 1 on Friday, Dec. 18, 2020, in Soldotna, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)

Letter to the Editor: Do the right thing for the community

The anti-vaccine sign holders are not advocating for conditions that meet the collective needs of our community.

A vial of Pfizer’s COVID-19 vaccine is seen at Central Emergency Services Station 1 on Friday, Dec. 18, 2020, in Soldotna, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
This photo shows Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaking at a July 2020 news conference. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: More budget dishonesty

Governor’s words and actions are at odds.

  • Aug 28, 2021
This photo shows Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaking at a July 2020 news conference. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
A vote-by-mail ballot box is photographed at the Kenai Peninsula Borough Administration building in Soldotna, Alaska, in October 2020. (Peninsula Clarion file)

Voices of the Peninsula: There’s more than one way to vote

Remember, every vote counts and every voice matters!

A vote-by-mail ballot box is photographed at the Kenai Peninsula Borough Administration building in Soldotna, Alaska, in October 2020. (Peninsula Clarion file)