In this June 23, 2016 photo, the Alaska Marine Highway’s ferry Matanuska passes Eagle Glacier. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

In this June 23, 2016 photo, the Alaska Marine Highway’s ferry Matanuska passes Eagle Glacier. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)

Alaska Voices: Work group continues effort to address Marine highway challenges

An update on what we have been doing, and where we are heading

  • Tom Barrett is chairman of the Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group
  • Tuesday, August 25, 2020 2:40pm
  • Opinion

As the marine highway workgroup strides into August, I want to provide an update on what we have been doing, and where we are heading. Our meetings have been streamed live on Facebook, and recordings are available online at http://dot.alaska.gov/comm/amh-reshaping-workgroup/ if you wish to hear our specific discussions.

In line with Gov. Mike Dunleavy’s Administrative Order No 313, we have reviewed the Northern Economic draft report of January 2020 as well as reports prepared for Southeast Conference. We heard from the experts who drafted the reports, current ferry system management, and union representatives. We received input from tribal representatives, coastal communities, residents, commercial operators and the Alaska Municipal League. We continue to seek direct input and expect to hear from the Marine Transportation Advisory Board, the Coast Guard, and Alaska shipyards. We invite and have received public comments during our meetings via email and will continue to do so. We will also focus one or more workgroup meetings to solicit direct public feedback in coming weeks. I appreciate the high level of public interest in our meetings and welcome people to tune in on future ones. Our workgroup conversations and questions are candid and robust.

We have heard and appreciate that the Alaska Marine Highway System has helped build businesses, lives, and communities in coastal Alaska. It connects communities to each other and to broader transportation systems. It provides enduring value to our state.

We have heard that reliable, predictable service that communities and businesses can plan around is a fundamental need. The current system design and operation does not meet that need. Moreover, there does not appear to be a scenario where the overall system could be operated at a profit by a commercial operator. Even with substantial changes, continuation of the AMHS will likely require some level of state subsidy. And that level must also accommodate overall state budget challenges.

The level of ferry service that is essential for ferry-served communities remains unclear in some cases. I appreciate it is difficult for anyone to admit that one could do with less, but that is a reality we confront. It is a hard call but a necessary one and a particular area we continue to seek input on. What service level can you live with if the service you receive is more reliable and predictable?

Fundamental changes to AMHS involving multiple stakeholders will be necessary for the system to sail confidently into the future. The work group’s concerns and recommendations are coalescing around system governance, budget and budget planning, essential service levels, fleet makeup, maintenance, cost structure, and business practices. But, in the end, it is the will to embrace fundamental change to the status quo that will determine the future of Alaska’s ferry system.

Most Alaskans can relate to the expression, “The easy day was yesterday.” That rings true for the Alaska Marine Highway System. However, with the will to work together to implement fundamental change, Alaska can have a more reliable marine highway system, operating at less cost and providing coastal communities transportation that helps support their fundamental economic, educational, social, health, and mobility goals.

As we work to shape our recommendations and complete our report, we welcome your continued input by email at DOT.AMH-Reshaping@alaska.gov.

Tom Barrett is chairman of the Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group. He previously led the Coast Guard’s Alaska operations and recently retired as the longest-serving president of the Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.


• Tom Barrett is chairman of the Alaska Marine Highway Reshaping Work Group


More in Opinion

An array of stickers awaits voters on Election Day 2022. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The case for keeping the parties from controlling our elections

Neither party is about to admit that the primary system they control serves the country poorly

Voters fill out their ballots at the Challenger Learning Center in Kenai, Alaska on Election Day, Nov. 8, 2022. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
Voter tidbit: Important information about voting in the upcoming elections

Mark your calendar now for these upcoming election dates!

Larry Persily (Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: State’s ‘what if’ lawsuit doesn’t much add up

The state’s latest legal endeavor came July 2 in a dubious lawsuit — with a few errors and omissions for poor measure

The entrance to the Homer Electric Association office is seen here in Kenai, Alaska, on May 7, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion file)
Opinion: Speak up on net metering program

The program allows members to install and use certain types of renewable generation to offset monthly electric usage and sell excess power to HEA

Gov. Mike Dunleavy signs bills for the state’s 2025 fiscal year budget during a private ceremony in Anchorage on Thursday, June 25, 2024. (Official photo from The Office of the Governor)
Alaska’s ‘say yes to everything’ governor is saying ‘no’ to a lot of things

For the governor’s purposes, “everything” can pretty much be defined as all industrial development

Alaska Permanent Fund Corp. board members, staff and advisors meet Oct. 30, 2023. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The concerns of reasonable Alaskans isn’t ‘noise’

During a legislative hearing on Monday, CEO Deven Mitchell referred to controversy it’s created as “noise.”

(Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: Crime pays a lot better than newspapers

I used to think that publishing a quality paper, full of accurate, informative and entertaining news would produce enough revenue to pay the bills

Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo
Lt. Gov. Nancy Dahlstrom addresses the crowd during an inaugural celebration for her and Gov. Mike Dunleavy at Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall on Jan. 20, 2023.
Opinion: The many truths Dahlstrom will deny

Real conservatives wouldn’t be trashing the rule of law

Gov. Mike Dunleavy discusses his veto of a wide-ranging education bill during a press conference March 16 at the Alaska State Capitol. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Governor, please pay more attention to Alaskans

Our governor has been a busy guy on big issues.

Priya Helweg is the acting regional director and executive officer for the Region 10 Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (Photo courtesy U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
Happy Pride Month

This month is dedicated to acknowledging and uplifting the voices and experiences of the LGBTQI+ community

A roll of “I voted” stickers sit at the Alaska Division of Elections office in Juneau in 2022. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Strengthening democracy: Native vote partners to boost voter registration

GOTNV and VPC are partnering to send over 4,000 voter registration applications this month to addresses and P.O. boxes all over Alaska

Hiroko Masuike/The New York Times
Former President Donald Trump arrives at Trump Tower after he was found guilty of all counts in his criminal trial in New York on May 30.
Opinion: Trump’s new fixers

Fixers from Alaska and elsewhere step in after guilty verdict