Crawford, Bethe, Hogue rule Soldotna Cycle Series

  • By Staff Report
  • Saturday, July 15, 2017 11:59pm
  • Sports

Mike Crawford, Amber Bethe and Dylan Hogue were the top cyclists Thursday at the third race of the Soldotna Cycle Series at Tsalteshi Trails.

Crawford finished the 10-kilometer course in 26 minutes, 12 seconds, to notch the victory, while Brian Beeson was second at 27:31 and Nathan Kincaid was third at 28:01.

Amber Bethe took the top women’s slot, crossing at 31:23 to also be the eighth finisher overall. Jen Showalter took second at 34:10, while Ashley Tonione was third at 34:51.

Hogue nipped Robert Carson in a tight finish in the youth race. Hogue finished at 37:01, with Carson coming in just a half second later. Andrew Arthur was the third youth racer over the line, clocking 45:23.

The series continues Thursday at Tsalteshi Trails. The registration for the kids race is at 5:30 p.m., with racing following at 5:45 p.m. Main race registration starts at 5:45 p.m., with racing at 6:15 p.m.

Soldotna Cycle Series 3

Thursday at Tsalteshi Trails

1. Mike Crawford, 26 minutes, 12 seconds; 2. Brian Beeson, 27:31; 3. Nathan Kincaid, 28:01; 4. Tyle Owens, 28:57; 5. Tom Kobylarz, 30:10; 6. Eric Willets, 30:12; 7. Matt Dura, 30:36; 8. Amber Bethe, 31:23 (1st place women’s); 9. Ben Jordan, 26:30 (estimated placing); 10. Jamie Nelson, 31:27; 11. Jim Hall, 31:39; 12. Dave Edwards-Smith, 31:40; 13. Kevin Lauver, 31:43; 14. Ryan Nelson, 32:15; 15. Marc Romano, 33:07; 16. Will Morrow, 34:04; 17. Jen Showalter, 34:10 (2nd place women’s); 18. Tony Eskelin, 34:43; 19. Ashley Tonione, 34:51 (3rd place women’s); 20. John Tabor, 35:32; 21. Mike Tallent, 35:56; 22. Mark Forbes, 36:06; 23. Carl Kincaid, 36:11; 24. Morgan Aldridge, 36:16; 25. Dan Balmer, 36:48.

26. Dylan Hogue, 37:01 (1st place youth); 27. Landen Showalter, 37:01.5 (2nd place youth); 28. Peter DiCarlo, 37:48; 29. John Pothast, 37:54; 30. Cody Czer-Ransom, 38:20; 31. Cassie Collins, 37:47; 32. James Showalter, 39:44; 33. Eric Mayoral, 40:35; 34. Andrew Arthur, 45:23 (3rd place youth); 35. Chad Arthur, 45:23; 36. Amber Kraxberger-Linson, 45:59; 37. Darrell Kincaid, 50:11; 38. Ethan Hogue, 52:07; 39. Robert Carson, 54:22; 40. Rob Carson, 54:27; 41. Tanner Penrod, 59:18; 42. Will Smith, 1:03:12; 43. Trevor Slaughter, 18:00 (1 lap); 44. Jo Watts, 36:00 (1 lap); 45. Edith Watts, 36:00 (1 lap); 46. Wanda Kincaid, 36:49 (1 lap).

More in Sports

Soldotna junior Brayden Taylor rushes the ball down the field during the Division II state football championship game against Lathrop at Service High School in Anchorage on Saturday, Oct. 16, 2021. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)
Lathrop snaps SoHi’s run of state titles

The Soldotna Stars football team fell to Fairbanks’ Lathrop High School in… Continue reading

Soldotna’s Gehret Medcoff runs for a touchdown against Wasilla on Friday, Sept. 24, 2021, at Justin Maile Field in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Stars dominate major NLC football awards

Soldotna, which went undefeated in the Northern Lights Conference this season, won… Continue reading

SoHi wrestlers take 4th at Houston Altercation

The Soldotna wrestling team finished fourth at the season-opening Houston Altercation Tournament… Continue reading

Kenai Central's Emma Beck attacks against Nikiski's Rylee Ellis on Friday, Oct. 15, 2021, at Kenai Central High School in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Volleyball roundup: Kenai tops Nikiski; Wasilla sweeps SoHi

The senior civics project of Valerie Villegas was a smashing success Friday… Continue reading

Morgan Aldridge leads riders down a hill at the start of Week 3 of the Soldotna Cycle Series on Thursday, July 18, 2019, at Tsalteshi Trails. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Chainwreck Cyclocross Series holds final race of season

The Chainwreck Cyclocross Series wrapped up with the fifth race Thursday at… Continue reading

Nikiski's Rylee Ellis attacks against Soldotna's Ashlee Anderson on Thursday, Oct. 14, 2021, at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Volleyball roundup: SoHi, Kenai pull out wins

Staff report Host Soldotna celebrated its senior night with a 3-1 nonconference… Continue reading

Brock Wilson and Brayden Taylor lead Soldotna onto Justin Maile Field for a Division II semifinal against North Pole on Friday, Oct. 8, 2021, in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
SoHi football to play for 9th straight state title

Eight straight state titles, and 12 since 2006. An 18-game postseason winning… Continue reading

MJ Hendren pictured kayaking at Hidden Lake next to a large rock exposure. (Photo provided)
Refuge Notebook: Geology of the Kenai … it rocks!

One thing that never ceases to amaze me about living in Alaska… Continue reading

The pedicure in question has seen many miles of hiking and walking since it was first painted on five months ago. (Photo by Kat Sorensen)
Tangled Up in Blue: A perfect pedicure

There is just the smallest sliver of light pink nail polish left… Continue reading

Most Read