Juneau Lake shows off the reflection of its surrounding mountains on June 27, 2020 about 9 miles down Resurrection Pass in Cooper Landing, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)

Neill, McLaughlin win Res Pass Ultras

Eric Neill and Ryan McLaughlin won the Resurrection Pass Ultra Races on Friday and Saturday.

Neill was the top 100-miler at 19 hours, 45 minutes and 5 seconds. Erin McKittrick was the first woman for the second straight year, and second overall, at 23:48:49.

The 50-miler went to McLaughlin in 7:30:00. Abby Jahn was the top woman, and second overall, at 8:01:00.

The 50-miler starts at the Resurrection Pass trailhead in Cooper Landing on Saturday morning and goes six miles down and six miles back on the Devil’s Creek trail before continuing to Hope for the full 50 miles. It has about 5,000 feet of elevation gain and loss, according to Strava accounts of various athletes in the race.

The 100-miler starts in Hope on Friday afternoon and goes to Cooper Landing. On the way back, runners go down and back up the Devil’s Creek trail, meaning the elevation gain and loss goes over 10,000 feet for the race.

The 100-miler celebrated its 20th year, while the 50-miler is in its 27th year.

Resurrection Pass Ultra Races


Men — 1. Eric Neill, 19 hours, 45 minutes, 5 seconds; 2. Joel Frost-Tift, 24:55:15; 3. Joshua Bleznak, 28:03:00; 4. Gary Shaw, 30:32:42; 5. Christopher Bitz, 31:36:40.

Women — 1. Erin McKittrick, 23:48:49; 2. Christy Youngblood, 25:56:21; 3. Laura McDonough, 26:32:46; 4. Nicole Fleming, 30:32:42; 5. Sondra Stonecipher, 37:17:00.


Men — 1. Ryan McLaughlin, 7:30:00; 2. Miles Rainey, 8:14:00; 3. Miles Knotek, 8:41:28; 4. Travis Strawn, 9:30:00; 5. Matias Saari, 9:32:00; 6. Matt Soule, 9:57:35; 7. Micah Templin, 10:11:37; 8. Max Anthouard, 10:23:00; 9. Colin Campbell, 10:24:05; 10. Mark Snyder, 11:06:49; 11. Brian Laurencelle, 11:26:23; 12. Sean Solie, 11:28:34; 13. Adam Schofield, 11:35:13; 14. Jheren Svoboda, 11:40:06; 15. Kyle Racette, 11:49:15; 16. Derek Bynagle, 12:09:35; 17. Sean Randle, 12:15:00; 18. Dean Denter, 12:21:19; 19. Tony Gillham, 12:35:10; 20. Alan Smith, 13:03:00; 21. Chris Butcher, 13:29:20; 22. Brian Burns, 13:43:44; 23. Larry Tews, 14:16:22; 24. Jeff Pettett, 14:44:00; 25. Eric Thomason, 15:24:18; 26. Arturo Tovar, 17:29:38; 27. Jude Metoyer, 17:36:14.

Women — 1. Abby Jahn, 8:01:00; 2. Julianne Dickerson, 8:09:36; 3. Shauna Severson, 9:08:54; 4. Rachel Topf, 9:41:05; 5. Kayla Nowak, 10:48:51; 6. Carrie Setian, 11:00:00; 7. Minday Svoboda, 11:40:06; 8. Zoe Copp, 11:40:34; 9. Justina Jaminet, 12:19:02; 10. Tammy Weaver, 12:19:02; 11. Heidi Quinn, 13:34:30; 12. Anna Straka, 14:54:55; 13. Heather Velasquez, 14:54:55; 14. Alycia Brady, 15:13:43; 15. Miranda Mode, 15:13:43; 16. Carey Quiring, 16:56:00; 17. Jen Hufford, 17:29:38.

More in Sports

Soldotna's Andrew Pieh intercepts a pass intended for Chugiak's Kaden Lockwood on Friday, Sept. 22, 2023, at Justin Maile Field at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Soldotna football routs Chugiak on senior night to stay perfect

The Soldotna football team defeated Chugiak 63-7 on Friday in Railbelt Conference… Continue reading

Friday: Brown Bears finish strong to top Jr. Blues

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears defeated the Springfield (Illinois) Jr. Blues… Continue reading

Dahl, Aldridge take wins at 3rd week of Chainwreck Cyclocross

Nels Dahl and Morgan Aldridge took victories at the third week of… Continue reading

Friday volleyball: Nikiski tops Seward; Kenai goes undefeated in Slamma Jamma bracket play

The visiting Nikiski volleyball team defeated Seward 25-22, 25-20, 20-25 and 25-19… Continue reading

Soldotna's Tania Boonstra sprints to victory in the Kenai Peninsula Borough girls race Thursday, Sept. 21, 2023, at Tsalteshi Trails just outside of Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Kenai’s Fallon, Soldotna’s Boonstra run to borough titles

Soldotna sophomore Tania Boonstra and Kenai Central senior Greg Fallon won the… Continue reading

Thursday volleyball: Kenai goes undefeated in Slamma Jamma pool play

The Kenai and Homer volleyball teams opened up play Thursday at the… Continue reading

Tuesday volleyball: Seward defeats Soldotna in 5 sets

The host Seward volleyball team defeated Soldotna 20-25, 25-16, 25-17, 22-25 and… Continue reading

Endurance roundup: Pikes Peak Ascent, Chainwreck Cyclocross, Equinox Marathon

Allie Ostrander, a 2015 graduate of Kenai Central now living in Seattle,… Continue reading

Seward head coach Tyler Mallory presents the Fish Bowl to his team after the Seahawks defeated Nikiski 34-18 on Saturday, Sept. 16, 2023, at Nikiski Middle-High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Seward football takes Fish Bowl from Nikiski

The Seward football team defeated Nikiski 34-18 on Saturday at Nikiski Middle-High… Continue reading

Most Read