Kenai Golf Report: Results of first Morgan Memorial

  • GORDON GRIFFIN For the Clarion
  • Tuesday, July 3, 2018 11:59pm
  • Sports

The Kenai Golf Course is in excellent condition! The fairways and tee boxes are very nice.

The new tee box at the 10th is now in play. It provides several different angles to all pin placements. The new senior tee box at the 13th is finished and we will begin playing from it soon. Thank you, Jerry Norris, for getting that ready for us.

This coming week we will begin construction on the new senior tee box on No. 2. It will be ready for play early next year. Dan Young and Steven Honrud are the crew for this project. Many thanks to our weed control experts for keeping the dandelions under control. You will have a hard time finding a single dandelion on the course.

Many thanks to Dusty and Willy for getting our greens in, arguably, the best condition ever. I would be remiss if I didn’t thank Neal Baldwin for his great work keeping our fleet of 45 carts in fine shape. We appreciate you so much. Our newest staff member is cart attendant Maija Zubeck. She has been a wonderful addition to our cart crew.

First Dick and Shirley Morgan Memorial Tournament

The gross side pot Saturday was won by Todd Eskelin with a 77. Sunday, the gross side pot was won by Max Dye with a 74. There was tie for the overall gross champion. Todd and Max both had total scores of 155.

The overall net champion is Charlie Kahakauwila with a net score of 134. Second place net was won by Skip Dove with a 136, followed by a tie for third between Bill Davis and Pat Bowen at 138. Pat won third in a playoff, with Bill finishing fourth. Michael Houghton finished fifth with a net score of 140. Sixth place at 142 was Mike Kebschull.

Skins on Saturday were won by Max Dye (Nos. 1 and 5), Bill Davis (No. 7), Charlie Kahakauwila (Nos. 2 and 18), Gordon Griffin (No. 4) and Lara Griffin (No. 7). Closest to the pin Saturday at the fifth was won by Bobby Bush with a shot of 19 feet, 8 inches. Closest to the pin at the ninth was won by Kirk Hyman with 13 feet, 8 inches. Charlie Kahakauwila won closest to the pin on at the 10th with 19 feet, 6 inches. Hole No. 14 was won by Michael Houghton with a shot of 23 feet, 7 inches.

Skins on Sunday were won by Max Dye, Charlie Kahakuawila and Gordon Griffin each with one skin, and Kirk Hyman with three skins. Sunday, closest to the pin at the fifth was won by Greg Maturro with a shot of 12 feet, 10.5 inches. Gordon Griffin won No. 9 with a fantastic (?) shot of 59 feet, 11.5 inches. The 10th was won by Bobby Bush with 11 feet, 2 inches. Kirk Hyman won the 14th with 9 feet, 8 inches. Thank you to all of the participants. It was a nice way to remember the Morgans.

Senior League, June 19 — Bill Davis won low gross with a score of 39. Low net was won by Noel Widmayer with a great net score of 31. Closest to the pin on the second shot at the fourth was won by Dwight Kramer at 20 feet, 3 inches. It is great to see Dwight back on the course after his injury! Skins were won by Bill Davis (Nos. 2 and 3, back-to-back birdies!), Craig Jung (No. 1) and Keith Stuart (Nos. 6 and 8).

Senior League, June 26 — Low gross was won by Jerry Norris with a 41. Bill Haese won low net with a great score of 32. Closest to the pin on the second shot at the third was won by Skip Dove with an outstanding shot of 4 feet, 4 inches. Longest putt at the first was won by Keith Stewart with a 44-foot, 1-inch putt. Skins were won by Noel Widmayer (Nos. 2 and 8) and George Siter (No. 7).

Senior League, Tuesday — Low gross was won by Jesse Wade with a 40. Skip Dove won low net with an outstanding net score of 33. Closest to the pin on the second shot at the third was won by Skip Dove at 11 feet, 7 inches. Keith Stuart won longest putt at the eighth with a stroke of 4 feet, 1 inch. Skins were won by Skip Dove (Nos. 3 and 6), Noel Widmayer (No. 5) and Craig Jung (No. 9).

Mens’ Night, June 21 — The team of Max Dye and Syd Clark won first place with an outstanding score of 35. Second place was won by the team of Roy Wells and Kevin Bickerstaff with a 41. Closest to the pin at the fifth was won by Max Dye with a shot of 16 feet, 2.5 inches. Max also won closest to the pin on No. 9 with a shot of 39 feet, 7 inches.

Mens’ Night, Thursday — The team of John Ivey, Bill Haese and Ron Kerkvliet won in a chip-off. Closest to the pin at the fifth was won by Justin Thompson. Closest to the pin at the ninth was won by Gary Brumley.

The next Beginning Golfer Ladies’ clinic is July 16 to 18 from 6 to 8 p.m. This is a class tailored to women learning or refreshing the basics of golf. Wednesday is an on-course playing lesson with power carts included. Our graduates tell us that they love the no pressure of our classes and enjoy meeting other lady golfers. Call the clubhouse at 283-7500 to sign up.

July Tournaments

Saturday and Sunday: Kenai Peninsula Senior Open; July 13: Hilcorp Tourney; July 15: KGA Tourney; July 20 in morning: Alliance Tournament; July 20 in afternoon: Hilcorp Tourney; July 21: Fred Thompson Memorial Cup; July 27: Monfor Salamatoff Tournament.

As always, see you on the course.

More in Sports

Kenai Central's Bridger Beck passes under pressure from Barrow's Lennox Dias and Norm Lilomaiava on Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, at Ed Hollier Field at Kenai Central High School in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Barrow tops Kenai in battle for playoff spot

Barrow defeated Kenai Central 28-12 on Saturday at Ed Hollier Field in… Continue reading

Eagle River's Aiden Roschi is stopped by Soldotna's Jakob Kemp, Elijah Lee and Trevor Michael on Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, at Justin Maile Field at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Stars top Eagle River, win 16th straight NLC crown

Soldotna defeated Eagle River 49-13 on Saturday at Justin Maile Field in… Continue reading

CIA soccer wears Borealis Conference crown

The Cook Inlet Academy coed soccer team won its first Borealis Conference… Continue reading

Volleyball roundup: Seward wins, SoHi loses

After losing to Soldotna on Friday, the Palmer volleyball team came back… Continue reading

Brown Bears sweep Windigo

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears defeated the Wisconsin Windigo 4-3 on… Continue reading

Grace Christian’s David Sliwinski and Homer’s Seamus McDonough both make their last push to the finish chute during the Region 3/Division II race on Saturday, Oct. 1, 2022, at Tsalteshi Trails just outside of Soldotna Alaska. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
SoHi’s Jedlicki, Seward’s Ingalls nab 1st region titles

The Region 2 and Region 3 cross-country running championships were held at… Continue reading

CIA moves to Borealis Conference finals

The Cook Inlet Academy coed soccer team defeated Susitna Valley 3-0 on… Continue reading

Volleyball roundup: SoHi, Kenai, Seward all win

The host Soldotna volleyball team won its first Northern Lights Conference match… Continue reading

Aldridge captures 4th cyclocross race

Morgan Aldridge won the overall and women’s race Thursday in the fourth… Continue reading

Most Read