Nikiski’s Lillian Carstens drives to the rim by South’s Paige Noble Saturday at the Rus Hitchcock Nikiski Tip Off tournament. (Photo by Joey Klecka/Peninsula Clarion)

Nikiski’s Lillian Carstens drives to the rim by South’s Paige Noble Saturday at the Rus Hitchcock Nikiski Tip Off tournament. (Photo by Joey Klecka/Peninsula Clarion)

All-state basketball teams announced

The Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches announced all-state teams Wednesday.

In balloting from across the state, Seward’s Al Plan was named the Class 3A boys coach of the year. First-team honors went to Nikiski’s Lillian Carstens at Class 3A girls, and Nikolaevsk’s Elizabeth Fefelov and Markiana Yakunin at Class 1A girls.

The Soldotna basketball programs put two on the second team at the Class 4A level. Jersey Truesdell made the second team for the boys, while Ituau Tuisaula made the second team for the girls.

Also making the second team were Nikolaevsk’s Lukah Kalugin for Class 1A boys and Nikolaevsk’s Sophia Klaich for Class 1A girls.

Third-teamers were Seward’s Connor Spanos for Class 3A boys and Ninilchik’s Ben Botero for Class 1A boys.

Wasilla Lithia Dodge/Alaska Association of Basketball Coaches

All-State Teams

4A Boys

Player of the Year: Patrick McMahon, Colony

Coach of the Year: Colton Growden, West Valley

First team: Patrick McMahon, Colony; Hassan Harrington, East; Chris Lee, Ketchikan; Isaiah Moses, Dimond; Colton Spencer, Colony.

Second team: Dylan Erhart, West Valley; Reece Ivanoff, South; Brayden Maldonado, East; Terrell Peter, West Valley; Jersey Truesdell, Soldotna.

Third team: Luke Devine, Wasilla; Bryson Echiverri, Thunder Mountain; Jeremiah Hersrud, Colony; Cooper Kriegmont, Juneau; Bishop Tosi, Bartlett.

4A Girls

Player of the Year: Chasity Horn, Chugiak

Coach of the Year: Charlie Engel, West

First team: Chasity Horn, Chugiak; Kendyl Carson, Juneau; Bella Hays, Wasilla; Ella Roberts, Lathrop; Ameila Uhila, Bartlett.

Second team: Indiya Clarke, Colony; Ah’KayZee Galloway-Davis, West; Angelline Nageak, Dimond; TT Tagovailoa, Lathrop; Ituau Tuisaula, Soldotna.

Third team: Sheridan Blasey, West Valley; Mikayla Johnson, Eagle River; Jazlynn Novelli, Wasilla; Tori Schwantes, Colony; Lily Weimann, South.

3A Boys

Player of the Year: Jalen Freeman, Valdez

Coach of the Year: Al Plan, Seward

First team: Jalen Freeman, Valdez; Malachi Bradley, Monroe; Brendon Matthews, Barrow; Quinn McHenry, Monroe; Jason Montes, Delta.

Second team: Andrew Beck, Grace; Christian Bolton, Eielson; Anthony Fruean, Barrow; Daekwon Houston, ACS; Kayden Lamebull, Grace.

Third team: Jamin Crow, Bethel; Deion Frank, Hutch; Nathan Ivanoff, Grace; Jace McCullough, Monroe; Connor Spanos, Seward.

3A Girls

Player of the Year: Destiny Reimers, Anchorage Christian

Coach of the Year: David Wightman, Galena

First team: Destiny Reimers, ACS; Lillian Carstens, Nikiski; Pearle Green, Galena; Mykaila Pickard, ACS; Sayvia Sellers, ACS.

Second team: Katie Best, Monroe; Tessa Binder, Grace; Jenilee Donovan, Barrow; Katelyn Kaleak, Barrow; Sunny Pedebone, ACS.

Third team: Tiffany Elefante, Sitka; Abbie Fuller, Redington; Adam Kaganak, Galena; Laveah Makisi, Kotzebue; Lisa Okboak, Nome.

2A Boys

Player of the Year: Christian Adams, Cordova

Coach of the Year: Teddy Frankson, Tikigaq

First team: Christian Adams, Cordova; Jalen Cannon, Tikigaq; Thomas Durkin, Petersburg; Kirby Faverty, Haines; Henry Kowunna, Tikigaq.

Second team: Elijah Casperson, Metlakatla; Mark Davis, Haines; Kaiden Graves, Cordova; Gabe Jones, Glennallen; Brayden Larson, Petersburg.

