A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020 at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020 at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)

Voices of the Peninsula: What do voting statistics say about our democracy?

Kenai Peninsula Borough total voter turnout in this past October 2021 municipal election was a sad 11.84%.

By Therese Lewandowski

Voting is a constitutional right granted to all citizens 18 years and older. It is the most peaceful tool individuals have to employ our democracy. Yet voter turnout is often marginal, especially in municipal elections where it is likely your vote will make the most difference in your community.

Kenai Peninsula Borough total voter turnout in this past October 2021 municipal election was a sad 11.84%. It was 28.15% in 2020; 18.03% in 2019; and 18.70% in 2018. There are 28 precincts in the borough. Six are strictly mail-in voting.

The City of Homer voter turnout in October 2021 was 25%. In 2020 it was 37%; in 2019 29%; and 33% in 2018.

Voter turnout in our state/national elections are markedly better: in 2020 our voter turnout was 60.67%, compared to 49.84% in 2018. In 2016, voter turnout was 60.77%. In 2014, it was 56.08%. There are 441 precincts in the state of Alaska.

Voting for our state and national legislators and judges is immensely important. Just as important is voting for local city council and assembly members, school district and hospital board members — these are our neighbors guiding important decision-making that impact us daily.

What makes people choose to vote or not vote? The date of election, available time, ballot measures, accessibility to the polls, feeling uninformed, importance or concern?

The nonpartisan group Kenai Peninsula Votes is conducting a quick survey to dig into these reasons. Please take just a few minutes of your time to complete the Kenai Peninsula Votes (KPV) Voter Survey at https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/PWPTJTP (you will have to copy it into your browser).

Remember, all votes count and all voices matter.

Therese Lewandowski has lived in Homer for 40 years. She is a member of the Central Kenai Peninsula League of Women Voters and is currently active in the Kenai Peninsula Votes group.

More in Opinion

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

Homer Foundation
Point of View: Nonprofits provide essential services not provided by cities

By our count, nonprofits provide more than 100 jobs to our communities

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce campaigns for governor as he walks in the 65th annual Soldotna Progress Days Parade on Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Soldotna, Alaska. Pierce resigned as borough mayor effective Sept. 30, 2022, to focus on his gubernatorial campaign. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: ‘It has been an honor to serve’

Borough mayor gives send-off ahead of departure

Gov. Mike Dunleavy announces Friday, July 15, 2022, that 2022 most PFD payments will be distributed on Sept. 20, 2022. (Screenshot)
Opinion: A historic PFD still leaves work to be done

It is important to remember the dividend is not, and has never been, a welfare payment