Soldotna rules all-NLC awards

  • By Staff Report
  • Saturday, October 15, 2016 11:25pm
  • Sports

Following a five-touchdown performance in the medium-schools state championship game against Palmer, Soldotna junior fullback Brenner Furlong was announced as the Northern Lights Conference Offensive Player of the Year. Furlong led the way in 2016 with 1,116 rushing yards and nine touchdowns, and also had 104 receiving yards on five catches with two touchdowns.

Also for Soldotna, junior linebacker Wendell Tuisaula received NLC Defensive Player of the Year, senior Kyle Marcuson grabbed Lineman of the Year, and head coach Galen Brantley Jr. took co-honors in Coach of the Year, sharing the award with Palmer coach Rod Christiansen.

Among the NLC All-Conference first team offense members from the Kenai Peninsula were Soldotna junior quarterback Brandon Crowder, SoHi senior halfback Austin Schrader, Kenai Central junior receiver Zack Tuttle, SoHi senior tight end Andy West, Kenai senior tackle Jon Delgado, SoHi senior tackle Kyle Marcuson, SoHi senior tackle Aseli Finau, SoHi senior guard Bryce Martin, SoHi senior long snapper Alex Goodermote, Kenai junior kicker Zack Tuttle and SoHi senior return specialist Chase Gillies.

For the NLC All-Conference first team defense, peninsula players included Andy West at outside linebacker, Kenai senior Nick Beeson at inside linebacker, SoHi junior Wendell Tuisaula at inside linebacker, Kenai junior Rykker Riddall at defensive back, SoHi senior Jace Urban at defensive back, Jon Delgado at interior lineman, SoHi senior Aseli Finau at interior lineman, Marcuson at interior lineman, and Kenai senior Avery Heiber at utility player.

2016 Northern Lights Conference football postseason awards

Offensive Player of Year — Brenner Furlong, Soldotna

Defensive Player of Year — Wendell Tuisaula, Soldotna

Lineman of Year — Kyle Marcuson, Soldotna

Coach of Year — Rod Christiansen, Palmer; Galen Brantley Jr., Soldotna

Assistant Coach of Year — Tim Popowski, Palmer


1st Team offense — Brandon Crowder, Soldotna, QB; Austin Schrader, Soldotna, HB; Nick DeBach, Palmer, HB; Brenner Furlong, Soldotna, FB; Zack Tuttle, Kenai, WR; Trey Witz, Palmer, WR; Andy West, Soldotna, TE; Jon Delgado, Kenai, OT; Kyle Marcuson, Soldotna, OT; Aseli Finau, Soldotna, OT; Bryce Martin, Soldotna, OG; Travis Wheeler, Palmer, OG; Dayton Denter, Eagle River, C; Alex Goodermote, Soldotna, LS; Zack Tuttle, Kenai, K; Chase Gillies, Kenai, RS.

1st Team defense — Andy West, Soldotna, OLB; Aaron Christiansen, Palmer, OLB; Nick Beeson, Kenai, ILB; Wendell Tuisaula, Soldotna, ILB; Rykker Riddall, Kenai, DB; Shaun Walton, Kodiak, DB; Jace Urban, Soldotna, DB; Jared Oviok, Palmer, DB; Jon Delgado, Kenai, DL; Aseli Finau, Soldotna, DL; Kyle Marcuson, Soldotna, DL; Austin Farris, Palmer, DL; Jordan Bueza, Eagle River, DL; Shaun Walton, Palmer, P; Avery Heiber, Kenai, UP.

2nd Team offense — Andreas Carros, Kodiak, QB; Rykker Riddall, Kenai, HB; Jace Urban, Soldotna, HB; Nick Beeson, Kenai, FB; Shaun Walton, Kodiak, WR; Cam Smith, Eagle River, WR; Aaron Christiansen, Palmer, TE; Braxton Bolen, Kodiak, OT; Seth Kruse, Kenai, OG; Lucas Santana, Palmer, OG; Liam Kirven, Kodiak, C; Hunter Bleakney, Palmer, C; Blake Jones, Soldotna, K.

2nd Team defense — Brenner Furlong, Soldotna, OLB; Grant Barkhurst, Eagle River, OLB; Derrick Rastopsoff, ILB, Kodiak; Nick DeBach, Palmer, ILB; Hunter George, Eagle River, ILB; Zack Tuttle, Kenai, DB; Wesley Walker, Kodiak, DB; Levi Hensley, Soldotna, DB; Trey Witz, Palmer, DB; Braxton Bolen, Kodiak, DL; Jeremiah Lefao, Soldotna, DL; Travis Wheeler, Palmer, DL; Dayton Denter, Eagle River, DL; Thad Heagy, Eagle River, P; Isaiah Galindez, Kodiak, UP.

Defense Honorable Mentions — Chase Gillies, Kenai, QB; Clayton Southwick, Palmer, QB; Thad Heagy, Eagle River, QB; Jordan Porter, Eagle River, HB; Hunter George, Eagle River, FB; Matt Daniels, Palmer, WR; Jack Moseley, Eagle River, TE; Jordan Baeza, Eagle River, OT; Larry Cutsforth, Palmer, K.

Offense Honorable Mentions — Grant Barkhurst, Eagle River, OLB; Chase Gillies, Kenai, DB; Jeff Glynn, Palmer, DB; Larry Cutsforth, Palmer, DB; Rykker Riddall, Kenai, P; Luke Trammell, Soldotna, UP; Jason Watkins, Palmer, UP.

More in Sports

Soldotna's Tanner Inman drives on Mila Hargrave of Juneau-Douglas on Thursday, Jan. 26, 2023, at the Al Howard Tournament at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Kenai, SoHi open with losses at Al Howard tourney

Anchorage Christian Schools swept Kenai Central and Juneau-Douglas swept Soldotna on Thursday… Continue reading

Hello, Neighbor

Even after living in Alaska for the better part of a decade,… Continue reading

Brown Bears look to cool off Windigo

On Oct. 22, the Kenai River Brown Bears defeated the Wisconsin Windigo… Continue reading

JD McGee of Anchorage Christian Schools knocks the ball away from Soldotna's Jakob Brown on Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2023, at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
ACS hoops sweeps Soldotna

The visiting Anchorage Christian Schools boys basketball team pulled away in the… Continue reading

Andrew captures Ski Dash

Mitchell Andrew won the Food Cache Ski Dash on Sunday on Tsalteshi… Continue reading

Eventual race winner Morgan Aldridge chases Libby Jensen, who finished third, and is chased by Amy Anderson, who took second, at the Ski for Women on Sunday, Feb. 2, 2020, at Tsalteshi Trails just outside of Soldotna. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Sterling’s Aldridge wins age group at national championships

Sterling’s Morgan Aldridge won the 40 to 44 women’s age group Saturday… Continue reading

Wolverines sweep Brown Bears

The Anchorage Wolverines finished a two-game North American Hockey League sweep of… Continue reading

Cook Inlet Academy's Alek McGarry battles for a rebound against Birchwood Christian on Saturday, Jan. 21, 2023, at Cook Inlet Academy just outside of Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
CIA girls, boys sweep Birchwood Christian

The Cook Inlet Academy girls and boys basketball teams hope to break… Continue reading

Saturday hoops roundup: Bethel sweeps Nikiski to take Donlin Gold titles

The Nikiski girls and boys basketball teams finished play at the Bethel… Continue reading

Most Read