Willy Dunne is a member of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. (Courtesy photo)

Vote by mail is safe, fiscally responsible

All registered borough voters would receive a ballot in the mail a few weeks ahead of election day.

 

It’s time for a real living wage

The federal minimum wage was last increased in 2009.

  • May 27, 2020

 

Alaska Voices: Oil taxes, what oil taxes?

Alaska needs a fair share from the sale of oil to economically recover and have a meaningful future.

 

Juneauites gathered signatures to recall Gov. Mike Dunleavy in late February. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire)

Alaska Voices: After a Supreme Court win, Alaskans have the right and responsibility to recall

We won. The recall is moving forward with speed.

  • May 19, 2020
Juneauites gathered signatures to recall Gov. Mike Dunleavy in late February. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire)

Pay PFD now, make long-term fiscal plan for Alaska

The Ship of State, our government, has lost direction.

  • May 19, 2020

COVID-19 harms children in seen and unseen ways

There has been an alarming decrease in all routine health care, including routine vaccinations.

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Clarkson: Even during pandemic, there is help for domestic violence victims

As a community we have a responsibility to care for and seek to protect our most vulnerable.

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Opinion: Finding the intrinsic beauty of sadness

Knowing sadness can be a healthy thing.

  • May 19, 2020
The last strand of elodea on the Kenai Peninsula was found during a survey in May 2019. This fragment is brown and brittle, signs of dying from having been treated with herbicide since 2017. (Photo by Matt Bowser/Kenai National Wildlife Refuge).

Alaska Voices: Can Elodea be eradicated?

Infestations have been found on the Kenai Peninsula, around Cordova, and in the Fairbanks area.

  • May 19, 2020
The last strand of elodea on the Kenai Peninsula was found during a survey in May 2019. This fragment is brown and brittle, signs of dying from having been treated with herbicide since 2017. (Photo by Matt Bowser/Kenai National Wildlife Refuge).
Dave Reaves (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: The time to invest in Alaska is now

We call on Gov. Mike Dunleavy to help move job creating infrastructure projects forward.

Dave Reaves (courtesy photo)
The entrance to the Kenai Police Department, as seen in Kenai, Alaska, on April 1, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
                                The front of the Kenai Police Department as seen on Dec. 10, 2019. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)

Alaska Voices: In honor of the thin blue line

During this pandemic our police officers cannot stay home, socially distance, and work remotely.

  • May 13, 2020
The entrance to the Kenai Police Department, as seen in Kenai, Alaska, on April 1, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
                                The front of the Kenai Police Department as seen on Dec. 10, 2019. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Commercial fishing boats are rafted together in May 2016 in the harbor in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)

Alaska Voices: Mandates crucial to safety of fishing fleets

As a vessel operator, you are responsible for your crew’s compliance with the mandate.

Commercial fishing boats are rafted together in May 2016 in the harbor in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)

Opinion: A stable economic future follows the Ambler Road

We have known of the Ambler district’s vast copper and base metal deposits since the 1950s.

  • May 12, 2020

Voices of the Peninsula: Ambler road project threatens Alaska wild

I propose that this road not be built, certainly not on the State’s dime.

  • May 11, 2020

Opinion: What’s happening to substance abuse amid COVID-19

Substance abuse still merits attention.

  • May 11, 2020
Judy Cavanaugh stands with others at a rally against the Pebble Mine in front of Sen. Lisa Murkowski’s Juneau office on Tuesday, June 25, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
Judy Cavanaugh stands with others at a rally against the Pebble Mine in front of Sen. Lisa Murkowski’s Juneau office on Tuesday, June 25, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
Juneauites gathered signatures to recall Gov. Mike Dunleavy in late February. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire)

Alaska Voices: PPP is far from perfect, and Dunleavy’s plan is far from what we need

The governor is denying small businesses a critical survival tool that will go far.

  • May 7, 2020
Juneauites gathered signatures to recall Gov. Mike Dunleavy in late February. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire)
Sen. Tom Begich (courtesy photo)

Opinion: Reconvene the Legislature

It’s time we went back to work to complete these tasks.

Sen. Tom Begich (courtesy photo)
Therese Lewandowski

Voices of the Peninsula: Big and small, UA campuses need our support in the recall of governor

“I wonder what the Kachemak Bay Campus will become.”

  • May 5, 2020
Therese Lewandowski