Homer’s Carter Tennison rushes past Nikiski’s Charlie Chamberlain and Koleman McCaughey on Friday, Sept. 11, 2020, at Nikiski High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)

Homer’s Carter Tennison rushes past Nikiski’s Charlie Chamberlain and Koleman McCaughey on Friday, Sept. 11, 2020, at Nikiski High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)

Rams dominate All-Denali Conference awards

After winning the Denali Conference crown with a 3-0 record, Monroe Catholic dominated the all-conference awards in balloting announced Wednesday.

The Rams had the Offensive Player of the Year in Carter Barney, the Defensive Player of the Year in Aaron Conwell, the Co-Assistant Coach of the Year in Shaun Conwell, Sr., and the Coach of the Year in Kyle Allison.

Nikiski’s Charlie Chamberlain broke through the Monroe Catholic dominance to win Lineman of the Year. Chamberlain also made the first team at guard and interior lineman for the Bulldogs, who finished second in the league with a 3-1 record.

Stan Porritt of Valdez was the Co-Assistant Coach of the Year.

Nikiski also was represented on the first team by Truit McCaughey at halfback and inside linebacker, and Brady Bostic at defensive back.

Seward, which finished third in the league at 1-1, got first-team nods from Brett Gilmore at wide receiver, Marcus Lastimosa at interior lineman, and Tommy Cronin at defensive back and kicker.

All-Denali Conference awards

Offensive Player of the Year: Carter Barney, Monroe Catholic.

Defensive Player of the Year: Aaron Conwell, Monroe Catholic.

Lineman of the Year: Charlie Chamberlain, Nikiski.

Co-Assistant Coaches of the Year: Shaun Conwell, Sr., Monroe Catholic; Stan Porritt, Valdez.

Coach of the Year: Kyle Allison, Monroe Catholic.

First team


Quarterback: Robert McGee, Monroe Catholic; Fullback: Marlon Mease, Monroe Catholic; Halfbacks: Josh Baczuk, Valdez; Truit McCaughey, Nikiski; Center: Jabin Collins, Monroe Catholic; Tackles: Dennis Mott, Valdez; Aaron Conwell, Monroe Catholic; Guards: Charlie Chamberlain, Nikiski; Alijah Agee, Monroe Catholic; Wide receivers: Carter Barney, Monroe Catholic; Brett Gilmore, Seward; Tight end: Evan Puryear, Monroe Catholic.


Inside linebackers: Aaron Conwell, Monroe Catholic; Truit McCaughey, Nikiski; Outside linebackers: Wyatt Williams, Valdez; Marlon Mease, Monroe Catholic; Interior linemen: Charlie Chamberlain, Nikiski; Alijah Agee, Monroe Catholic; Marcus Lastimosa, Seward; Dennis Mott, Valdez; Defensive backs: Brady Bostic, Nikiski; Tommy Cronin, Seward; Carter Barney, Monroe Catholic.

Special teams

Kicker: Tommy Cronin, Seward; Punter: Alijah Agee, Monroe Catholic; Return specialist: Carter Barney, Monroe Catholic; Long snapper: Robert McGee, Monroe Catholic; Utility player: Stephen Felix, Monroe Catholic.

Second team


Quarterback: Tommy Cronin, Seward; Fullback: Tate Chadwick, Valdez; Halfbacks: Brandon Polesky, Eielson; Tyler Moore, Monroe Catholic; Center: James Milburn, Seward; Tackles: Paden Frelin; Landon DeRoos, Seward; Guards: Ahman Matthews, Eielson; Hunter Francis, Valdez; Wide receivers: Ramon Lopez, Eielson; Griffin Hastings, Valdez; Tight end: Seth Payne, Nikiski.


Inside linebackers: Landon DeRoss, Seward; Robert McGee, Monroe Catholic; Outside linebackers: Josh Baczuk, Valdez; Tyler Moore, Monroe Catholic; Interior linemen: Devin Price, Eielson; Hunter Francis, Valdez; Gabe Brewi, Valdez; Tim Goodnight, Nikiski; Defensive backs: Dillon Fowler, Valdez; Billy Bast, Monroe Catholic; Brandon Polesky, Eielson.

Special teams

Kicker: Billy Bast, Monroe Catholic.

Honorable mention


Quarterback: Dillon Fowler, Valdez; Brady Bostic, Nikiski; Fullback: Kekoa Albino, Seward; Dwyght Mullins, Nikiski; Halfbacks: Billy Bast, Monroe Catholic; Simon Grenier, Nikiski; Kupono Albino, Seward; Center: Connor Hottingerd, Eielson; Tackles: John Van Buskirk, Seward; Guards: Cody Eickholt, Monroe Catholic; Devin Price, Eielson; Gabe Brewi, Valdez; Wyatt Stormer, Nikiski; Daniel Correa, Seward.


Interior linemen: John Van Buskirk, Seward; Jesse Colton, Nikiski; Connor Hottingerd, Eielson, Paden Freling, Eielson; James Milburn, Seward; Defensive backs: Ahman Matthews, Eielson; Jett McCullough, Monroe Catholic; Dwyght Mullins, Nikiski.

More in Sports

Wallstrom backstops Bears to victory

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears defeated the Wisconsin Windigo 4-3 on… Continue reading

Nikiski's Alexa Iyatunguk leaps to block a ball on Thursday, Sept. 29, 2022 at Nikiski Middle/High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
SoHi volleyball sweeps Nikiski’s homecoming match

The Nikiski Bulldogs were swept by the Soldotna Stars in Nikiski’s homecoming… Continue reading

CIA soccer moves to Borealis semis

Noah Castenholz had a hat trick in the first half and the… Continue reading

Tsalteshi ready to host region meet

A Region 3 cross-country meet at Tsalteshi Trails just outside of Soldotna… Continue reading

Week 7: Area football fans can attend 3 impactful games

Week 8 features three games with postseason implications on the central peninsula,… Continue reading

Community soccer players after a special match celebrating the life of Drew Brown at Homer High School Field on Sunday, Aug. 14, 2022. (Photo by Uliana Reutov)
OOTO: Our Soccer Community

Imagine a park ranger, a lawyer, a teacher, an artist, a fisherman,… Continue reading

Aerial photo of the Kenai River in Alaska. (Photo by Dave Merz/FWS)
Refuge Notebook: Flying a remote sensing mission on the refuge

Editor’s Note: This is the fourth and final part of a series… Continue reading

Soldotna volleyball tops Homer

The Soldotna volleyball team went on the road to notch a 3-1… Continue reading

Colony swimmers sweep Kenai Invite

The Colony girls and boys swimming and diving teams swept the Kenai… Continue reading

Most Read