Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)

Clarkson: Price gouging will not be tolerated

Greed sometimes overtakes common sense and human decency.

  • Saturday, April 4, 2020 9:53pm
  • Opinion

Unfortunately, price gouging reappears regularly with natural disasters, including earthquakes, wildfires and hurricanes. As citizens try to prepare for, or respond to, a disaster, they can be subject to skyrocketing prices for gas, food and water. As deplorable as this is, profiteering at the expense of health care workers — the front-line defenders against COVID-19 — is much worse.

Most Alaskans could not imagine taking advantage of the COVID-19 pandemic by buying and stockpiling critical protective equipment like N95 Respirators to resell at unconscionable prices on internet platforms like Amazon or eBay. The worst circumstances often bring out the best in us. Alaskans consistently step up and help those in need during times of emergency and disaster. Taking advantage of a global pandemic to turn a profit is simply not the Alaskan way.

Can anyone imagine the 20 heroic mushers who raced the antitoxin “serum” to Nome in the midst of the 1925 diphtheria outbreak having decided to profit by charging exorbitant prices for the use of their sleds and dogs? No, of course not. Everyone agrees that type of profiteering would have been reprehensible and possibly criminal. Those famous Alaskan mushers and their dogs, the most famous of which are Togo and Balto, responded heroically and earned national recognition and praise.

Unfortunately, greed sometimes overtakes common sense and human decency.

It is one thing to buy and hoard toilet paper out of fear for personal use at home. (Though, I must admit for the life of me, I cannot comprehend the fixation with wanting mountains of toilet paper.) But it is quite another thing altogether to rush to multiple stores across the community to buy the entire available supply of emergency equipment that is crucial to the safety of health care workers and other Alaskans for the selfish purpose of flipping them for a huge profit. These actions can only be classified as preying on people in a vulnerable time, and it is unlawful and immoral.

Earlier this month Amazon voluntarily compiled and reported to each state’s attorney general sales activity that appeared to represent price gouging of COVID-19-related items in each state. I would like to thank Amazon for its good citizenship in this regard. Amazon has removed over a million products from its platform in recent weeks in an effort to stop profiteering from the coronavirus outbreak.

Based upon Amazon’s report, I directed the Department of Law to investigate possible COVID-19-related price gouging and profiteering occurring in Alaska and to pursue complaints against identified wrongdoers. As a result, we have filed a lawsuit against an Anchorage resident who purchased thousands of respirators from Alaska retail stores and resold them online for as much as four times his purchase price. Alaska’s law prohibits this type of activity.

The Alaska Unfair Trade Practices Act, also referred to as the Alaska Consumer Protection Act, makes it unlawful to engage in unfair acts or practices in the conduct of trade or commerce and gives the attorney general the authority to enforce it through court action. In that action, the attorney general can seek an order preventing the person from continuing to violate the law, and to make whole anyone wronged by the unlawful practices. The Act also provides for civil penalties against the wrongdoer of not less than $1,000 and not more than $25,000 for each violation, and allows the state to recover its costs and attorney’s fees. We are seeking all of these remedies in our recently filed case.

I will not tolerate this type of behavior. Under my direction, the Department of Law will not hesitate to bring actions against other unscrupulous individuals trying to take advantage of other Alaskans in their time of need and profiteering off of COVID-19-related products and equipment.

I trust that most all Alaskans will step up and help to preserve needed health protection equipment for those who need it most. And, I am confident most all Alaskans would never dream of profiteering on the COVID-19 pandemic. And, please do not hesitate to report price gouging to the Department of Law.

— Attorney General Kevin Clarkson, Alaska Department of Law


• By Attorney General Kevin Clarkson, Alaska Department of Law


More in Opinion

Willy Dunne is a member of the Kenai Peninsula Borough Assembly. (Courtesy photo)
Vote by mail is safe, fiscally responsible

All registered borough voters would receive a ballot in the mail a few weeks ahead of election day.

It’s time for a real living wage

The federal minimum wage was last increased in 2009.

Alaska Voices: Oil taxes, what oil taxes?

Alaska needs a fair share from the sale of oil to economically recover and have a meaningful future.

Opinion: Finding the intrinsic beauty of sadness

Knowing sadness can be a healthy thing.

Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing on Tuesday, Jan. 29, 2019, in Juneau. (Becky Bohrer | Associated Press File)
Clarkson: Even during pandemic, there is help for domestic violence victims

As a community we have a responsibility to care for and seek to protect our most vulnerable.

Dave Reaves (courtesy photo)
Alaska Voices: The time to invest in Alaska is now

We call on Gov. Mike Dunleavy to help move job creating infrastructure projects forward.

The last strand of elodea on the Kenai Peninsula was found during a survey in May 2019. This fragment is brown and brittle, signs of dying from having been treated with herbicide since 2017. (Photo by Matt Bowser/Kenai National Wildlife Refuge).
Alaska Voices: Can Elodea be eradicated?

Infestations have been found on the Kenai Peninsula, around Cordova, and in the Fairbanks area.

COVID-19 harms children in seen and unseen ways

There has been an alarming decrease in all routine health care, including routine vaccinations.

Pay PFD now, make long-term fiscal plan for Alaska

The Ship of State, our government, has lost direction.

Commercial fishing boats are rafted together in May 2016 in the harbor in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Alaska Voices: Mandates crucial to safety of fishing fleets

As a vessel operator, you are responsible for your crew’s compliance with the mandate.

The entrance to the Kenai Police Department, as seen in Kenai, Alaska, on April 1, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
                                The front of the Kenai Police Department as seen on Dec. 10, 2019. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: In honor of the thin blue line

During this pandemic our police officers cannot stay home, socially distance, and work remotely.