Bunches of fresh greens are displayed at the first Farmers Fresh Market of the season on Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at the Kenai Peninsula Food Bank near Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Victoria Petersen/Peninsula Clarion)

Bunches of fresh greens are displayed at the first Farmers Fresh Market of the season on Tuesday, June 11, 2019 at the Kenai Peninsula Food Bank near Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Victoria Petersen/Peninsula Clarion)

Voices of the Peninsula: Support farmers markets for better food, stronger communities

Thank you for your supporting Alaska’s farmers markets and growers at the Soldotna Wednesday Market.

  • Annette Villa Soldotna Wednesday Market
  • Tuesday, September 10, 2019 10:59pm
  • Opinion

The Soldotna Wednesday Market with Alaska Farmers Market Association’s mission is to develop and promote Alaska’s agricultural, horticultural, and cottage industries, providing quality produce and products to the public. The mission of the Alaska Farmers Market Association is to support and promote vibrant and sustainable farmers markets throughout Alaska.

Farmers markets have experienced a renaissance throughout the nation, and have begun to spring up all over Alaska. While our short growing season and cold climate offers many challenges to our farmers, farmers markets are thriving across Alaska. In 2005, the Division of Agriculture listed 13 markets throughout the state. In 2014, that number grew to 37, and in 2017, there were 41 — with more markets in planning stages. Farmers markets are good for farmers and good for the communities they serve.

Farmers markets provide a place where farmers can reconnect with consumers directly and capture retail dollars for their fresh, high-quality products. Farmers markets are family-friendly, community-building events that bring neighbors together, attract retail activity to surrounding businesses, create forums for civic education and involvement and provide direct access to Alaska’s agricultural bounty.

The Alaska Farmers Market Association with parent organization Cook Inletkeeper received a 2017 USDA FMPP Grant to promote connectivity and collaboration amongst Alaska’s farmers markets. The Soldotna Wednesday Market has received $1,150 from that grant to support our local market. With this funding our market invested in advertising in the newspaper.

The Soldotna Wednesday Market looks forward to working together with the Alaska Farmers Market Association and the other markets around the state to grow and improve our local farmers markets. As a vibrant and integral piece of our local community and its economy, the Soldotna Wednesday Market looks to be a consistent voice at the council in support of farmers, cottage food producers and local crafters.

Thank you for your supporting Alaska’s farmers markets and growers at the Soldotna Wednesday Market.

Why is it important to support our local farmers markets?

You create a sense of community through buying locally and cooking and eating locally grown food with friends and family.

You build a healthier lifestyle by buying, cooking and eating real food, rather than eating processed, commercially prepared foods.

You create stronger social structures by cooking and eating with family and friends.

You are promoting and protecting Alaska agriculture for our future.

You are protecting Alaska’s precious agricultural lands from development.

Why is it important to buy local food?

The produce tastes better because of our cool climate! Our cool nights make the vegetables sweeter and more delicious than anything grown in hotter climates.

The produce tastes better because it’s fresher! With vegetables grown just a few miles away, harvests can be much more recent than for produce shipped from Outside.

Your produce will stay fresh much longer after you buy it, because it is so fresh to begin with.

The transportation costs of buying local food are much lower than buying produce that has been shipped from the Lower 48. You’re conserving all kinds of energy by buying local food!

You’re supporting local farmers and ensuring that farming and local food production will remain viable in Alaska.

— Annette Villa, Soldotna Wednesday Market

More in Opinion

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

Homer Foundation
Point of View: Nonprofits provide essential services not provided by cities

By our count, nonprofits provide more than 100 jobs to our communities

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce campaigns for governor as he walks in the 65th annual Soldotna Progress Days Parade on Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Soldotna, Alaska. Pierce resigned as borough mayor effective Sept. 30, 2022, to focus on his gubernatorial campaign. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: ‘It has been an honor to serve’

Borough mayor gives send-off ahead of departure

Gov. Mike Dunleavy announces Friday, July 15, 2022, that 2022 most PFD payments will be distributed on Sept. 20, 2022. (Screenshot)
Opinion: A historic PFD still leaves work to be done

It is important to remember the dividend is not, and has never been, a welfare payment