KPEA President David Brighton speaks to a group of educators, community members and district employees at Resurrect Art Coffee House on Friday, Feb. 15, 2019 in Seward, Alaska. (Photo by Kat Sorensen/Peninsula Clarion)

KPEA President David Brighton speaks to a group of educators, community members and district employees at Resurrect Art Coffee House on Friday, Feb. 15, 2019 in Seward, Alaska. (Photo by Kat Sorensen/Peninsula Clarion)

Voices of the Peninsula: An open letter to the communities of the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District

We stand ready and willing to settle our contract negotiations so we can focus on educating children.

  • Wednesday, September 4, 2019 10:30pm
  • Opinion

As the presidents of the Kenai Peninsula Education Association and the Kenai Peninsula Education Support Association, we are engaged citizens, proud members of our communities, and educators. First and foremost, we are parents of children who attend our public schools. We want the best for our children just like you want the best for yours. We would like to offer our sincere thanks for the overwhelming support we’ve received from parents and community members alike over the past two weeks.

Being engaged in our children’s education as parents is vital to their success. In our tight-knit communities we develop relationships with the teachers and support staff who help ensure a safe and welcoming learning environment year after year. We take comfort in the fact that our younger children will get to follow in the footsteps of their older siblings and learn from the same teachers, sharing their experiences, and receiving a great education. This is possible because the Kenai Peninsula is a wonderful place to live and raise a family.

Our goal over the last 560 days has been to ensure that this remains true for the educators working in the KPBSD. Since we began bargaining with the district for a new contract there has been a single goal and focus — make health care affordable so that our communities stop losing excellent teachers and support staff because they can’t afford to work here. It’s really that simple.

Every action we take is rooted in a commitment to provide the best possible education to every student in the district. Ensuring all students have access to a great education starts with our ability to make competitive offers to high-quality educators who want to join and remain in our communities. As educators we want this because we succeed when we are surrounded by other excellent educators. As community members we want this because we know strong public schools attract business and other professionals. And as parents we want this because our children deserve the same opportunities as any other child in Alaska.

Thank you for your ongoing support. We stand ready and willing to settle our ongoing contract negotiations so we can focus entirely on our mission of educating your children. If you’d like to get engaged as a parent or a community member please check out the KPBS Parents for Quality Education Facebook group.

David Brighton is the president of the Kenai Peninsula Education Association. Anne McCabe is the president of the Kenai Peninsula Education Support Association.


• David Brighton is the president of the Kenai Peninsula Education Association. Anne McCabe is the president of the Kenai Peninsula Education Support Association.


More in Opinion

Willy Dunne is a member of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. (Courtesy photo)
Vote by mail is safe, fiscally responsible

All registered borough voters would receive a ballot in the mail a few weeks ahead of election day.

It’s time for a real living wage

The federal minimum wage was last increased in 2009.

Alaska Voices: Oil taxes, what oil taxes?

Alaska needs a fair share from the sale of oil to economically recover and have a meaningful future.

Opinion: Finding the intrinsic beauty of sadness

Knowing sadness can be a healthy thing.

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)
Clarkson: Even during pandemic, there is help for domestic violence victims

As a community we have a responsibility to care for and seek to protect our most vulnerable.

Dave Reaves (courtesy photo)
Alaska Voices: The time to invest in Alaska is now

We call on Gov. Mike Dunleavy to help move job creating infrastructure projects forward.

The last strand of elodea on the Kenai Peninsula was found during a survey in May 2019. This fragment is brown and brittle, signs of dying from having been treated with herbicide since 2017. (Photo by Matt Bowser/Kenai National Wildlife Refuge).
Alaska Voices: Can Elodea be eradicated?

Infestations have been found on the Kenai Peninsula, around Cordova, and in the Fairbanks area.

COVID-19 harms children in seen and unseen ways

There has been an alarming decrease in all routine health care, including routine vaccinations.

Pay PFD now, make long-term fiscal plan for Alaska

The Ship of State, our government, has lost direction.

Commercial fishing boats are rafted together in May 2016 in the harbor in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Alaska Voices: Mandates crucial to safety of fishing fleets

As a vessel operator, you are responsible for your crew’s compliance with the mandate.

The entrance to the Kenai Police Department, as seen in Kenai, Alaska, on April 1, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
                                The front of the Kenai Police Department as seen on Dec. 10, 2019. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: In honor of the thin blue line

During this pandemic our police officers cannot stay home, socially distance, and work remotely.