Students and teachers gather with pinwheels in hand in front of snow painted blue at The Study in Soldotna, Alaska, as they commemorate Go Blue Day on Friday, March 31, 2023, to kick off Child Abuse Prevention Month. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)

Students and teachers gather with pinwheels in hand in front of snow painted blue at The Study in Soldotna, Alaska, as they commemorate Go Blue Day on Friday, March 31, 2023, to kick off Child Abuse Prevention Month. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)

Voices of the Peninsula: Building a positive path forward for Alaska’s kids

Many of Alaska’s children do not have those positive experiences surrounding them

  • By Abby Struffert
  • Saturday, April 1, 2023 12:56am
  • Opinion

When I asked my 7-year-old to write about a moment when she felt safe and allowed to be her true self, she responded with this:

“When I was with my mom, and my dad, and my dogs. They make me feel safe. I feel safe because they bark at people I do not know.”

Like hers, yours probably wasn’t a major event or moment, but it left a mark on your life. These positive experiences often seem small, but they can mean a lot to kids and are often remembered years, or even decades, later. These moments are so foundational that they even combat the negative effects of adversity and toxic stress kids face.

Most of Alaska’s kids grow up with the positive experiences they need to thrive — the strong, stable relationships with adults; the safe environments for living and learning; the opportunities for them to engage in their community and to have unstructured play with other kids.

Unfortunately, though, many of Alaska’s children do not have those positive experiences surrounding them. More than 17% of adults in our state say they experienced four or more potentially traumatic experiences growing up. Alaska has one of the highest rates of child abuse and neglect, per capita, in the nation.

These high rates tell us that we need to be consistently working to build a brighter future for Alaska’s children, youth and families.

Given these statistics, it’s time for a change in the narrative for kids in our state. During Child Abuse Prevention Month this April, let’s shift the focus away from abuse and instead refocus on how we can build strong supports, resources and tools that allow our children to grow up in safe and healthy families and communities.

By working hard to promote positive childhood experiences, we can combat the negative physical and mental health impacts that adverse childhood experiences (ACEs) can have on kids throughout their lives.

Research shows that when children are exposed to more positive experiences, they tend to have better mental health as adults, even if they also experienced a lot of childhood trauma. In fact, new research shows that the absence of positive experiences during childhood can be more damaging to a child’s future mental and physical health than the presence of ACEs, those adverse (negative) childhood experiences.

There’s no one definition of a positive childhood experience. They look different for every culture, community, family and child. But one thing we have in common across our state is that countless organizations, community groups and individuals are laying the groundwork to create positive childhood experiences for all our children, and every Alaskan has a part to play.

On the central Kenai Peninsula, we have a local work group that is focused on upstream prevention and family support, called, Southcentral Alliance for Family Resilience “SAFR.” This Alliance was developed by a longstanding coalition in our community, Change 4 the Kenai.

SAFR was created with on major focus: prioritizing the prevention of ACEs and creating and cultivating more positive experiences in our community, within our schools, and inside our homes.

This group meets monthly and consists of several agencies, stakeholders, partners and volunteers that care about the mission. Every single person has a role in this; do your part and get involved.

Reach out to Abby Struffert, southcentralconsultingak@gmail.com, to get connected to SAFR.

More in Opinion

A roll of “I voted” stickers sit at the Alaska Division of Elections office in Juneau in 2022. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Strengthening democracy: Native vote partners to boost voter registration

GOTNV and VPC are partnering to send over 4,000 voter registration applications this month to addresses and P.O. boxes all over Alaska

Priya Helweg is the acting regional director and executive officer for the Region 10 Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (Photo courtesy U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
Happy Pride Month

This month is dedicated to acknowledging and uplifting the voices and experiences of the LGBTQI+ community

Hiroko Masuike/The New York Times
Former President Donald Trump arrives at Trump Tower after he was found guilty of all counts in his criminal trial in New York on May 30.
Opinion: Trump’s new fixers

Fixers from Alaska and elsewhere step in after guilty verdict

Ballot booths are set up inside Kenai City Hall on Thursday, Sept. 29, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Perspective from an election worker

Here is what I know about our Kenai Peninsula Borough election system

Apayauq Reitan, the first transgender woman to participate in the Iditarod, tells the House Education Committee on March 30, 2023, why she opposes a bill restricting transgender rights. (Mark Sabbatini/Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The imaginary transgender sports crisis

House Bill 183 is a right-wing solution to a problem that doesn’t exist now and never will.

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Session ends with budget, dividend and bills passed

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

The Alaska State Capitol. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Listen to PAs; support Senate Bill 115: Modernizing PA Practice in Alaska

Health care is rapidly evolving, demanding a more flexible and responsive system

Mount Redoubt can be seen across Cook Inlet from North Kenai Beach on Thursday, July 2, 2022. (Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion file photo)
Opinion: Hilcorp Alaska: Powering Southcentral Alaska — past, present and future

Hilcorp Alaska has and will continue to fully develop our Cook Inlet basin leasehold

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024 (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Collegiality matters

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Juneau Empire file photo
Larry Persily.
Opinion: Alaska might as well embrace the past

The governor, legislators, municipal officials and business leaders are worried that the Railbelt will run short of natural gas before the end of the decade

The Alaska State Capitol on March 1. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Physicians oppose Alaska Senate Bill 115 — Independent Practice for PAs

Alaskans don’t want access to just any health care, they want access to high quality care