Mineshaft Grinder gets 62 finishers

The Mineshaft Grinder in Hope, put on by the Kenai Mountains-Turnagain Arm National Heritage Area, drew 62 finishers Saturday.

The three events in the race celebrate the mining history in Hope by encouraging racers up Palmer Creek Road, according to the website. The race started in 2018.

The three events are the Gold Grinder, an uphill-only bike race that climbs 1,900 feet in 11 miles; the Silver Grinder, an out-and-back half marathon; and the Quartz Grinder, an 8.5-mile out-and-back run.

Christina Grande won the Gold Grinder women’s race at 58 minutes, 54 seconds, while Sterling’s Morgan Aldridge was second at 1:00:38. The men’s race went to Jorge Machado in 58:35, while Craig Rohwer was second at 1:00:01.

The race also was open to paracyclists for the first time. Anna Boltz won the women’s paracycle event at 1:23:26, while Blanca Baquero-Cruz was second at 3:30:45. Michael Hanson won the men’s paracycle event at 1:09:20, while Derek Dagley was second at 2:01:39.

The women’s Silver Grinder went to Kamie Miller in 1:45:55, while Patricia Foldager was second at 1:57:27. The men’s Silver Grinder went to Ari Gardner at 1:39:36, while Gavin Kentch was second at 1:42:16.

The Quartz Grinder women’s race went to Jenna Wixon-Genack in 1:18:00. The Quartz Grinder men’s winner was Flip Foldager at 1:17:00, while Shawn Williams was second at 1:37:20.

Mineshaft Grinder

Saturday in Hope

Gold Grinder women’s cycle — 1. Christina Grande, 58 minutes, 54 seconds; 2. Morgan Aldridge, 1:00:38; 3. Kate Ginsbach, 1:02:11; 4. Pam Schamber, 1:02:19; 5. Hailey Stark, 1:08:50; 6. Erin Storck, 1:09:31; 7. Hope McGratty, 1:13:47; 8. Sara Warrick, 1:23:00; 9. Chelsea Aspelund, 1:28:59; 10. Jan Rogers, 1:31:37; 11. Martha Story, 1:34:23; 12. Pam Tittle, 1:35:37; 13. Deborah Duricka, 1:43:47; 14. Courtney Casquejo, 2:02:42; 15. Pauline Tise, 2:21:54; 16. Krystal Offord, 2:22:19; 17. Bonnie Bailey, 2:48:32.

Gold Grinder women’s paracycle — 1. Anna Boltz, 1:23:26; 2. Blanca Baquero-Cruz, 3:30:45.

Gold Grinder men’s cycle — 1. Jorge Machado, 58:35; 2. Craig Rohwer, 1:00:01; 3. William Still, 1:02:27; 4. Derek Ford, 1:04:23; 5. Luke Almon, 1:05:07; 6. Scott Henry, 1:07:57; 7. Matthew Blair, 1:12:22; 8. Joshua Duffus, 1:17:34; 9. William Paton, 1:19:09; 10. John Lutterman, 1:20:23; 11. Dave Schneider, 1:21:59; 12. Peter Reckmeyer, 1:22:09; 13. Lawrence Harmon, 1:25:03; 14. Jamie Nelson, 1:30:15; 15. C.O. Rudstrom, 1:31:27; 16. Randy Taylor, 1:32:26; 17. Thomas Brieske, 1:34:24; 18. Aaron Finney, 1:43:04; 19. George Creighton, 2:01:40; 20. Marko Radonich, 2:45:34; 21. Chris Hummel, 3:30:48.

Gold Grinder men’s paracycle — 1. Michael Hanson, 1:09:20; 2. Derek Dagley, 2:01:39; 3. Jim Beck, 2:45:33.

Silver Grinder women’s half marathon — 1. Kamie Miller, 1:45:55; 2. Patricia Foldager, 1:57:27; 3. Jen Novobilski, 2:03:11; 4. Kathy Jacobsen, 2:15:13; 5. Colette Gallo, 2:22:33; 6. Kelli Henry, 2:31:26; 7. Kathy Trinh, 2:42:42.

Silver Grinder men’s half marathon — 1. Ari Gardner, 1:39:36; 2. Gavin Kentch, 1:42:16; 3. Jameson Nicolazzo, 1:51:19; 4. Nick Lehmam, 1:57:04; 5. Mark Jacobsen, 2:01:40; 6. Kevin Lauver, 2:08:54; 7. Duwayne Ruzicka, 2:10:04; 8. Alex Wade, 2:13:25; 9. Howard Levine, 2:26:28; 10. Carl Kincaid, 2:34:44.

Quartz Grinder women’s 8.5-mile run — 1. Jenna Wixon-Genack, 1:18:00.

Quartz Grinder men’s 8.5-mile run — 1. Flip Foldager, 1:17:00; 2. Shawn Williams, 1:37:20.

More in Sports

Dylan Dahlgren, Galen Brantley III and Adarra Hagelund at the NAIA Indoor Track and Field National Championships in Brookings, South Dakota. (Photo provided)
College: Brantley III, Hagelund earn All-American honors; Jacoby, Longhorns dominate Big 12

Two former members of the Soldotna track and field team earned All-American… Continue reading

Saturday hoops: Lumen Christi boys, Birchwood Christian girls earn state berths

The Birchwood Christian girls basketball team and Lumen Christi boys earned trips… Continue reading

Kenai River Brown Bears forward Samuel Sisik makes a centering pass past Anchorage Wolverines defenseman Brock Devlin on Saturday, March 2, 2024, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Saturday: Wolverines top Bears for 8th straight win

Anchorage Wolverines fans showed their dedication by making the trip to Soldotna… Continue reading

Friday hoops: Lumen girls, CIA boys win Peninsula Conference titles

The Cook Inlet Academy boys and Lumen Christi girls won Peninsula Conference… Continue reading

Friday: Bears fall to Wolverines in shootout

The Kenai River Brown Bears lost 3-2 in a shootout to the… Continue reading

Lumen-Birchwood girls, CIA-Lumen boys to play for Peninsula Conference championships

The Lumen Christi and Birchwood girls, and Cook Inlet Academy and Lumen… Continue reading

Tuesday hoops: Grace Christian sweeps Seward

The visiting Grace Christian basketball teams swept Seward on Tuesday in Peninsula… Continue reading

Soldotna's Ariana Cannava skis her team to third place in the 4-by-3-kilometer relay at the state Nordic ski meet at Kincaid Park in Anchorage, Alaska, on Saturday, Feb. 24, 2024. (Photo courtesy of Danika Winslow)
State skiing: Kenai girls, boys take DII honors

The Kenai Peninsula had plenty to shout about Thursday, Friday and Saturday… Continue reading

Most Read