Sen. Scott Kawasaki, D-Fairbanks, gathers with other senators and families as they prepare for the opening of the Alaska’s 31st Legislative Session on Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Sen. Scott Kawasaki, D-Fairbanks, gathers with other senators and families as they prepare for the opening of the Alaska’s 31st Legislative Session on Tuesday, Jan. 15, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Opinion: Help Alaskan grandparents be with their grandkids!

As Alaskans struggle to fully recover from COVID, now is not the time to take more resources from our elders

  • Sen. Scott Kawasaki
  • Friday, February 2, 2024 7:41am
  • Opinion

The pioneering seniors of Alaska truly make this state a great place to live. For me, as a young lawmaker, it has been significant to speak with the people who lived here during transition of our territorial government; built the roads, rails and runways across our vast state; and created the small businesses that are now anchors of the community. Their legacy lives on in the halls of Juneau today.

Six years ago, I introduced HB236, to extend the Senior Benefits Program in Alaska and I am proud to carry legislation to extend the Senior Benefits Program to 2032. The current program is the successor to the Longevity Bonus, which was established in 1972 to help those pioneering seniors who helped build the state but didn’t need the added care of the Pioneers Home or assisted living. Today, we have a existing and robust structure to help assist the roles grandparents play with their grandchildren, instead of having them move south like migrating geese.

As a Finance Committee member in the House of Representatives, I took part in the statewide listening tour for seniors, caregivers, family and lawmakers. We heard from hundreds of Alaskans who passionately believe the Senior Benefits Program is vital to preserving their way of life. I firmly believe that an Alaskan who has served their community all their life deserves to maintain a good quality of life without having to sacrifice their home or health. That is what the Senior Benefits Program does, and without action, it will end this summer.

Currently, the Senior Benefits Program assists over 10,000 low-income seniors by providing modest monthly cash assistance, based on the Federal Poverty Guidelines for Alaska. As we heard from Alaskans statewide, recipients use the $76, $175 or $250 monthly payments to help pay for essential items necessary for maintaining healthy lifestyles, such as groceries, medication, transportation, rent and utilities.

During previous testimony, Senior Benefits recipients and their advocates across the state outlined how seniors and elders often are forced to cut expenses and live without services just to survive. I heard moving testimony from seniors about the stress of living on fixed incomes and how the small amount of money they are qualified to receive through the Senior Benefits Program can make the difference between a balanced meal and settling for canned food.

The Senior Benefits Program serves the pioneers who built Alaska. In part, through their efforts, we live in the richest state in the union. I firmly believe we can afford to provide a little assistance in buying household necessities. The elders and seniors who use the Senior Benefits Program are the ones who cared for us, and it’s our turn to care for them. The most un-Alaskan thing I can imagine is letting the Senior Benefits Program lapse because of political infighting or partisanship.

I fear that the ongoing fiscal crisis in Alaska might be used as an excuse to eliminate the program. As Alaskans struggle to fully recover from COVID, now is not the time to take more resources from our elders.

We have a great history and legacy of protecting our seniors in Alaska. The Senior Benefits Program is a small part of the state budget, but the program provides a big benefit to the lowest-income seniors who need assistance to help make ends meet. I plan to work closely with my colleagues in the Legislature to protect our low-income seniors. Please help me convince every member of the Legislature to extend Senior Benefits by passing Senate Bill immediately.

Sen. Scott Kawasaki represents Senate District P in the Alaska Senate in Fairbanks, consisting of Fort Wainwright, Badger, and Fairbanks.

More in Opinion

Rep. Justin Ruffridge, a Soldotna Republican who co-chairs the House Education Committee, speaks during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Creating a road map to our shared future

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

An array of solar panels stand in the sunlight at Whistle Hill in Soldotna, Alaska, on Sunday, April 7, 2024. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
Renewable Energy Fund: Key to Alaska’s clean economy transition

AEA will continue to strive to deliver affordable, reliable, and sustainable energy to provide a brighter future for all Alaskans.

Mount Redoubt can be seen acoss Cook Inlet from North Kenai Beach on Thursday, July 2, 2022. (Photo by Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: An open letter to the HEA board of directors

Renewable energy is a viable option for Alaska

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, speaks in opposition to an executive order that would abolish the Board of Certified Direct-Entry Midwives during a joint legislative session on Tuesday, March 12, 2024 in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Making progress, passing bills

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Priya Helweg is the deputy regional director and executive officer for the Office of the Regional Director (ORD), Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services, Region 10. (Image via hhs.gov)
Opinion: Taking action on the maternal health crisis

The United States has the highest maternal mortality rate among high-income countries

Heidi Hedberg. (Photo courtesy of the Alaska Department of Health)
Opinion: Alaska’s public assistance division is on course to serve Alaskans in need more efficiently than ever

We are now able to provide in-person service at our offices in Bethel, Juneau, Kodiak, Kenai, Homer and Wasilla

Sara Hondel (Courtesy photo)
Opinion: Alaskan advocate shines light on Alzheimer’s crisis

In the heart of the nation’s capital next week, volunteers will champion the urgent need for legislative action to support those affected by Alzheimer’s

Rep. Ben Carpenter, a Nikiski Republican, speaks during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Clearing red tape on occupational licensing

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Most Read