In this Aug. 25, 2017, file photo, provided by NOAA Fisheries, a newborn beluga whale calf sticks its head out of the water in upper Cook Inlet, Alaska. (NOAA Fisheries via AP, File)

In this Aug. 25, 2017, file photo, provided by NOAA Fisheries, a newborn beluga whale calf sticks its head out of the water in upper Cook Inlet, Alaska. (NOAA Fisheries via AP, File)

Voices of the Peninsula: Cook Inlet’s pollution double standard

If fishermen can’t flush a head in Cook Inlet, why should Hilcorp be allowed to dump toxic waste?

  • Bob Shavelson, Cook Inletkeeper
  • Monday, September 21, 2020 9:47pm
  • Opinion

As the fishing season hit its stride this summer, Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Jason Brune sent a letter to commercial fishermen about the hazards of dumping raw sewage close to shore.

And while sewage management — especially on smaller boats — can be a challenge, Mr. Brune was right. It’s illegal to dump raw sewage within 3 miles of the coast because it’s unsafe, it’s unhealthy and no one wants raw sewage floating through their nets or in the waters where we’re fishing and playing.

Mr. Brune’s message rests on a premise ingrained in the Alaska Constitution, and one which dates back to ancient Roman times. It’s called the Public Trust Doctrine, and it holds that the State of Alaska has a fiduciary duty — a trust responsibility — to manage our publicly owned fish and water resources in the best interests of current and future Alaskans.

Alaska has a remarkably smart and nimble constitution, because as it was the 49th state, our constitutional framers had the advantage of scouring all the other states’ constitutions and selecting the best provisions. And the embrace of the Public Trust Doctrine in Article VIII in Alaska’s constitution is one of the most prescient and resilient provisions to protect fish and water resources found anywhere in the world.

But like any law or rule, it must be enforced to do any good.

The state’s responsibility for our fish and water resources takes on added urgency today because Hilcorp and other corporations have applied for a new Clean Water Act permit that would increase toxic oil and gas dumping in Cook Inlet. The technology exists to reinject these toxic waste streams, and to keep them out of our salmon, cod and halibut fisheries. But it’s cheaper for Hilcorp and other companies to dump their wastes into our public waters so they can reap higher profits.

Congress passed the Clean Water Act in 1972 with a simple and compelling goal: to stop the discharge of pollution to the nation’s waters. To achieve this ambitious outcome, Congress established permits that would expire every five years, with the assumption technology would improve over the years and each successive permit would be more stringent than the last, until over time pollution would be eliminated.

But Congress did not anticipate the swarm of corporate lawyers who would hijack the pollution rules. And like all good lawyers, they devised a loophole to allow their corporate clients to increase profits by avoiding the true costs of doing business.

So, instead of measuring compliance with the law at the end of the discharge pipe as Congress intended, the lawyers invented a new legal fiction called a “mixing zone,” which allows polluters to measure compliance after their wastes have mixed and assimilated into the waters where they are dumped. In other words, mixing zones embrace the long-discounted notion that dilution is the solution to pollution, and they are a prime reason why oil companies in Cook Inlet can pollute our public waters and fisheries with impunity.

Now, under the proposed permit, Hilcorp’s mixing zone would expand by more than 800% compared to the current permit, and span almost 3 miles from where a discharge pipe spews billions of gallons of toxic waste each year — including more than 150,000 gallons of oil and grease and over 1.3 million pounds of toxic heavy metals.

Imagine if a commercial fisherman or a recreational boater tried to get away with that.

The oil companies of course like to say there’s no proof their toxic dumping is causing harm. But there’s only one problem: they’re not looking. Sure, they collect a few samples here and there. But they refuse to spend the money needed to understand the long-term impacts their chronic pollution has on our public fish and water resources.

Mr. Brune and others like to say heavy industry and natural resource protection can coexist. And in some cases, with proper safeguards, they can. But in Cook Inlet, we’ve watched crab, shrimp, herring and clam populations disappear, our salmon fisheries are struggling and the endangered Cook Inlet beluga whale continues its descent toward extinction. Not surprisingly, these declines have accompanied the rise of oil and gas operations in Cook Inlet.

Today, as our air and water temperatures continue to warm, the stresses to the natural systems that drive our local jobs and economies will only increase. That’s why it’s time for ADEC and the Dunleavy administration to take their responsibility to Alaskans seriously, and to stop toxic oil and gas dumping in Cook Inlet.

Because if fishermen can’t flush a head in our coastal waters, the oil companies in Cook Inlet shouldn’t be allowed to dump billions of gallons of toxic waste into our fisheries either.

Bob Shavelson is the advocacy director for Cook Inletkeeper, a public interest company formed by Alaskans in 1995 to protect the Cook Inlet watershed and the life it sustains.


• By Bob Shavelson


More in Opinion

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

Homer Foundation
Point of View: Nonprofits provide essential services not provided by cities

By our count, nonprofits provide more than 100 jobs to our communities

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce campaigns for governor as he walks in the 65th annual Soldotna Progress Days Parade on Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Soldotna, Alaska. Pierce resigned as borough mayor effective Sept. 30, 2022, to focus on his gubernatorial campaign. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: ‘It has been an honor to serve’

Borough mayor gives send-off ahead of departure

Gov. Mike Dunleavy announces Friday, July 15, 2022, that 2022 most PFD payments will be distributed on Sept. 20, 2022. (Screenshot)
Opinion: A historic PFD still leaves work to be done

It is important to remember the dividend is not, and has never been, a welfare payment