A “Vote Here” sign is seen at the City of Kenai building on Monday, Sept. 21, 2020, in Kenai, Alaska. (Peninsula Clarion file)

A “Vote Here” sign is seen at the City of Kenai building on Monday, Sept. 21, 2020, in Kenai, Alaska. (Peninsula Clarion file)

Voices of the Peninsula: Get out there and Vote!

The League of Women Voters on the Kenai and Kenai Peninsula Votes created this voter guide for the mayoral election

If you’re not sure who to vote for in the Kenai Peninsula Borough mayoral election on Valentine’s Day, on Tuesday, Feb. 14, this Voter Guide can help you. The League of Women Voters on the Kenai and Kenai Peninsula Votes created this voter guide for the mayoral election.

Unfortunately, it is too big to show here, but you can read the KPB Mayoral Voter Guide at linktr.ee/kenaipeninsulavotes.

We asked the four candidates — Dave Carey, Zach Hamilton, Peter Micciche and Linda Hutchings — these questions:

What makes you the most qualified candidate to be mayor for our borough?

What are some hobbies or skills that you possess that would help you be an effective mayor?

How can we increase voter turnout for borough and city elections?

If you had one wish that would help our communities grow over the next four years, what would it be?

What are your top three priorities if elected mayor of the borough?

Last time we had a special mayoral election, back in October 2017, 19% of registered voters did their thing.

Our last borough/city election, October 2020, we had 18% of voters vote.

The problem with voter turnout and voter education is prolific. The good news is, it only takes one more person who is reading this and saying to themselves, I will vote on Valentine’s Day.

One last note, you can also vote early at the following polling stations from Monday, Jan. 30 through Tuesday, Feb. 14:

KPB Clerk’s Office, 144 N. Binkley Street, Soldotna: 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

KPB Homer Annex, 638 E. Pioneer Avenue: 9 a.m.-4 p.m.

Kenai Clerk’s Office, 210 Fidalgo Avenue: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Seldovia Clerk’s Office, 235 Dock Street: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Seward Clerk’s Office, 410 Adams Street: 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

Make a pledge to go out and vote and be educated on what you are voting on. Our community needs to hear from all of us. All voices need to be heard, and all votes count.

Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes, a nonpartisan voter advocacy organization.

More in Opinion

Rep. Justin Ruffridge, a Soldotna Republican who co-chairs the House Education Committee, speaks during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Creating a road map to our shared future

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

An array of solar panels stand in the sunlight at Whistle Hill in Soldotna, Alaska, on Sunday, April 7, 2024. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
Renewable Energy Fund: Key to Alaska’s clean economy transition

AEA will continue to strive to deliver affordable, reliable, and sustainable energy to provide a brighter future for all Alaskans.

Mount Redoubt can be seen acoss Cook Inlet from North Kenai Beach on Thursday, July 2, 2022. (Photo by Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: An open letter to the HEA board of directors

Renewable energy is a viable option for Alaska

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, speaks in opposition to an executive order that would abolish the Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives during a joint legislative session on Tuesday, March 12, 2024 in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Making progress, passing bills

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Priya Helweg is the deputy regional director and executive officer for the Office of the Regional Director (ORD), Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services, Region 10. (Image via hhs.gov)
Opinion: Taking action on the maternal health crisis

The United States has the highest maternal mortality rate among high-income countries

Heidi Hedberg. (Photo courtesy of the Alaska Department of Health)
Opinion: Alaska’s public assistance division is on course to serve Alaskans in need more efficiently than ever

We are now able to provide in-person service at our offices in Bethel, Juneau, Kodiak, Kenai, Homer and Wasilla

Sara Hondel (Courtesy photo)
Opinion: Alaskan advocate shines light on Alzheimer’s crisis

In the heart of the nation’s capital next week, volunteers will champion the urgent need for legislative action to support those affected by Alzheimer’s

Rep. Ben Carpenter, a Nikiski Republican, speaks during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Clearing red tape on occupational licensing

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Most Read