Saturday: SoHi, Homer dominate Homer Spit 5K

  • Sunday, September 21, 2014 10:55pm
  • Sports

The Stars and the Mariners took a firm hold of Saturday’s Homer Spit 5-kilometer high school run, which runs the length of the famed Homer Spit.

The Homer girls edged out SoHi by five points, led by Molly Mitchell in second place. The Mariner girls took four of the top six places, with Megan Pitzman, Aurora Waclawski and Alex Mosley helping the home team to the team title.

Soldotna junior Olivia Hutchings ran away with the girls race, beating Mitchell by a sizable margin of 46 seconds to win with a time of 18 minutes, 4.1 seconds. Teammate Dani McCormick added a third-place effort for the Stars.

Soldotna senior Daniel Shuler won the boys race with a time of 17:00.1, topping Homer’s Jordan Beachy by nearly 17 seconds. The Homer and Soldotna boys tied in the team race with 28 points apiece.

Both schools will travel to Kodiak for Saturday’s region III cross-country championships.



Team scores — 1. Soldotna, 28 points; 2. Homer, 28.

Individual results — 1. Daniel Shuler, Sol, 17:00.1; 2. Jordan Beachy, Hom, 17:16.9; 3. Aaron Swedberg, Sol, 17:37.8; 4. Jared Brant, Hom, 17:44.6; 5. Brandon Beachy, Hom, 17:49.4; 6. Jacob Davis, Hom, 17:50.4; 7. Levi Michael, Sol, 17:57.3; 8. Brenner Musgrave, Sol, 18:07.5; 9. Greg Trail, Niko, 18:22.8; 10. Koby Vinson, Sol, 18:25.9; 11. Josh Shuler, Sol, 18:26.9; 12. Denver Waclawski, Hom, 18:51.7; 13. Jaime Rios, Hom, 19:07.8; 14. Elan Carrol, Hom, 19:19.5; 15. Shane Larrow, Sol, 19:49.3; 16. Jonah Fefelov, Niko, 20:33.6; 17. Kyle Cooper, Nik, 21:47.6; 18. German Kalugin, Kach, 22:19.0.


Team scores — 1. Homer, 25 points; 2. Soldotna, 30.

Individual results — 1. Olivia Hutchings, Sol, 18:04.1; 2. Molly Mitchell, Hom, 18:50.0; 3. Dani McCormick, Sol, 19:19.5; 4. Megan Pitzman, Hom, 19:42.9; 5. Aurora Waclawski, Hom, 19:55.7; 6. Alex Mosley, Hom, 19:59.8; 7. Sadie Fox, Sol, 20:07.9; 8. Lauren Evarts, Hom, 20:11.4; 9. Emily Werner, Sol, 20:14.7; 10. Daisy Nelson, Sol, 20:26.5; 11. Ziza Shemet-Pitcher, Hom, 20:31.5; 12. Molly Erickson, Sol, 20:59.4; 13. Audrey Rosencrans, Hom, 21:16.1; 14. Kellie Arthur, Sol, 21:47.4; 15. Megan Hickman, Niko, 29:23.9.

More in Sports

Kenai Central's Kate Wisnewski and Ellsi Miller put up a block against Soldotna on Tuesday, Oct. 3, 2023, at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Tuesday volleyball: Kenai tops Soldotna; Nikiski defeats Homer

The visiting Kenai Central volleyball team defeated Soldotna 25-15, 25-19, 19-25 and… Continue reading

Nikiski's Everett Chamberlain, Lynn Deveer, Seth Payne and Oliver Parrish celebrate the touchdown run of Parrish on Saturday, Sept. 30, 2023, at Nikiski Middle-High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Nikiski tops Eielson, advances to 9-man state final

Thanksgiving came early Saturday at Nikiski Middle-High School. Nikiski defeated Eielson 40-6… Continue reading

Kenai girls, SoHi boys swimmers capture Seward Invite

The Kenai Central girls and Soldotna boys swim teams won Seward Invitational… Continue reading

Kenai volleyball takes 2nd at West Spiketacular

The Kenai Central volleyball team finished second at the West Spiketacular on… Continue reading

Soldotna football wins 18th straight conference title

The visiting Soldotna football team defeated Eagle River 55-7 on Saturday to… Continue reading

Region 3 cross country: Seward girls, Ingalls take titles on home course

The Seward girls cross-country team warmed up for the defense of their… Continue reading

Kenai Central quarterback Zeke Yragui throws against Kodiak on Friday, Sept. 29, 2023, at Kodiak High School in Kodiak, Alaska. (Photo by Derek Clarkston/Kodiak Daily Mirror)
Mid Alaska: Kenai football blows past Kodiak; Barrow tops Homer

The visiting Kenai Central football team defeated Kodiak 49-6 on Friday in… Continue reading

Windigo sweep Brown Bears

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears were swept decisively by the Wisconsin… Continue reading

Beeson, Aldridge win 4th Chainwreck Cyclocross Series race

Brian Beeson and Morgan Aldridge won the fourth race of the Chainwreck… Continue reading

Most Read