Third team: Jamison Fields, Glennallen; Mike Haugen, Unalakleet; Colton Hayward, Metlakatla; Devin Spears, Glennallen; Trevor Miller, Wrangell.

2A Girls

Player of the Year: Alexis Russell, Metlekatla

Coach of the Year: Lindsey Layland, Dillingham

First team: Alexis Russell, Metlekatla; Kaylin Easterly, Wrangell; Angela Lane, Tikigaq; Hailey Wilson, Unalaska; Jewel Wilson, Unalakleet.

Second team: Ashley Agwiak, Nenana; Kenna Grenier, Susitna Valley; Ines Larson, Petersburg; Mary Long, Hooper Bay; Kayla Vilamor, Unalaska.

Third team: Reagen Finkenbinder, Dillingham; Kallyn Haugen, Unalakleet; Rayna Peterson, Nenana; Kalli Simbahon, Petersburg; Abbey Whitcomb, Dillingham.

1A Boys

Player of the Year: Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref

Coach of the Year: Mark Gunkel, Thorne Bay

First team: Edward Kokeok, Shishmaref; Daniel Bennett, Lumen Christi; Jacob Congdon, Thorne Bay; Jesse Starnes, Sand Point; Seth Turenne, Minto.

Second team: Jaden Hadley, Noorvik; Lukah Kalugin, Nikolaevsk; Amos Sage, Noatak; Joel Swanberg, Birchwood Christian; Kenneth Walton, Noatak.

Third team: Jaren Black, Manokotak; Ben Botero, Ninilchik; Brendon Gregory, Lumen Christi; Benjamin Homekingkeo, Koyuk; Jaren Tinker, Aleknagik.

1A Girls

Player of the Year: Elaina Mack, King Cove

Coach of the Year: Gary Lamar, King Cove

First team: Elaina Mack, King Cove; Jalaya Duarte, King Cove; Elizabeth Fefelov, Nikolaevsk; Sonja Ningulook, Shishmaref; Markiana Yakunin, Nikolaevsk.

Second team: Sophia Klaich, Nikolaevsk; Haley Sielak, Alak; Tanya Marvin-Looney, Klawock; Johnna Nanalook, Newhalen; Sadie Newman, King Cove.

Third team: Lindsey Homberg, Sand Point; Tera Phillips, Alak; Katelyn Johnson, Port Alsworth; Allyson Takak, Shaktoolik; Elsa Tinker, Kongiganak.

More in Sports

State hockey: SoHi makes state final; Kenai to play for 4th

Soldotna, the No. 3 seed, defeated No. 2 seed Palmer 1-0 on… Continue reading

Friday hoops: Homer sweeps Nikiski; CIA boys make final of NIT

The host Homer girls and boys basketball teams swept Nikiski on Friday… Continue reading

Brown Bears fall to Steel

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears had a two-game winning streak snapped… Continue reading

SoHi wins, Kenai loses on opening day at state hockey

The Soldotna hockey team won and Kenai Central lost Thursday at the… Continue reading

Ninilchik, Seward split; CIA girls, boys move to NIT semis

The Ninilchik and Seward basketball teams split on the opening day of… Continue reading

Nature-based solutions like conserving peatlands and encouraging beaver in the right places and times are promising tools for ensuring abundant cool waters for fish and people. (Photo by C. Canterbury/USFWS)
Refuge Notebook: Water is life

When you think of Alaska and wildlife, the image of waters teeming… Continue reading

Kenai Central goalie Evyn Witts makes a save on Soldotna's Ezekiel Miller as Kenai's Reagan Graves and Logan Mese defend Friday, Jan. 27, 2023, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Kenai, Soldotna ready for state hockey tourney

Both the Kenai Central and Soldotna hockey teams will chase the first… Continue reading

Kenai Central senior Owen Whicker holds up Zach Armstrong's jersey as Zach's brother, Luke, runs out during pregame introductions. Zach was diagnosed with leukemia in November. The Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023, game against Nikiski at Kenai Central High School in Kenai, Alaska, was a fundraiser for the Armstrong family. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
‘Zach’s Fight Fundraiser’ packs gym as Nikiski, Kenai split

The community packed the Kenai Central gym Tuesday night for “Zach’s Fight… Continue reading

Kenai River Brown Bears forward Ryan Finch (20) celebrates his second-period goal Saturday, Jan. 28, 2023, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Brown Bears complete 2-game sweep of Windigo

The Kenai River Brown Bears completed a two-game sweep of the Wisconsin… Continue reading

Most Read