Stars lead list of NLC All-Conference awards

  • By Staff Report
  • Thursday, October 12, 2017 11:20pm
  • Sports

The Soldotna Stars once again filled the Northern Lights All-Conference list of accolades in 2017, picking up three of the top five awards and 13 of 32 first-team awards.

For a second straight year, SoHi senior Brenner Furlong received NLC Offensive Player of the Year and senior Wendell Tuisuala grabbed Defensive Player of the Year honors. Furlong led all peninsula athletes with 1,214 rushing yards and 16 touchdowns, while Tuisuala terrorized opponents with a consistent defensive presence.

Soldotna defensive coordinator Eric Pomerleau received Assistant Coach of the Year, while Lineman of the Year went to Palmer’s Lucas Santana and Coach of the Year went to Rod Christiansen of Palmer.

Kenai Central featured seven names on the First-Team list, three on offense and four on defense.

2017 Northern Lights All-Conference Awards

Offensive Player of the Year — Brenner Furlong, Soldotna.

Defensive Player of the Year — Wendell Tuisuala, Soldotna.

Lineman of the Year — Lucas Santana, Palmer.

Coach of the Year — Rod Christiansen, Palmer.

Assistant Coach of the Year — Eric Pomerleau, Soldotna.

2017 Northern Lights Conference First-Team Offense

Quarterback — Brandon Crowder, Soldotna.

Halfback — Aaron Faletoi, Soldotna; Larry Cutsforth, Palmer.

Fullback — Brenner Furlong, Soldotna.

Receiver — Zack Tuttle, Kenai; Joel Francisco, Kodiak.

Tight End — Galen Brantley III, Soldotna.

Tackle — Jake Marcuson, Soldotna; Jacob White, Palmer.

Guard — Wendell Tuisuala, Soldotna; Seth Kruse, Kenai; Lucas Santana, Palmer.

Center — Josh Smith, Kodiak.

Return specialist — Luke Trammell, Soldotna.

Long snapper — Logan Baker, Kenai.

Kicker — Larry Cutsforth, Palmer.

2017 Northern Lights Conference First-Team Defense

Outside linebacker — Rykker Riddall, Kenai; Brenner Furlong, Soldotna.

Inside linebacker — Tyrone McEnerney, Kenai; Wendell Tuisuala, Soldotna; Ben Kruzich, Palmer.

Defensive back — Jersey Truesdell, Soldotna; Zack Tuttle, Kenai; Jeff Glynn, Palmer; Isaiah Galindez, Kodiak.

Interior lineman — John Grossl, Kenai; Lucas Santana, Palmer; Levi Benner, Soldotna; Josh Smith, Kodiak; Aaron Faletoi, Soldotna.

Punter — Shaun Walton, Kodiak.

Utility player — Cody Quelland, Soldotna.

2017 Northern Lights Conference Second-Team Offense

Quarterback — Luke Guggenmos, Palmer.

Halfback — Kaleb Finley, Kodiak; Rykker Riddall, Kenai.

Fullback — Dustin Corbin, Palmer.

Receiver — Mason Piper, Eagle River; Matt Daniels, Palmer.

Tight End — Bryson Rollman, Eagle River.

Tackle — Micah Stafford, Eagle River; Riley Atwood, Kenai; Micah Bartel, Kodiak.

Guard — Arjay Fangonilo, Kodiak; Ben Hamilton, Eagle River.

Center — Eli Lovelace, Soldotna; Jacob Grant, Kenai.

Return specialist — Patric Dickens, Palmer.

Long snapper — Levi Farris, Palmer; Galen Brantley III, Soldotna.

Kicker — Jovani Peneda, Kodiak.

2017 Northern Lights Conference Second-Team Defense

Outside linebacker — Kaleb Finley, Kodiak; Dustin Corbin, Palmer.

Inside linebacker — Tyrone McEnerney, Kenai; Derrick Rastopsoff, Kodiak; Parker Smith, Palmer.

Defensive back — Brandon Crowder, Soldotna; Ryan Adkins, Eagle River; JT Adams, Eagle River; Titus Riddall, Kenai; Leif Mumma, Palmer; Shaun Walton, Kodiak.

Interior lineman — Jarrett Wilson, Kenai; Travis Tardiff, Palmer; Orazio Ramos, Eagle River.

Punter — Ryan Adkins, Eagle River.

Utility player — Dylan Meyers, Palmer.

2017 Northern Lights Conference Honorable Mention Offense

Quarterback — Connor Felchle, Kenai.

Halfback — Kameron Williams, Eagle River; Jeff Glynn, Palmer.

Fullback — Michael Cayood, Eagle River.

Tackle — Levi Benner, Soldotna.

Kicker — Eli Sheridan, Soldotna; Thad Heagy, Eagle River.

2017 Northern Lights Conference Honorable Mention Defense

Defensive Back — Cy Updike, Soldotna; Mason Piper, Eagle River; Nathan Reeves, Palmer.

Interior Lineman — Jake Marcuson, Soldotna; Micah Bartel, Kodiak; Micah Stafford, Eagle River.

Punter — Skyler Hale, Palmer.

More in Sports

Nikiski's Everett Chamberlain, Lynn Deveer, Seth Payne and Oliver Parrish celebrate the touchdown run of Parrish on Saturday, Sept. 30, 2023, at Nikiski Middle-High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Nikiski tops Eielson, advances to 9-man state final

Thanksgiving came early Saturday at Nikiski Middle-High School. Nikiski defeated Eielson 40-6… Continue reading

Kenai girls, SoHi boys swimmers capture Seward Invite

The Kenai Central girls and Soldotna boys swim teams won Seward Invitational… Continue reading

Kenai volleyball takes 2nd at West Spiketacular

The Kenai Central volleyball team finished second at the West Spiketacular on… Continue reading

Soldotna football wins 18th straight conference title

The visiting Soldotna football team defeated Eagle River 55-7 on Saturday to… Continue reading

Region 3 cross country: Seward girls, Ingalls take titles on home course

The Seward girls cross-country team warmed up for the defense of their… Continue reading

Kenai Central quarterback Zeke Yragui throws against Kodiak on Friday, Sept. 29, 2023, at Kodiak High School in Kodiak, Alaska. (Photo by Derek Clarkston/Kodiak Daily Mirror)
Mid Alaska: Kenai football blows past Kodiak; Barrow tops Homer

The visiting Kenai Central football team defeated Kodiak 49-6 on Friday in… Continue reading

Windigo sweep Brown Bears

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears were swept decisively by the Wisconsin… Continue reading

Beeson, Aldridge win 4th Chainwreck Cyclocross Series race

Brian Beeson and Morgan Aldridge won the fourth race of the Chainwreck… Continue reading

Soldotna libero Kiara Forkner digs up a ball against Nikiski on Thursday, Sept. 28, 2023, at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Soldotna volleyball avenges earlier loss to Nikiski

The host Soldotna volleyball team defeated Nikiski 25-20, 25-18 and 25-19 on… Continue reading

Most Read