Commissioner of the Alaska Department of Natural Resources Corri A. Feige.

Opinion: Council helps state ‘know where it’s at’

Integrating such data into other land management tools helps us make better decisions about how to use and conserve our resources.

  • Nov 23, 2020

 

A Remington Deluxe Model 5 manual typewriter. (Homer News file photo)

Editorial: Let our better angels prevail

We hope election of Biden and Harris means the end of bitter, divisive politics, and the rebirth of civility in government and social existence.

 

Opinion: Best practices to sustain permanent fund

It is our job to equip the fund for success for decades to come.

  • Nov 18, 2020

 

Flag.

Opinion: Helping Alaska’s veterans connect and heal

Americans should be concerned about the wellbeing of Alaska’s military veteran

  • Nov 18, 2020
Flag.
Jeremy Field, regional administrator for the U.S. Small Business Administration (courtesy photo)

Opinion: Shopping small for 2020 holiday season needed more than ever

Small retailers and restaurants are relying on us to send a message with our dollars that says, “We’ve got your back.”

  • Nov 18, 2020
Jeremy Field, regional administrator for the U.S. Small Business Administration (courtesy photo)
Alaska Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (courtesy photo)
Alaska Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (courtesy photo)

Opinion: No trace of fraud in Alaska’s 2020 election

My thanks go out to every Alaskan who chose to participate in our democratic process.

  • Nov 18, 2020
Alaska Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (courtesy photo)
Alaska Lt. Gov. Kevin Meyer (courtesy photo)
Vic Fischer (courtesy)

Alaska Voices: Oh, for bipartisanship!

Now is a good time to seek a model of political goodwill that has been sorely missing from our state

  • Nov 12, 2020
Vic Fischer (courtesy)
A poll worker helps a voter with their ballot at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex on Tuesday, Nov. 3 in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)

Alaska Voices: Practice patience as we wait for election results

Every voter must have their voice heard and vote counted — and that process takes time

  • Nov 9, 2020
A poll worker helps a voter with their ballot at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex on Tuesday, Nov. 3 in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
West Homer Elementary School Principal Eric Waltenbaugh.

Point of View: Keep practicing COVID-19 safety to reopen schools

Safe practices, testing and contact tracing will bring numbers down.

West Homer Elementary School Principal Eric Waltenbaugh.
Sen. Mike Shower (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Ballot Measure 1 — Why I am a ‘no’ vote

Alaskans are voting on important issues to determine our next steps in dealing with the budget, resource allocation, taxes, and citizens’ general welfare. I know… Continue reading

  • Nov 1, 2020
Sen. Mike Shower (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)
Robin Brena (courtesy)

Opinion: Existing production tax system hopelessly flawed

Vote “yes” on Ballot Measure 1

  • Nov 1, 2020
Robin Brena (courtesy)
Nikiski resident Jesse Bjorkman represents Nikiski in the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. (Photo courtesy Jesse Bjorkman)

Voices of the Peninsula: Voters claim power with ‘yes’ on 2

Ballot Measure 2 does three main things that give the voter more power.

  • Nov 1, 2020
Nikiski resident Jesse Bjorkman represents Nikiski in the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. (Photo courtesy Jesse Bjorkman)
Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce is photographed at the Kenai Peninsula Clarion office in Kenai, Alaska, on Sept. 25, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)

Voices of the Peninsula: Ballot Measure 1 will hurt the Kenai economy; I’m voting ‘no’

This year has been bad for everyone, across the board.

  • Nov 1, 2020
Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce is photographed at the Kenai Peninsula Clarion office in Kenai, Alaska, on Sept. 25, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Bill Wielechowski, D-Anchorage (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Ballot Measure 1: Our last chance to save the PFD and critical state programs

The contentions of Ballot Measure 1’s opponents about jobs and the PFD are easily refuted.

  • Nov 1, 2020
Sen. Bill Wielechowski, D-Anchorage (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)
Rep. Chuck Kopp, R-Anchorage. (Ben Hohenstatt | Juneau Empire)

Reclaiming Alaska, our political process, and our souls

Alaska needs leaders to show up for their communities, put forward real solutions, and work with anyone who shares those same values and a commitment to a better future

  • Nov 1, 2020
Rep. Chuck Kopp, R-Anchorage. (Ben Hohenstatt | Juneau Empire)
This photo shows the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Alaskans deserve a comprehensive fiscal plan, not ballot box budgeting

I oppose Ballot Measure 1 for two reasons

  • Oct 31, 2020
This photo shows the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
File

Opinion: Vote against judicial overreach

Alaskans have a rare opportunity to push back against a liberal activist court

  • Oct 31, 2020
File
Loren Leman (courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: The empty promises of Ballot Measure 2

I reviewed Ballot Measure 2 — all 25 pages of it — and conclude that instead of what its proponents say, it is complex, obscure and unfair.

  • Oct 31, 2020
Loren Leman (courtesy photo)
Cameron Hunt is the general manager of the Marathon Petroleum Kenai Refinery, which produces quality transportation and other fuels for Alaska for over 50 years. (courtesy photo)

Ballot Measure 1’s impacts won’t be good

We need more oil production in Alaska, not less.

  • Oct 31, 2020
Cameron Hunt is the general manager of the Marathon Petroleum Kenai Refinery, which produces quality transportation and other fuels for Alaska for over 50 years. (courtesy photo)
File

Opinion: Ballot Measure 1 must be defeated in an historically bad year

No one has been exempted from the 2020 roller coaster.

  • Oct 27, 2020
File