Former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin addresses supporters at the opening of her new campaign headquarters in Anchorage, Alaska, on Wednesday, April 20, 2022. (AP Photo/Mark Thiessen,File)

Former Alaska Gov. Sarah Palin addresses supporters at the opening of her new campaign headquarters in Anchorage, Alaska, on Wednesday, April 20, 2022. (AP Photo/Mark Thiessen,File)

Opinion: Alaska is at a crossroads

The upcoming midterm elections is way more important than some feel.

  • By Frank Dahl
  • Friday, October 21, 2022 11:44pm
  • Opinion

By Frank Dahl

Dear fellow Alaskans,

The upcoming midterm elections is way more important than some feel.

The Kelly Tshibaka-Lisa Murkowski race is an easy decision. Lisa has been a friend of mine for years and I have hated to see her vote in line with Joe Biden and being pro-abortion and for those reasons alone I would vote for Kelly.

The race for our beloved Don Young’s seat is more complicated. It’s easy to see why Mary Peltola is now in Congress. The votes were split between Nick Begich and Sara Palin. Mary Peltola is easy to like and a friend to many. In that she is a Democrat the question is, are you happy with the position President Biden and the Democrats have put our country in? There is no doubt Mary Peltola will always vote with Biden. No matter if you are a staunch Democrat or not, a vote for what is best for Alaska and the country is what matters.

Now, for Republicans to choose between Nick Begich and Sara Palin is also a matter of what is best for Alaska and America. Begich seems like a nice fellow, however, when we look at his background, he has absolutely zero experience in politics but touts his courage and willingness to show it on the floor of Congress. However, why should we trust this and how can we be sure he will understand what goes on in Washington, D.C. Many say whatever success he has enjoyed seems to have come from riding the coattails of his uncle Mark Begich. Let’s be honest about this. Nick wouldn’t even be on the ballot if not for his last name. Some say Nick Begich is a luke warm candidate hoping his potential win will result from anti-Palin sentiment and that Nick Begich is lightweight not suited for this challenge.

For those who are looking to Sarah Palin, but, still have that bad taste in their mouth remembering back when she left the governorship before her term was up, she claims it was due to unfounded lawsuits and an overflow of media attention and for the good of the State of Alaska. I feel it was a legitimate reason and along with her decision to put Lt. Gov. Sean Parnell as her replacement. It turned out that he did a very good job in representing our state.

One thing for sure, Sarah has experience at many levels and not afraid to speak up and actually does show courage and resolve. We know for certain she will stand up in favor of the change needed and fast . Yes, Donald Trump supports her. Even if for some reason you don’t like Trump due to his personality or language, should we be concentrating on Trump’s hair style or Biden’s hair sniffing. No, we should be looking at results and what has changed the past two years.

The border, inflation, energy independence, gas prices, the military, or the threat of war from China, Russia, or North Korea. All these things were under control with the past administration as we had respect from the world view and strong health, both militarily and economically. This has changed dramatically.

The reason I address this, outside our local elections, is that if Mary Peltola is elected, she will follow Biden and we will be looking at a continuation of what we have been forced to endure. If Begich wins, we will have an inexperienced representative in Congress who may or may not do a good enough job. One thing we can question, is if he will show the courage necessary in challenging the other side of the aisle. There is no doubt in anyone’s mind, Sarah Palin will be up front in standing strong for all of us.

Like her or not, and if not, I say swallow hard and vote for Sarah Palin for the good of Alaska and for the good of America.

Frank Dahl is a former president of Anchorage CHARR, Blues Central owner and political pundit who lives in Anchorage.

More in Opinion

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Session ends with budget, dividend and bills passed

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

The Alaska State Capitol. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Listen to PAs; support Senate Bill 115: Modernizing PA Practice in Alaska

Health care is rapidly evolving, demanding a more flexible and responsive system

Mount Redoubt can be seen across Cook Inlet from North Kenai Beach on Thursday, July 2, 2022. (Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion file photo)
Opinion: Hilcorp Alaska: Powering Southcentral Alaska — past, present and future

Hilcorp Alaska has and will continue to fully develop our Cook Inlet basin leasehold

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024 (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Collegiality matters

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Juneau Empire file photo
Larry Persily.
Opinion: Alaska might as well embrace the past

The governor, legislators, municipal officials and business leaders are worried that the Railbelt will run short of natural gas before the end of the decade

The Alaska State Capitol on March 1. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Physicians oppose Alaska Senate Bill 115 — Independent Practice for PAs

Alaskans don’t want access to just any health care, they want access to high quality care

Norm McDonald is the deputy director of Fire Protection for the Alaska Division of Forestry & Fire Protection. (Photo courtesy Bureau of Land Management Alaska Fire Service)
The Swan Lake Fire can be seen from above on Monday, Aug. 26, 2019, on the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska. (Photo courtesy Alaska Wildland Fire Information)
Opinion: This wildfire prevention month, reflect on ways to protect each other and our communities from wildfire

Alaskans saw what happened in Canada last year, and they know it can happen here too

Jason Sodergren and retired veterinarian Ralph Broshes capture and attend to crane shot with an arrow, July 9, 2023, in Homer, Alaska. (Photo provided by Nina Faust)
What happened to the ‘Arrowshot Crane’?

In many animal rescues, the outcome is fairly quickly known, but the… Continue reading

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski addresses the Alaska State Legislature on Feb. 22, 2023. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: Set ANWR aside and President Biden is pro-Alaska

Could it be that President Biden is more pro-Alaska than Donald Trump?