Tina Tomsen

Alaska Voices: Alaska’s Trojan Horse

Alaska deserves better than a tall man who simply puts on a kuspuk and claims to support Alaskans.

  • Feb 20, 2020

 

In this 2007 file photo, an oil transit pipeline runs across the tundra to flow station at the Prudhoe Bay oil field on Alaska’s North Slope. (AP Photo/Al Grillo, File)

Opinion: Oil tax ballot measure goes too far

I’ve been lucky enough to spend my entire life in Alaska. I received my education, owned and managed businesses, taught students, and held public office… Continue reading

  • Feb 13, 2020

 

Members of the Alaska Board of Fisheries meet for the Upper Cook Inlet Finfish Meeting at the William A. Egan Convention Center in Anchorage, Alaska, on Feb. 11, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)

Opinion: Prioritizing personal use, sport fisheries will doom commercial fishermen

My friends fishing commercially in Cook Inlet broke even the last two years if they were lucky.

  • Feb 12, 2020

 

(File)

Our educators need backup

We owe it to them, and to our students, to provide for an adequate pool of substitute employees.

  • Feb 7, 2020
(File)

Opinion: Nonprofits benefit from Hilcorp’s giving program

The Hilcorp Giving Program is designed to help Hilcorp Alaska employees become lifelong givers.

  • Feb 6, 2020
First Lady Rose Dunleavy speaks to the importance of volunteerism during the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards in the Governor’s Mansion, Friday, May 24, 2019. (Ben Hohenstatt | Juneau Empire)

Alaska first lady’s volunteer award nominations are now open

Each one of these Alaskans has made our state a better place to live.

  • Feb 2, 2020
First Lady Rose Dunleavy speaks to the importance of volunteerism during the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards in the Governor’s Mansion, Friday, May 24, 2019. (Ben Hohenstatt | Juneau Empire)
(File)

Board of Fish should put fish and Alaskans first

Salmon and other fish must be prioritized for the owners of the resource first.

  • Feb 1, 2020
(File)
Colonel Bryan W. Barlow, Director of the Division of Alaska State Troopers (Photo courtesy of Alaska State Troopers)

Point of View: Focusing on the fundamentals

An introduction from new state trooper director

Colonel Bryan W. Barlow, Director of the Division of Alaska State Troopers (Photo courtesy of Alaska State Troopers)
Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, speaks about oil drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge on Dec. 19, 2017 during debates about the GOP tax cut on the floor of the U.S. Senate. (C-SPAN)

Opinion: Spread the load, save the state’s budget

We can address the underlying condition that is plaguing Alaska.

  • Jan 30, 2020
Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, speaks about oil drilling in the Arctic National Wildlife Refuge on Dec. 19, 2017 during debates about the GOP tax cut on the floor of the U.S. Senate. (C-SPAN)
Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Opinion: Trafficking in Alaska must end

One of my priorities is to combat this scourge and eliminate it from our communities.

  • Jan 25, 2020
Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)
By Rep. Cathy Tilton (Courtesy photo)

Opinion: Revised constitutional spending limit key to Alaska’s fiscal stability

I view a revised constitutional spending limit as contract with Alaskans for fiscal discipline.

  • Jan 25, 2020
By Rep. Cathy Tilton (Courtesy photo)

Oil tax changes require more careful consideration

We all know Alaska remains at a crossroads.

  • Jan 18, 2020
Hal Shepherd. (Photo courtesy of Hal Shepherd)

Point of View: This is a bad time to harass Kachemak Bay wildlife

In 2019 several thousand common murres starved to death in the Kachemak Bay.

Hal Shepherd. (Photo courtesy of Hal Shepherd)
Boaters can be seen on the Kenai River on Sept. 4, 2019. (Photo courtesy Great Basin Incident Management Team)

Voices of the Peninsula: Sportfishing is critical in Cook Inlet; the state should protect it

There’s a misconception that commercial fishing is business and sportfishing is just for fun.

  • Jan 16, 2020
Boaters can be seen on the Kenai River on Sept. 4, 2019. (Photo courtesy Great Basin Incident Management Team)
Suzanne Greenwood. (Photo provided)

Point of View: Disamenity and invention

Jet Skis are not right for the bay

Suzanne Greenwood. (Photo provided)
In this May 29, 2019 file photo, Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to reporters in his office at the state Capitol in Juneau, Alaska. (AP Photo/Becky Bohrer, File)

Working together, Alaskans will come up with long-term budget solutions

Shared sacrifice will be required as we regain our fiscal footing.

  • Jan 6, 2020
In this May 29, 2019 file photo, Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to reporters in his office at the state Capitol in Juneau, Alaska. (AP Photo/Becky Bohrer, File)

Opinion: The 2010s were a decade of perseverance for small businesses

True to the entrepreneurial spirit and American dream, small businesses persevered.

A Chinook salmon pictured in Oregon’s McKenzie River. This adult fish is shorter in length than its predecessors were.
                                (File photo)

Voices of the Peninsula: Politicians must keep their promises and protect our salmon

Ours are but a few of the last great remaining intact salmon runs.

  • Jan 6, 2020
A Chinook salmon pictured in Oregon’s McKenzie River. This adult fish is shorter in length than its predecessors were.
                                (File photo)
Gov. Mike Dunleavy makes an announcement via pre-recorded video on House Bill 2001 and the Permanent Fund Dividend on Monday, August 19, 2019.

Making Alaska a safer and more prosperous place for women

More women currently serve in the governor’s cabinet than any administration in recent memory.

  • Jan 1, 2020
Gov. Mike Dunleavy makes an announcement via pre-recorded video on House Bill 2001 and the Permanent Fund Dividend on Monday, August 19, 2019.
Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)
                                Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Dunleavy: Operation Lady Justice brings violence against women front and center

Alaskan women are killed by men at the highest rate in the country.

  • Dec 14, 2019
Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)
                                Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)