Birch Ridge Golf Report: Results of Pro Am, All Alaskan Skins Game

  • By Zac Cowan
  • Thursday, July 14, 2016 11:53pm
  • Sports

Monday, we hosted the 2016 Birch Ridge Golf Association Pro Am and the 20th Annual All Alaskan Pro Skins Game. It was a beautiful day, with 13 teams competing for the win, and 12 professionals battling for the big prize. The greens were phenomenal, and it was unanimous that they are the best in the state, now for the seventh year in a row.

One professional commented that we are “Alaska’s version of Augusta,” which is an amazing compliment. This couldn’t have been possible without our incredible superintendent, Bill Engberg, and his crew. We also all enjoyed a wonderful cocktail party and barbecue for the event, which was all thanks to Pat and Myrna Cowan. They work so hard, and it shows.

In the Pro Am, Aaron Dexheimer and Brandon Kaiser tied for first with rounds of 1-over-par 71, each earning $400 in cash for their efforts. Brittany Bomar was third at 73 for $175, while Rob Nelson and Rich Lundahl each fired 75 for $110.

The amateurs earned gift cards for their placements. In the gross division, Chase Bomar was first with 72 for $175, Jake Eubank was second with 73 for $125 and Max Dye was third with 76 for $100. In the net division, Darell Jelsma was first with 64 for $175, Earl Matthis was second with 66 for $125 and David Brown was third with 68 for $100.

There also were team awards in the Pro Am. Teams were composed of one pro and three amateurs.

The first-place team, winning in a scorecard playoff after a score of 125, was pro Bill Engberg along with Jake Eubank, Darell Jelsma and Max Dye. That squad won $500.

The second-place team, also carding a 125, was made up of pro Brandon Kaiser and Jimmy Grace, Joe Pahl and Dave Greer. That group won $400.

Taking third at 126 and collecting $300 were pro Brittany Bomar and Tim Ruff, Dave Faulk and Chase Bomar. Coming in fourth at 127 for $200 were pro George Collum and Dave Matthews, JD Mitchell and Derek O’Neil.

Following a full day of 18 holes of completion, all 12 golf professionals went out for a nine-hole skins game, hosted by the Birch Ridge Golf Association.

We fought tooth and nail for the $2,000 purse, going out there in teams of two, playing alternate shot with our partner, trying to beat the best in the state.

Teams were: Aaron Dexheimer and Trevis Kordus; Travis Jorgensen and Rich Lundahl; Zac Cowan and Brittany Bomar; Rob Nelson and Chris Wright; Bill Engberg and George Collum; and Brandon Kaiser and Jeff Barnhart.

There was intrigue, with greens driven and flags hunted, which led off nine holes of birdies and pars, all being tied, which means the entire pot was up for grabs on the first playoff hole. No. 10 was pushed with birdies, and ultimately Dex and TK took the whole thing with a winning putt on the 11th hole.

If you are interested in playing a great course, then watching a great feat of golf after, join us next year for our 2017 Pro Am.

Club Results

Tuesday Seniors

Nine players came out to play on a nice warm morning. The only prize, though, was low net with a 32 shot by Steve Tachick. Nice job, Steve.

Tuesday Ladies

Sixteen ladies enjoyed the sun and played the back nine for a change of pace. Kaycee Christensen took low gross with a 45 and Trena Richardson won low net with a 31. Kaycee also chipped in at the 13th.

Tuesday couples

This week, the couples played from the reds, whites and blues in a rotation, two-person scramble. The only requirement is that they had to use one ladies drive from the blue tees and one men’s drive from the red tees.

First place went to Monte and Stephanie Roberts with a net of 28. Second place was tied between Pat and Myrna Cowan, and Vic Hussey and Margaret Stanley. Tanya Boedeker hit it close on No. 6 and made the putt for pure birdie. From the white tees by the way. Way to go, Tanya.

Wednesday Men’s Night

Sixteen guys came out for our Wednesday game, and there was a great score shot. In second place, the team of Bob Sizemore, Aaron Cooper, George Stein and Tim Bowser fired a 30. But they were beat out by Mark Baker, Robert Stiver, Darell Jelsma and Mike Hollingsworth, shooting a score of 28. Mike wasn’t done there, winning the closest to the pin at Nos. 6 and 8. Aaron Cooper made a pure birdie on No. 6, and Brock Kant carried the big stick for long drive.

More in Sports

Kenai Central's Sawyer Vann controls Nikiski's Wyatt Maguire at 125 pounds Tuesday, Nov. 23, 2021, at Nikiski High School in Nikiski, Alaska. Vann notched a 7-6 victory. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Area wrestlers collect mat time before Thanksgiving break

Area wrestlers got in some mat time Tuesday before the Thanksgiving break.… Continue reading

Assistant coach Taylor Shaw leads the Kenai River Brown Bears during a game Thursday, Nov. 18, 2021, against the Springfield (Illinois) Jr. Blues at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Brown Bears start search for new head coach

The Kenai River Brown Bears issued a press release Friday about staff… Continue reading

Soldotna junior Liam Babitt holds a grip on South Anchorage’s Britten Hamilton during the 215-pound final of the Lancer Smith Fall Varsity 2021 Invite on Saturday, Nov. 20, 2021 at the Menard Arena in Wasilla, Alaska. (Photo by Jeremiah Bartz/Frontiersman)
Soldotna crowns 4 champions at Lancer Smith

The Soldotna wrestling team finished fourth Friday and Saturday at the Lancer… Continue reading

Kenai River Brown Bears forward Bryce Monrean tries to find a way through the defense of the Springfield (Illinois) Jr. Blues during a first-period power play Friday, Nov. 19, 2021, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Jr. Blues come back to take series from Bears

The Springfield (Illinois) Jr. Blues lost not only a 2020-21 season to… Continue reading

Hockey roundup: SoHi sweeps in Kodiak; West wins End of Road tourney

The Soldotna hockey team swept Kodiak in the first high school games… Continue reading

A brown bear feeds on a salmon. (Photo by C. Canterbury/USFWS)
Refuge Notebook: Bears, uniquely built to respond to winter

With the new snow and temperatures dipping into the single digits, you… Continue reading

Kenai Central's Caden Warren surveys the ice against West at the End of the Road Tournament at Kevin Bell Arena in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Sarah Knapp/Homer News)
Kenai, Homer hockey lose to open tourney

The Kenai Central and Homer hockey teams both opened the End of… Continue reading

Caden Triggs of the Kenai River Brown Bears celebrates his first-period goal against the Springfield (Illinois) Jr. Blues on Thursday, Nov. 18, 2021, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Brown Bears topple Jr. Blues

By JEFF HELMINIAK Peninsula Clarion The Kenai River Brown Bears received two… Continue reading

Most Read