teez

Opinion: Refuge oil leases are a dose of harsh reality

To have the state step in the role of the private sector is clearly a move of desperation.

  • Jan 18, 2021

 

Dr. Anne Zink, Alaska’s chief medical officer, addresses reporters during a Wendesday, March 25, 2020 press conference in the Atwood Building in Anchorage, Alaska. (Office of the Governor)

Opinion: Protecting Alaskans — the race to vaccinate

Given the limited national supply, Alaska, like all states, has had to decide who gets vaccine first.

 

Department of Administration Commissioner Kelly Tshibaka (courtesy)

Opinion: Better government or bigger government? It’s your decision

Despite all the challenges and tragedies that COVID-19 brought to our state, it also brought us opportunity for improvement.

  • Jan 17, 2021

 

tease

Opinion: Arctic Refuge oil lease sale is act of desperate addiction

The sale was an embarrassing bust.

  • Jan 13, 2021
tease
teeze

Opinion: The truth of what America has become

No, we aren’t better. This is what we’ve become.

  • Jan 11, 2021
teeze
Peter Zuyus

Point of View: Alaska seniors and disabled suffer under Department of Administration change

Closure of Homer, other DMV offices will hurt seniors and disabled.

Peter Zuyus
A vial of the Pfizer vaccine used at The Reservoir nursing facility, is shown, Friday, Dec. 18, 2020, in West Hartford, Conn. (AP Photo / Stephen Dunn,Pool)

Opinion: We can be grateful that state vaccine plan prioritizes seniors

Alaska’s plan departs from federal guidance in several respects.

  • Jan 7, 2021
A vial of the Pfizer vaccine used at The Reservoir nursing facility, is shown, Friday, Dec. 18, 2020, in West Hartford, Conn. (AP Photo / Stephen Dunn,Pool)
Teaser

Opinion: Let’s keep the pot from boiling over

We need to put our differences aside, and work together.

  • Jan 4, 2021
Teaser
Kate Troll (Courtesy Photo / Kate Troll)

Opinion: I appreciate Murkowski’s climate and energy leadership

The real sleeper is the relief and hope this bill offers for a rapidly warming Earth.

  • Dec 30, 2020
Kate Troll (Courtesy Photo / Kate Troll)
Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships. (logo provided)

Voices of the Peninsula: Start New Year with ‘Dry January’ sobriety challenge

In American culture, we view the start of the New Year as a time to make life changes, to reflect on the past year, to… Continue reading

Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships. (logo provided)
A Remington Deluxe Model 5 manual typewriter. (Homer News file photo)

Editorial: In the darkness moments, there is light ahead

In Christianity, the season of Advent heralds the coming of Christ at Christmas, but it also is a time to reflect upon the darkness of… Continue reading

A Remington Deluxe Model 5 manual typewriter. (Homer News file photo)
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Governor’s DHSS plan offers chance for API improvement

We can have a higher standard for psychiatric patient care.

  • Dec 29, 2020
(Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Caribou graze on the greening tundra of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in northeast Alaska in June 2001. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)

Alaska Voices: Alaska Friends stand against ANWR development

‘Let Love be the first motion.” — John Woolman, early Quaker “It is essential to show special care for Indigenous communities and their cultural traditions.… Continue reading

  • Dec 29, 2020
Caribou graze on the greening tundra of the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge in northeast Alaska in June 2001. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
Former Gov. Frank Murkowski speaks on a range of subjects during an interview with the Juneau Empire in May 2019. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

Opinion: Now’s the time for an ANWR lease sale

We cannot wait another 25 years.

  • Dec 22, 2020
Former Gov. Frank Murkowski speaks on a range of subjects during an interview with the Juneau Empire in May 2019. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
Catherine Cassidy (courtesy)

Voices of the Peninsula: Alaska open for business?

By selectively refusing to follow procedure in Cook Inlet, Dunleavy is forcing the total closure of federal waters here.

  • Dec 22, 2020
Catherine Cassidy (courtesy)
teaser

Opinion: Climate change forces difficult choices

When you read about or hear about climate change, what typically goes through your head?

  • Dec 21, 2020
teaser
Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)

Dunleavy: A path forward

I want to be clear that a bond package is not something I suggest lightly.

  • Dec 16, 2020
Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)
The Homer Foundation logo.

Point of View: :Pay it Forward — It’s time to ‘lean in’ through volunteer efforts

‘Lean in’ experience from Zoom talk can be expanded as community support during pandemic.

The Homer Foundation logo.
Cathy Sandeen, UAA chancellor, photographed outside the Administration and Humanities Building at the University of Alaska Anchorage. (Photo courtesy University of Alaska Anchorage)

Opinion: More respect for Your Hometown University, please

Although UAA has had its challenges, we remain remarkably strong and resilient.

Cathy Sandeen, UAA chancellor, photographed outside the Administration and Humanities Building at the University of Alaska Anchorage. (Photo courtesy University of Alaska Anchorage)
(Courtesy Photo / Randall Davis, Alaska Department of Fish & Game)

Opinion: Sea otters are the defenders of kelp forests, ecosystems

We recognize the important ecological roles they play.

  • Dec 15, 2020
(Courtesy Photo / Randall Davis, Alaska Department of Fish & Game)