What others say: Stay and finish the job

  • Tuesday, June 7, 2016 2:40pm
  • Opinion

If you know your history, it’s somewhat ironic. This week, thousands of Alaska Natives will descend on Juneau and force legislators from their homes.

Celebration brings thousands of people to Juneau every other year for a series of spectacular events. This year, it coincides with the unprecedented extension of the Alaska Legislature’s session. Lawmakers have passed 130 days of work in Juneau and are well on their way to 140.

We never expected them to need so much time to address Alaska’s multibillion-dollar budget deficit, and they didn’t expect it, either. They’ve been booking hotel rooms on a day-by-day and week-by-week basis.

Unfortunately for them, Celebration guests booked their Juneau stays months — if not years — ago. Those guests have priority.

Since they’re losing their hotel rooms and rental cars, some lawmakers have proposed pulling up stakes and heading to Anchorage to finish their work.

We believe that work should be finished here, in the capital city.

There are more reasons than our own selfish desire to avoid “capitol creep.” The Anchorage Legislative Information Office has been the subject of extensive lawsuits and backbiting. It seems silly to work in a place that so many Alaskans disapprove of.

It would take days to tear down operations in Juneau and set them up again in Anchorage. We suspect it would take longer to make the move than it would take Celebration guests to leave. By the time the transfer could happen, the scheduling snafu would be over.

We still believe that the end result is more important than how quickly it comes. If lawmakers need to take four or five days off to accommodate Celebration, let them.

It’s still possible that a final end to this interminable Legislative session could come before Celebration begins, but if that doesn’t happen, Alaska’s lawmakers should stay in the capital and finish the work they’ve begun.

— Juneau Empire,

June 5, 2016

More in Opinion

Rep. Ben Carpenter, R-Nikiski, speaks about teacher bonuses during consideration a bill increasing state funds for public education in the Alaska House of Representatives on Thursday, Feb. 22, 2024, in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Supporting better outcomes in education

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, listens to testimony during a Senate Community and Regional Affairs Committee hearing on Thursday, Feb. 22, 2024, in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Managing Cook Inlet basin for the benefit of all

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Rep. Justin Ruffridge, R-Soldotna, speaks Monday, May 8, 2023, on the floor of the Alaska House. (Photo by James Brooks/Alaska Beacon)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Time is growing short

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sarah Vance (Photo provided)
Point of View: A moment of agony for Sarah Vance, and for Homer

The emotions driving Sarah Vance to the brink of tears during her agonizing silence in front of the Legislature suggested a battle of ideas

The Alaska State Capitol. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: Millions needed for Alaska’s child care sector

Without public investment, Alaska will continue to witness an inadequate and diminishing supply of child care services

Rep. Ben Carpenter, R-Nikiski, speaks about teacher bonuses during consideration a bill increasing state funds for public education in the Alaska House of Representatives on Thursday, Feb. 22, 2024, in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Time to disrupt our legislative process

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, presents information on a bill establishing a voluntary buyback program for Cook Inlet’s east side setnet fishery on Monday, Feb. 19, 2024, in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Fishing, energy move into spotlight

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Rep. Justin Ruffridge, R-Soldotna, speaks in support of debating an omnibus education bill in the Alaska House Chambers on Monday, Feb. 19, 2024 in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Finding common ground on education

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, speaks to attendees at a town hall event on Monday, Nov. 20, 2023, in Nikiski, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Taking action for workers, supporting kids

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Most Read