Todd Boonstra wins Oosik 25K; Kelli Boonstra 2nd

Todd Boonstra wins Oosik 25K; Kelli Boonstra 2nd

Todd Boonstra, who makes his primary residence in Ninilchik, won the 25-kilometer men’s Oosik Ski Classic on Saturday in Talkeetna.

Boonstra, 56, finished in 1 hour, 26 minutes, 48 seconds, while runner-up Benjamin Fischer, 16, of Anchorage, finished at 1:30:28.

Boonstra is a legend of the Mount Marathon Race in Seward, having won the race four times. Another MMR legend, Nancy Pease, 57, was able to beat out Boonstra’s wife, Kelli, 48, in the 25-kilometer women’s race. Pease, the six-time MMR champion, finished at 1:37:56, while Boonstra was second at 1:39:28. Also from the Kenai Peninsula, Homer’s Katia Holmes, 17, was seventh in 1:50:01 and Homer’s Alison O’Hara, 54, was 11th at 2:04:40.

Anchorage’s Hannah Rudd, 20, won the women’s 50K at 2:54:09, while Seward’s Hallie Bergwall, 23, was ninth at 3:56:20. The men’s 50K was won by Talkeetna’s Galen Johnston, 29, at 2:20:11. Cooper Landing’s Elijah Spray, 29, was the lone Peninsula finisher in that race, taking 56th at 6:19:33.

Oosik Ski Classic

Saturday in Talkeetna

Peninsula finishers


25 kilometers — 2. Kelli Boonstra, Ninilchik, 1 hour, 39 minutes, 28 seconds; 7. Katia Holmes, Homer, 1:50:01; 11. Alison O’Hara, Homer, 2:04:40; 48. Kathryn Schmidt, Homer, 2:45:05; 86. Ella Wright, Seward, 3:11:41; 116. Lara Griffin, Kenai, 3:28:10; 117. Tammy Vollom-Matturro, Kenai, 3:28:16; 120. Nicole Lawrence, Seward, 3:30:22; 121. Larissa Arbelovsky, Soldotna, 3:31:10; 128. Stephanie Greer, Homer, 3:34:01; 136. Sara Lane, Seward, 3:37:51; 150. Stephanie Wright, Seward, 3:47:08; 151. Kristie Cotroneo, Sterling, 3:47:10; 173. Christine Anderson, Homer, 4:01:18; 177. Laura Bush, Cooper Landing, 4:02:39; 178. Martha Story, Cooper Landing, 4:02:42; 193. Yvonne Leutwyler, Homer, 4:11:55; 202. Marly Perschbacher, Sterling, 4:17:58; 217. Kelly Ann Cavaretta, Seward, 4:25:48; 223. Marcelle Roemmich, Seward, 4:33:11; 245. Ahnie Litecky, Homer, 4:46:36; 257. Pam Borland, Homer, 4:57:34.

50 kilometers — 9. Hallie Bergwall, Seward, 3:56:20; 23. Kathleen Sorensen, Seward, 5:55:00.


25 kilometers — 1. Tood Boonstra, Ninilchik, 1:26:48; 30. Trevor Davis, Soldotna, 2:13:04; 63. Connoe Smith, Homer, 2:37:27; 108. Clark Fair, Homer, 3:14:59; 130. Ryan Ek, Seward, 3:26:46; 132. Forrest Greer, Homer, 3:29:30; 143. Carleton Lane, Seward, 3:37:50; 150. Dan Balmer, Sterling, 3:47:13; 160. Dan Conetta, Kenai, 4:00:06; 161. Evan Blankenship, Homer, 4:00:27; 162. Deland Anderson, Homer, 4:00:33; 164. David Story, Cooper Landing, 4:02:04; 175. Jeff Perschbacher, Sterling, 4:17:47; 184. Matthew Cope, Seward, 4:27:25; 194. Stephen Ford, Kenai, 4:37:57; 199. Derek Bynagle, Fritz Creek, 4:44:39; 212. Ricky Borland, Homer, 4:57:31; 232. Kenny Daher, Fritz Creek, 5:18:58.

50 kilometers — 56. Elijah Spray, Cooper Landing, 6:19:33.

More in Sports

NLC softball: Kodiak wins title; Kenai earns 1st state berth

The Kodiak softball team defeated Kenai Central 18-3 in three innings Saturday… Continue reading

Southcentral Conference baseball: Kodiak tops Palmer for title; Kenai defeats SoHi for 3rd

The Kodiak baseball team won the Southcentral Conference title with a 14-4… Continue reading

Southcentral Conference baseball: Kodiak, Palmer to play for title

Top seed Kodiak and No. 3 seed Palmer won twice Friday to… Continue reading

NLC softball: Kodiak clinches spot in final, awaits Homer-Kenai winner

In Friday play at the Northern Lights Conference softball tournament in Homer,… Continue reading

It’s Kenai girls vs. SoHi; SoHi boys vs. Juneau for Division II state soccer titles

The Kenai Central and Soldotna girls will play for the Division II… Continue reading

Kenai, Kodiak softball move to NLC semifinal

The Kenai Central and Kodiak softball teams reached the semifinal at the… Continue reading

Kenai, SoHi girls soccer; SoHi boys move to Division II semifinals

The Kenai Central and Soldotna girls and Soldotna boys advanced to the… Continue reading

Most Read