Copies of the Alaska State Constitution were available outside the Lt. Governor’s office on Monday, Dec. 13, 2021. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)

Copies of the Alaska State Constitution were available outside the Lt. Governor’s office on Monday, Dec. 13, 2021. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)

Opinion: A constitutional convention is fraught with danger

Please follow the constitutional convention issue as it works its way through the political process.

  • By Bill Corbus
  • Monday, December 20, 2021 9:10pm
  • Opinion

By Bill Corbus

Alaskans will decide in the November 2022 general election if a constitutional convention will be held. This question is asked of voters every 10 years as required by the state constitution. Over recent decades, there has been little interest in holding one as Alaskans have consistently voted down the measure.

Now, some say circumstances are different. Today, as we gauge public sentiment there is reason to think the voters may vote for a constitutional convention. Many believe our state is heading in the wrong direction — falling employment and loss of high-paying jobs, dwindling state government revenues, inadequate funding for education, rising crime rates, crumbling infrastructure, etc. In short, folks are frustrated.

Keep in mind that a constitutional convention is not limited to one subject. Any subject or issue can be addressed. Some suggest am Alaska constitutional convention would provide the platform to right our ship; i.e., make changes that some believe will move Alaska forward. Here are just a few:

Education System — move the financial responsibility from the state to the local government and provide equal government financial support for private schools

Modifying our judicial system to change how state judges are selected and an elected attorney general

Voter approval of any changes in state taxes

Tinkering with hunting and fishing rights

Right-to-work changes thereby weakening the collective bargaining process

Modifying the Alaska Permanent Fund provisions to increase the payout to an unsustainable level to the detriment of future generations and devoting too large a portion of the payout for the dividend

Eliminate the Alaska Public Offices Commission

Right-to-life issues

Imposing gun control measures

Addressing gay marriage issues

And on and on. Finally, let us not forget that a constitutional convention could move the capital.

In my mind, the list of issues which may be considered and acted upon are unpredictable. Changes to the state constitution may not produce the expected results and unintended consequences may ultimately prevail.

Outside interests with their inexhaustible dark money purses may play a role. They may have interests contrary to those of most Alaskans. With recent rulings on political campaign contributions, dark money could influence the election of convention delegates and with a well-funded lobbying effort could effect changes to the Constitution.

Our Alaska Constitution, when compared to most other states, is held in high esteem. In the 1955 background research leading to development of our constitution much thought was given to the short comings of the other 48 state constitutions. It is considered a model and the looked up to by other states. Some say if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it.

So, please follow the constitutional convention issue as it works its way through the political process leading to the November 2022 election. A constitutional convention is fraught with danger for Juneau, Southeast and Alaska as a whole.

Bill Corbus, a Juneau resident, is a co-chair of Defend our Constitution and a former commissioner of revenue.

More in Opinion

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Most Read