Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Alaska Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019, in Juneau, Alaska. (Juneau Empire file photo)

Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Alaska Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019, in Juneau, Alaska. (Juneau Empire file photo)

Opinion: Time is now to resolve Alaska’s great contradictions

Now more than ever, we must take control of our destiny that is envisioned in our state motto of “North to the Future.”

  • By Gov. Mike Dunleavy
  • Wednesday, March 30, 2022 11:02pm
  • Opinion

By Gov. Mike Dunleavy

Our great state is also a land of great contradictions.

Some of those are quirky, like having the farthest points both east and west in the United States.

More than twice as big as Texas, we are the largest state by far, but only Vermont and Wyoming have smaller populations. We have more caribou than we do people.

Some of our contradictions are more serious.

We have the largest reserves of natural gas and renewable energy potential in the United States, yet we have the second-highest energy costs in the nation.

We have the largest amount of undiscovered conventional oil resources among any state in the U.S., but we rank just fourth in production.

The Tongass National Forest is the largest in the nation, yet our timber industry is smaller than Rhode Island’s.

We can send rockets into outer space at Kodiak, yet we lack the ability to produce enough food to feed ourselves.

Although we have more land than any other state, less than 1 percent is in private hands and our state government policies make increasing this amount difficult to impossible.

We have the highest inflation in 40 years and are collecting a windfall surplus of more than $3 billion from skyrocketing oil prices, yet we have some in the Legislature who are in no hurry to share this windfall with the people of Alaska.

We have the worst education outcomes in the country, yet we have some in the Legislature who are reluctant to pass a bill to improve our reading proficiency.

Some of our contradictions as a state are features of geography, but the most serious ones are a result of policies at the state and federal level.

The greatest contradiction of all is that we remain at the mercy of others and forces beyond our control even though we have everything we need to feed ourselves, to power our economy with cheap energy, and to be a reliable source of resources for our fellow Americans and our allies around the world.

Now more than ever, we must take control of our destiny that is envisioned in our state motto of “North to the Future.”

As I said in my State of the State address on Jan. 25, “make no mistake, at some future date, there will be another disruption to our supply chain.”

That date arrived when Russia invaded Ukraine a month later on Feb. 24.

Oil prices that had already been climbing at a historic rate spiked to $130 per barrel.

Spot markets for natural gas in Asia soared from $6 per unit in March 2021 to $51 a year later.

The London Metal Exchange halted nickel trading for the first time since 1985.

The global food supply is in jeopardy as Russia and Ukraine collectively produce a third of the world’s wheat and barley exports, along with corn and sunflower oil that is used in food processing and cooking oil.

Fertilizer prices are also rising as Russia produces 13 percent of the world supply.

In short, the basic needs of civilization — food and energy — are at risk.

We can do little in Alaska to stop this war, but we are well-positioned to enact policies to protect ourselves, our nation, and our allies from these global supply disruptions.

Legislators have the bills before them to provide relief to Alaskans who are being hurt by crippling inflation, to lower and stabilize our cost of energy, to secure our food supply, to improve our reading outcomes, and to build up critical infrastructure.

We have no time to waste. The need to act is now.

Recognizing the urgency of becoming self-sufficient while doing nothing about it is a contradiction we can no longer afford.

Mike Dunleavy is the 12th governor of Alaska.

More in Opinion

Peter Zuyus
What about Alaska’s seniors in the 2022 governor race?

When 130,000 seniors speak, candidates will listen.

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

Homer Foundation
Point of View: Nonprofits provide essential services not provided by cities

By our count, nonprofits provide more than 100 jobs to our communities

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce campaigns for governor as he walks in the 65th annual Soldotna Progress Days Parade on Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Soldotna, Alaska. Pierce resigned as borough mayor effective Sept. 30, 2022, to focus on his gubernatorial campaign. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: ‘It has been an honor to serve’

Borough mayor gives send-off ahead of departure