Dr. Tamika Ledbetter, commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, participates in a press conference in Anchorage, Alaska, on March 31, 2020. (Courtesy photo)

Dr. Tamika Ledbetter, commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development, participates in a press conference in Anchorage, Alaska, on March 31, 2020. (Courtesy photo)

Alaska Voices: State working to address Alaskans’ unemployment needs

As of the week ending March 21, the department processed 13,774 new claims.

  • Wednesday, April 1, 2020 11:24pm
  • Opinion

Federal and state legislation has expanded unemployment insurance benefits for Alaskans affected by the COVID-19 epidemic. Since the initial public health orders were announced, many impacted Alaskans have applied. As of the week ending March 21, the Department of Labor and Workforce Development processed 13,774 new claims for Unemployment Benefits — a significant increase in applications from the preceding week. Claims are substantially increasing each day.

Please be patient. Unemployment Insurance Program staff are working around the clock to meet demand. We have moved staff from other divisions in the department to help with the effort, and many retirees are reporting to duty to assist.

The best way to file is online. You will need to have your MyAlaska account information ready when you apply including password and login information. If you do not have access to a computer, please call one of the call centers, Anchorage 269-4700, Juneau 465-5552 or Fairbanks 451-2871, or outside of those areas 888-252-2557. Applications can be done over the phone. The phone lines can accommodate 250 callers at one time. When calls surpass that number, some have reported disconnections. Our IT team is working to address these issues. Additionally, the department is implementing a number of strategies to address the increased volume of workload and ability to assist every Alaskan.

Gov. Mike Dunleavy signed into law HB 308 with new provisions for unemployment insurance meant to expedite payments to Alaskans and to allow for flexibility. For instance, the one-week waiting period and the actively seeking employment requirement for those impacted by COVID-19 will be waived. The legislation also increases the per-dependent weekly benefit to $75 and makes payments retroactive to March 1. We have also implemented weekly vs. biweekly filing so that individuals can receive payment on a weekly basis.

Federal law now extends unemployment insurance benefits for the first time to the self-employed. This is a brand new program, and we are diligently working with the U.S. Department of Labor to address the requirements and system preparedness including; IT upgrades, training and staffing to accommodate the added workload. The federal legislation extends the eligibility period by 13 weeks and includes a weekly benefit payment of $600. Both the currently covered unemployment insurance recipients and the newly covered self-employed will be eligible for the $600 payment.

Please be advised that system changes to accommodate the newly eligible self-employed will take time. We are anticipating 4 to 6 weeks before system upgrades will be operational. My team will be reaching out to the public through all forms of media when the division is ready to process applications for the self-employed.

For updates on federal legislation and policies related to COVID-19, please refer to the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development website. Here you will find information for employers and employees, as well as U.S. Department of Labor advisories for the public.

I am encouraged by the cooperation and coordination at all levels of government to meet the challenges of this pandemic. Alaskans are resilient and I am confident that we will get through this difficult period. Thank you for everything that you are doing to help those most impacted.

Dr. Tamika Ledbetter is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.


• Dr. Tamika Ledbetter is commissioner of the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.


More in Opinion

Willy Dunne is a member of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. (Courtesy photo)
Vote by mail is safe, fiscally responsible

All registered borough voters would receive a ballot in the mail a few weeks ahead of election day.

It’s time for a real living wage

The federal minimum wage was last increased in 2009.

Alaska Voices: Oil taxes, what oil taxes?

Alaska needs a fair share from the sale of oil to economically recover and have a meaningful future.

Opinion: Finding the intrinsic beauty of sadness

Knowing sadness can be a healthy thing.

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)
Clarkson: Even during pandemic, there is help for domestic violence victims

As a community we have a responsibility to care for and seek to protect our most vulnerable.

Dave Reaves (courtesy photo)
Alaska Voices: The time to invest in Alaska is now

We call on Gov. Mike Dunleavy to help move job creating infrastructure projects forward.

The last strand of elodea on the Kenai Peninsula was found during a survey in May 2019. This fragment is brown and brittle, signs of dying from having been treated with herbicide since 2017. (Photo by Matt Bowser/Kenai National Wildlife Refuge).
Alaska Voices: Can Elodea be eradicated?

Infestations have been found on the Kenai Peninsula, around Cordova, and in the Fairbanks area.

COVID-19 harms children in seen and unseen ways

There has been an alarming decrease in all routine health care, including routine vaccinations.

Pay PFD now, make long-term fiscal plan for Alaska

The Ship of State, our government, has lost direction.

Commercial fishing boats are rafted together in May 2016 in the harbor in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Alaska Voices: Mandates crucial to safety of fishing fleets

As a vessel operator, you are responsible for your crew’s compliance with the mandate.

The entrance to the Kenai Police Department, as seen in Kenai, Alaska, on April 1, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
                                The front of the Kenai Police Department as seen on Dec. 10, 2019. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: In honor of the thin blue line

During this pandemic our police officers cannot stay home, socially distance, and work remotely.