Owens, Aldridge win cycle series week #6

Owens, Aldridge win cycle series week #6

Soldotna’s Tyle Owens cruised to his fourth victory in six races at Thursday’s Soldotna Cycle Series race No. 6, winning the 12-kilometer race with a time of 31 minutes, 20 seconds. Owens topped second-place Brian Beeson by just over a minute (32:24) and third-place Dave Edwards-Smith by more than two minutes (33:45).

Sterling’s Morgan Aldridge kept her perfect streak alive with a sixth straight women’s 12K win, placing her fifth overall in the field with a time of 35:03. Aldridge bested women’s runner-up Jen Showalter (39:54) by almost five minutes.

Landen Showalter was the top youth rider in 10th overall with a time of 39:18.

In the 6K race, Ollie Dahl took home the victory with a time of 19:45, beating Brady Baeten (20:16) by 31 seconds. Briana Baeten won the women’s 6K race in 21:16.

Soldotna Cycle Series race #6

Thursday at Tsalteshi Trails

12K — 1. Tyle Owens, 31:20; 2. Brian Beeson, 32:24; 3. Dave Edwards-Smith, 33:45; 4. Eric Willets, 33:59; 5. Morgan Aldridge, 35:03; 6. Scott Jackson, 36:32; 7. John Pothast 36:35; 8. Jamie Nelson, 37:08; 9. Kevin Lauver, 37:40; 10. Landen Showalter (1st youth), 39:18; 11. Dustin Henkin, 39:22; 12. Joel Todd, 39:23; 13. Mark Beeson, 39:29; 14. Jen Showalter, 39:54; 15. Sean Raften, 40:27; 16. Jeff McDonald, 40:36; 17. Mark Forbes, 41:28; 18. Carl Thompson, 41:41; 19. Dylan Hogue, 41:51; 20. C.O. Rudstrom, 41:52; 21. Will Morrow, 41:59; 22. Melissa Smith, 41:59; 23. Dana McDonald, 44:14; 24. John Tabor, 44:46; 25. Erick Mayoral, 45:33; 26. Ryan Nelson, 45:41; 27. Rob Carson, 49:17; 28. Tor Dahl, 50:18; 29. Will Smith, 52:08; 30. Darrell Kincaid, 52:20; 31. Madison McDonald, 52:48; 32. Robert Carson, 54:35.

6K — 1. Ollie Dahl, 19:45; 2. Brady Baeten, 20:16; 3. Briana Baeten, 21:16; 4. Ethan Hogue, 21:16; 5. Jim Campbell, 22:23; 6. Jo Shaw, 23:36; 7. Cody Tunks, 23:45; 8. Keenan Young, 25:01; 9. Audrey McDonald, 25:32; 10. Eric Johnson, 26:02; 11. Harold Reidstrom, 26:29; 12. Julia Henkin, 26:46; 13. Leif Johnson, 26:51; 14. Nels Dahl, 28:17; 15. Lucia Carson, 28:52; 16. Nathan White, 29:28; 17. Sheila Margaret Pothast, 29:36; 18. Nathan Powell, 30:12; 19. Vance Johnson, 1:01:00; 20. Lauri Lingafelt, DNF; 21. Carrie Wawrzyk, DNF; 22. Laura Gerber, DNF.

More in Sports

Bucs rally in 8th to saddle Oilers with 1st loss

The Peninsula Oilers fell to the Anchorage Bucs 6-2 on Thursday in… Continue reading

A wild hare stops for a rest in May 2023 in Anchor Point, Alaska. (Delcenia Cosman/Homer News)
Out of the Office: No work, all play

With the last of the snow patches finally melted away, it’s time… Continue reading

Oilers topple Glacier Pilots in opener

The Peninsula Oilers opened their season by defeating the Anchorage Glacier Pilots… Continue reading

Twins swept by Service

The American Legion Twins were swept in Anchorage by Service on Wednesday,… Continue reading

Twins open season by stopping Dimond

The American Legion Twins opened their season by topping Dimond 16-3 on… Continue reading

Oilers, Twins open seasons this week

The American Legion Twins and Peninsula Oilers open their 2023 seasons this… Continue reading

The Kenai River Brown Bears mob Ryan Finch after he scored the game-winning goal in overtime against the Janesville (Wisconsin) Jets on Saturday, Feb. 25, 2023, at the Soldotna Regional Sports Complex in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Browns Bears announce commitments for Holt, Finch

The Kenai River Brown Bears recently announced college commitments for Ryan Finch… Continue reading

Morgan Aldridge leads riders down a hill at the start of Week 3 of the Soldotna Cycle Series on Thursday, July 18, 2019, at Tsalteshi Trails. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Sterling’s Aldridge wins Eagle River Duathlon

Sterling’s Morgan Aldridge won the women’s overall at the Eagle River Duathlon… Continue reading

Soldotna's Trenton Ohnemus delivers to Kenai Central in the Division II state championship game Saturday, June 4, 2023, at Wasilla High School in Wasilla, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
SoHi tops Kenai to repeat as Division II state baseball champs

The Soldotna baseball team retained the Division II state title with a… Continue reading

Most Read