Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Alaska Voices: Anticompetitive internet services threaten business community

Connecting with the rest of the world through the internet is essential to a functioning economy.

  • By Attorney General Kevin Clarkson
  • Saturday, September 14, 2019 10:58pm
  • Opinion

On Monday I joined attorneys general from around the country on the steps of the U.S. Supreme Court to announce Alaska’s participation in a multistate, bipartisan investigation of Google’s business practices. The attorneys general are assessing whether Google’s conduct violates federal and state antitrust laws. Fifty attorneys general representing 48 states, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico are participating in the investigation. Fifty attorneys general coming together in a bipartisan manner like this sends a strong message to Google.

As Alaskans, we occupy a unique and important place on the globe. Many people do not realize that Alaska is both the westernmost and easternmost state in the union — our Aleutian chain crosses the international dateline. We sit at the crossroads between North America and the Pacific Rim, making our products and services especially valuable worldwide. But our distance from major population centers presents challenges, too. Connecting with the rest of the world through the internet is essential to the functioning of our economy and to the well-being of our small businesses and fellow Alaskans.

Many of Alaska’s most vibrant small businesses depend on advertising a wide range of products and services on the internet — from the best seafood in the world to world class travel destinations. Our local newspapers, blogs, and online magazines similarly depend on internet advertising to sustain their operations. Allegations of unfair or illegal anticompetitive conduct that threatens to harm Alaskans’ ability to market their businesses requires thorough investigation, and if warranted, legal enforcement action.

In the case of Google, the states’ attorneys general are concerned that this single company’s apparent control of so much of the online advertising market, and the processes by which buyers and sellers of advertising connect to one another and set prices, presents the potential for illegal anticompetitive conduct. In a well-functioning free market, ad prices will be set by supply and demand, and innovation in technology will flourish. Our small businesses and consumers are the beneficiaries of that system because prices remain low while incentives to compete and innovate remain high.

Problems occur, however, when a single company, or a handful of companies, control a market to such an extent that prices can be artificially inflated and new competitors stopped before they can secure a foothold. Federal and Alaska’s antitrust laws are designed to prevent that from happening. Our antitrust laws do not tolerate the mind-set displayed by Howard Hughes who once said, “We don’t have a monopoly. Anyone who wants to dig a well without a Hughes bit can always use a pick and shovel.”

What sparked this investigation? In 2017 the European Union found that Google had, for many years, violated European antitrust law by rigging its general search results to favor its own comparison shopping service over rivals. The European Union found that Google painstakingly executed a strategy to increase its search-ad revenue by making it both possible and necessary for merchants to raise prices to consumers. Google makes money by selling ads placed next to its free search results. Google thus, the European Union found, created a list of rival comparison shopping sites that it would artificially lower in the general search results, despite the fact that most internet users preferred the comparison shopping sites. The European Union imposed a fine of about $2.7 billion on Google for its anticompetitive activity.

The states’ attorneys general are currently investigating the extent of Google’s dominance of the online advertising market, but that is not necessarily the only place our investigation will lead. Conduct related to internet searches as well as the collection and retention of personal data may later become additional subjects of the investigation.

We are blessed in Alaska with a dynamic and growing small-business community and with strong laws to protect our businesses’ ability to operate and compete on a level playing field. It is my intention to deploy the resources of the Alaska Department of Law, in conjunction with the attorneys general of nearly every other state, to ensure that the largest companies in the world do not use their dominance in a manner that harms Alaska’s businesses and consumers.

Kevin Clarkson is attorney general for the state of Alaska.


• By Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson


More in Opinion

A roll of “I voted” stickers sit at the Alaska Division of Elections office in Juneau in 2022. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Strengthening democracy: Native vote partners to boost voter registration

GOTNV and VPC are partnering to send over 4,000 voter registration applications this month to addresses and P.O. boxes all over Alaska

Priya Helweg is the acting regional director and executive officer for the Region 10 Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (Photo courtesy U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
Happy Pride Month

This month is dedicated to acknowledging and uplifting the voices and experiences of the LGBTQI+ community

Hiroko Masuike/The New York Times
Former President Donald Trump arrives at Trump Tower after he was found guilty of all counts in his criminal trial in New York on May 30.
Opinion: Trump’s new fixers

Fixers from Alaska and elsewhere step in after guilty verdict

Ballot booths are set up inside Kenai City Hall on Thursday, Sept. 29, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Perspective from an election worker

Here is what I know about our Kenai Peninsula Borough election system

Apayauq Reitan, the first transgender woman to participate in the Iditarod, tells the House Education Committee on March 30, 2023, why she opposes a bill restricting transgender rights. (Mark Sabbatini/Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The imaginary transgender sports crisis

House Bill 183 is a right-wing solution to a problem that doesn’t exist now and never will.

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Session ends with budget, dividend and bills passed

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

The Alaska State Capitol. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Listen to PAs; support Senate Bill 115: Modernizing PA Practice in Alaska

Health care is rapidly evolving, demanding a more flexible and responsive system

Mount Redoubt can be seen across Cook Inlet from North Kenai Beach on Thursday, July 2, 2022. (Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion file photo)
Opinion: Hilcorp Alaska: Powering Southcentral Alaska — past, present and future

Hilcorp Alaska has and will continue to fully develop our Cook Inlet basin leasehold

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024 (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Collegiality matters

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Juneau Empire file photo
Larry Persily.
Opinion: Alaska might as well embrace the past

The governor, legislators, municipal officials and business leaders are worried that the Railbelt will run short of natural gas before the end of the decade

The Alaska State Capitol on March 1. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Physicians oppose Alaska Senate Bill 115 — Independent Practice for PAs

Alaskans don’t want access to just any health care, they want access to high quality care