Peninsula Conference football awards announced

Peninsula Conference football awards announced

Peninsula teams were represented well in the Peninsula Conference football All-Conference awards released this week.

Nikiski finished with a 3-5 record but put eight players on the list, two of them first-team. The first-team players included Dustin Mullins at center and Joe McLeod on defensive line.

Homer won its final two games of the year to finish 2-6, and had six players earn All-Conference honors, including two on the first-team, Jadin Mann at tackle and Josh Manwiller at inside linebacker.

Seward went 2-5 this year and had eight different players named All-Conference, including four on the first-team list with Beau Freiberg at running back and long snapper, Steve Harsman on defensive line, Chris Kingsland at defensive back and Colin Mullaly as kicker and punter.

All-Peninsula Conference

Offensive Player of the Year: Brendan Wong, Ketchikan.

Defensive Player of the Year: Apete Sasiu, Houston.

Lineman of the Year: Stevie Byron, Ketchikan.

Coach of the Year: Glenn Nelson, Houston.

First-team offense:

Quarterback — Brendon Wong, Ketchikan; Running back — Apete Sasiu, Houston; Beau Freiberg, Seward; Fullback — Kennedy Fono, Houston; Wide receiver — Christopher Carlson, Ketchikan; CJ Jasper, Ketchikan; Tight end — Brandon Wieber, Ketchikan; Tackle — Jack Sasiu, Houston; Jadin Mann, Homer; Center — Shawn Graham, Houston; Wakefield Kremer, Houston; Dustin Mullins, Nikiski.

First-team defense:

Defensive line — Stevie Byron, Ketchikan; Shawn Graham, Houston; Joe McLeod, Nikiski; Steve Harsman, Seward; Inside linebacker — Kennedy Fono, Houston; Josh Manwiller, Homer; Outside linebacker — Owen Mulhaney, Houston; Gavin Mulhaney, Houston; Defensive back — CJ Jasper, Ketchikan; Apete Sasiu, Houston; Chris Kingsland, Seward.

First-team special teams:

Kicker — Collin Mullaly, Seward; Punter — Collin Mullaly, Seward; Return specialist — CJ Jasper, Ketchikan; Long snapper — Beau Frieberg, Seward; Utility player — AJ Malouf, Ketchikan.

Second-team offense:

Quarterback — Gavin Mulhaney, Houston; Running back— Owen Mulhaney, Houston; Fullback — Sam Berry, Nikiski; Gabe Schrock, Seward; Wide receiver — Prokhopy Konev, Homer; Tight end — Chris Kingsland, Seward; Center — Jordan Sewell, Seward; Guard — Joshua Manwiller, Homer; Steve Harshman, Seward; Tackle — Stevie Byron, Ketchikan.

Second-team defense:

Defensive line — Renzie Lorenzo, Ketchikan; Wakefield Kremer, Houston; Zack Condon, Homer; Hamilton Cox, Nikiski; Jordan Sewell, Seward; Inside linebacker — Chris Brown, Ketchikan; Beau Freiberg, Seward; Outside linebacker — Brock Sarks, Nikiski; Gabe Shrock, Seward; Defensive back — Talupo Falaniko, Houston; Prokhopy Konev, Homer; Sam Berry, Nikiski; Collin Mullaly, Seward.

Second-team special teams:

Kicker — AJ Malouf, Ketchikan; Punter — Anthony Kalugin, Homer; Return specialist — Apete Sasiu, Houston; Long snapper — Dustin Mullins, Nikiski; Utility player — Koleman McCaughey, Nikiski.

Honorable mention offense:

Quarterback — Anthony Kalugin, Homer; Noah Litke, Nikiski; Tommy Cronin, Seward; Tight end — Laineil Guim, Houston; Mason Payne, Nikiski; Tackle — Finn Heimbold, Homer.

Honorable mention defense:

Defensive line — Jeremiah Barrett, Houston; Defensive back— Sylvester Gaona, Homer; Noah Litke, Nikiski; Tommy Cronin, Seward.

Honorable mention special teams:

Kicker — Denali Whitted, Houston; Sylvester Gaona, Homer; Punter — Brandon Weiber, Ketchikan; Return specialist — Prokhopy Konev, Homer; Long snapper — Jadin Mann, Homer; Utility player — Thomas Oaka, Seward.

More in Sports

Ice Dogs sweep Brown Bears

The Fairbanks Ice Dogs got off to a solid start under new… Continue reading

Hoops Roundup: Wasilla sweeps SoHi; Ninilchik boys win Cordova tourney

The visiting Wasilla boys basketball team defeated Soldotna 66-60 on Saturday in… Continue reading

Karl Danielson, a graduate of Kenai Central currently skiing for Alaska Pacific University, wins the Under-16 and over sprint at Besh Cup 3 on Saturday, Jan. 15, 2022, at Tsalteshi Trails just outside of Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Kenai grad Danielson wins Besh 3 sprint

Karl Danielson, a 2018 graduate of Kenai Central, won the Under-16 and… Continue reading

Kenai Central's Erin Koziczkowski goes up for a shot against Nikiski on Friday, Jan. 14, 2022, at Nikiski High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Kenai sweeps Nikiski Tip Off titles

The Kenai girls and boys swept the titles at the 30th Annual… Continue reading

Soldotna's Landon Stonecipher carries the puck against Homer on Friday, Jan. 14, 2022, at Kevin Bell Ice Arena in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Sarah Knapp/Homer News)
Homer, SoHi split hockey games

The Homer and Soldotna hockey teams split junior varsity games Friday and… Continue reading

Kenai girls, Nikiski boys start tourney with wins

The Kenai girls, Lumen Christi girls, Bethel boys and Nikiski boys opened… Continue reading

Homer New reporter Sarah Knapp admires Alaska's beautiful landscape during a trip to Anchorage. (Photo by Ashlyn O'Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Out of the Office: Sticking to New Year’s resolution

I’m still trying to find out where I belong in Homer. You’d… Continue reading

Ed Bangs in 1984  with the first female brown bear radio-collared on the Kenai. (Photo courtesy USFWS)
Refuge Notebook: Blessed to live the Alaska dream

Note: In celebration of the Refuge’s 80th year, the Refuge Notebook articles… Continue reading

Fairbanks head coach Trevor Stewart argues a penalty call on the ice with a referee Saturday, Nov. 23, 2019, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Joey Klecka/Peninsula Clarion)
Stewart leaves Ice Dogs for UAA

Kenai Peninsula hockey fans who fancy themselves supporters of both the Kenai… Continue reading

Most Read