Kate Troll (Courtesy Photo / Kate Troll)

Opinion: For Alaska’s future generations, turn my PFD into a PFD (personal floatation device)

The PFD question lurks as a possible show stopper.

  • Jun 19, 2021

 

The Tongass National Forest sign seen en route to the Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center on Wednesday, Aug. 28, 2019. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: It’s time to compromise on the Roadless Rule

The Roadless Rule has become a fight over which wild exaggeration of the facts will prevail.

  • Jun 19, 2021

 

In this Monday, March 2, 2020, file photo, Alaska Department of Health and Social Services Commissioner Adam Crum addresses the state’s coronavirus preparedness at a news conference in Anchorage, Alaska. (AP Photo/Mark Thiessen, File)

Alaskans, go outside and play

Let’s help families this summer by supporting efforts to encourage healthy eating and physical activity.

  • Jun 16, 2021

 

Xochitl Lopez-Ayala (Photo courtesy of Xochitl Lopez-Ayala)

Point of View: Employer accountability for racial justice

Business owners, ask yourselves: How are you helping your BIPoC employees?

Xochitl Lopez-Ayala (Photo courtesy of Xochitl Lopez-Ayala)
teaser

Opinion: Voting rights and the majority’s minority

Sen. Joe Manchin, D-W. Va., is right to oppose H.R. 1, the “For the People Act.”

  • Jun 13, 2021
teaser
The Capitol Dome looms behind the Peace Monument statue in Washington, Friday, May 28, 2021. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)

Opinion: Alaskans don’t want California’s failed policies

While supporters of the PRO Act claim it is a tool to support workers, its provisions deprive workers of fundamental rights.

  • Jun 11, 2021
The Capitol Dome looms behind the Peace Monument statue in Washington, Friday, May 28, 2021. (AP Photo/J. Scott Applewhite)
Corri A. Feige is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources. Doug Vincent-Lang is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game.((Courtesy Photos)

Opinion: Alaskans should be good stewards of our home

Alaskans trashing public and private land lend credibility to the claims that we can’t be trusted to protect our own environment.

  • Jun 11, 2021
Corri A. Feige is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources. Doug Vincent-Lang is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Fish and Game.((Courtesy Photos)
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Base PFD on resource revenue deposits, not percent of fund earnings

Looking back, we made one big mistake.

  • Jun 11, 2021
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Teaser

Opinion: Sustaining Alaska’s fisheries through nonprofit hatcheries

You don’t need me to tell you that fishing is central to Alaskan life…

  • Jun 9, 2021
Teaser
From left to right: Rep. Adam Wool, D-Fairbanks, U.S. Sen. Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, and Alaska State Sen. Josh Revak, R-Anchorage, in the hallway of the Alaska State Capitol following Sullivan’s address to the Legislature. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: The irony of Sen. Sullivan’s free speech defense

Jan. 6 commission vote undermines proposed free speech amendment.

  • Jun 7, 2021
From left to right: Rep. Adam Wool, D-Fairbanks, U.S. Sen. Dan Sullivan, R-Alaska, and Alaska State Sen. Josh Revak, R-Anchorage, in the hallway of the Alaska State Capitol following Sullivan’s address to the Legislature. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)

Legislature should give psychiatric patients improved rights

Alaska is still too often warehousing people with a mental illness.

  • Jun 2, 2021
Faith Myers stands at the doors of API. (Courtesy Photo)
World Elder Awareness Abuse Day is June 15. (File)

Alaska Voices: Elders deserve safe, healthy living environments

Elders are more likely to experience social isolation, which increases the likelihood of abuse and neglect.

  • Jun 1, 2021
World Elder Awareness Abuse Day is June 15. (File)
(Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Dunleavy’s fiscal laziness

Voters first need a well-developed analysis.

  • May 31, 2021
(Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
teasers

Opinion: History needs a face

My memories of WWII, Korea and Vietnam all have faces.

  • May 31, 2021
teasers
(Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Large cruise ships are a clear and present danger to Southeast Alaska

We don’t have to ban cruise tourism, but do need to eliminate the greatest risks to our communities.

  • May 27, 2021
(Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)
Kristie Babcock (courtesy photo)

Voices of the Peninsula: Only rural applicant of color denied opportunity

I was shocked that a highly qualified, sitting presiding judge was denied the opportunity to even be considered by the governor.

  • May 27, 2021
Kristie Babcock (courtesy photo)
Alaska Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: Alaska’s tourism industry needs help

Alaska has suffered a triple whammy of no cruise ships, a closed Canadian border and a limited supply of rental cars.

Alaska Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (courtesy photo)
Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes. (courtesy photo)

Voices of the Peninsula: Why not make voting fun?

I think the public should demand more measures to make voting easier.

  • May 24, 2021
Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes. (courtesy photo)
Screenshot: commonwealthnorth.org

Show us the money, redux: Alaskans respond to the chance to balance the budget

Our purpose was to engage Alaskans in a process to better understand the challenges and difficult choices ahead.

  • May 22, 2021
Screenshot: commonwealthnorth.org
Teaser

Opinion: The plague of intellectual laziness

What’s become increasingly lazy, is our political discourse.

  • May 22, 2021
Teaser