The official ballot for the Aug. 16, 2022, Special General Election features ranked choice voting. (State of Alaska Division of Elections)

The official ballot for the Aug. 16, 2022, Special General Election features ranked choice voting. (State of Alaska Division of Elections)

Voices of the Peninsula: Check out the ballot before you vote

This kind of ballot is not something you have seen before.

  • By Alex Koplin
  • Monday, August 8, 2022 11:04pm
  • Opinion

By Alex Koplin

This week’s Kenai Peninsula Voter tidbit is encouraging everyone who is voting to do a couple of things.

First, look at a sample ballot before you go to the polls on Aug. 16. Early voting has already started at Soldotna Prep School, Monday-Friday from 9 a.m.-4 p.m. And again we strongly recommend that you look at a sample ballot before you vote.

This kind of ballot is not something you have seen before. On one side of the ballot is the pick one open primary. On this side, you will fill in your oval for one candidate for each race. The top four vote-getters for each race will go on to the Nov. 8 election.

On the other side of the ballot is the ranked choice voting for U.S. House of Representatives. This election will determine who will finish out Don Young’s seat until the November election.

You can find a sample ballot by going to the Alaska Division of Elections website at myvoterinformation.alaska.gov and find the district where you will be voting in as well as your polling station. Knowing ahead of time what your ballot looks like is beneficial for all voters.

Did you know around 80% of registered voters in Alaska don’t vote in primaries? Kenai Peninsula Votes believes that each vote is important, so if you took the time to vote in this primary you should celebrate that fact.

If you have questions about this election, you can visit the Alaska Division of Elections website www.elections.alaska.gov or call them at 907-465-4611. You can also contact us via email at kenaipeninsulavotes@gmail.com.

For Democracy to be more effective, we need greater participation; by voting, you are saying, “My voice and my vote are vital for a healthy community.”

Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes.

More in Opinion

Peter Zuyus
What about Alaska’s seniors in the 2022 governor race?

When 130,000 seniors speak, candidates will listen.

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

Homer Foundation
Point of View: Nonprofits provide essential services not provided by cities

By our count, nonprofits provide more than 100 jobs to our communities

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce campaigns for governor as he walks in the 65th annual Soldotna Progress Days Parade on Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Soldotna, Alaska. Pierce resigned as borough mayor effective Sept. 30, 2022, to focus on his gubernatorial campaign. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: ‘It has been an honor to serve’

Borough mayor gives send-off ahead of departure