Kenai Golf Report: Memorial Garden is now complete

  • By Gordon Griffin
  • Tuesday, August 2, 2016 11:56pm
  • Sports

The new Memorial Garden around the flag poles on the No. 1 tee box is now complete. Debbie Griffin has done an outstanding job planning the Alaska perennial garden. This beautiful area is designed to honor the following golfers: George Navarre, Butch Anderson, Rita Botelho, Max Pate, Bill Burtrum, Bill Zubeck, Jim Legner, Spence DeVito, Jim Kimball, Gene Granath, Lee Stalker, and Ron Wilson.

Plaques will be placed in the garden in honor of those listed above. If we have missed anyone who should be included, please let us know. Debbie and I think it is important to remember those who have loved the Kenai Golf Course.

Another memorial area designed by Willy Perkins and Dusty Gulbreth has been completed. It is on the right side of the pavilion and honors the Morgan family, founders of the Kenai Golf Course. Stop and take a look next time you’re on the course.

Kenai Cup Standings as of the July KGA Event

In the Gross Division, Gordon Griffin leads with 66 points, followed by Mark Azzara with 44 points, Todd Eskelin 41, Greg Harrington 28, Chris Morin 28 and Mark Griffin 24.

In the Net Division, Kirk Hyman leads with 59 points, followed by Mark McComsey at 58, Keith Stuart 51, Michael Houghton 48, Pat Bowan 34, Brian Wodarek 33, Chuck Rehder 27, Skip Dove 26, Rene Alvarez 24 and Chuck Rupenthal 10.

Senior League, July 12

Twenty seniors took to the links. Low gross was won by Chris Kimball with a great score of 35. John Davis and Demi Byram won low net with scores of 34. Closest to the pin at the fifth was won by Chris Kimball. Kirk Hyman won the longest first putt at the ninth.

Senior League, July 19

Twenty players again took to the course. Doug Jung won low gross with an even par 36. John Davis won low net with an outstanding score of 29. John Davis also won the only two skins on Nos. 2 and 6. Craig Jung won the shortest putt on hole No. 9 on the 1st putt with 5 feet, 4 inches. Gary Brumley won closest to on the second shot on the fourth at 15 feet.

Senior League, July 26

The same 20 players took to the course. Low gross was won by Craig Jung with an even par 36. Low net was won by John Davis and Demi Byram with net scores of 32. Closest to the pin on the second shot at the second was also won by Demi. The second shot on No. 6 closest to the pin was won by Doug Jung.

Skins were won by Gary Brumley on at the fourth, Jessie Wade at the second and Noel Widmayer at the fifth. Thanks to Jerry Norris for running this senior league.

Men’s Night, July 7

The first-place team with a great score of minus-5 included Max Dye, Roy Wells, Jerry Norris and Steve Fickes. The second-place team at minus-3 included Josh Kerkvliet, Bill Haese, Jim Holliman and Aaron Cooper.

Closest to the pin at the fifth was won by Jason Woodruff with a great shot of 6—5.5. The ninth was won by Max Dye with a shot of 21—2. Second shot on No. 7 was won by Ron Zahaleski with 13—5. The team of Tyler Yamada, Mark McComsey, David Farnando and Ronnie Zahaleski tied with the team of Doug Jung, Gary Brumley, Jason Woodruff and Carl Wik with scores of minus-2.

Men’s Night, July 14

The team of Max Dye, Michael Houghton and Gary Early won first place with a minus-2 after a card-back with Jim Holliman, Roy Wells and Steve Fickes. The team of Mark Azzara, Jason Woodruff and Clyde Reynolds won third with a score of minus-1 after a card-back with Bob Sizemore, Bill Haese and Ronnie Zahaleski.

Closest to the pin at the 10th was won by Max Dye with a shot of 11—5. No. 14 was won by Bob Sizemore with a shot of 52 feet. Closest to the pin on the second shot on No. 18 was won by Clyde Reynolds with a shot of 16 feet.

Men’s Night, July 21

The team of Josh Kerkvliet, Dan Young, Jason Woodruff and Bill Haese won first place with a score of minus-4. The second-place team included Mark McComsey, Jerry Norris, Gary Brumley and Jim Holliman. Tommy Carver, Chris Kimball, Roy Wells and Dwight Kramer placed third.

Jason Woodruff won closest to the pin at the ninth with a great shot of 6.5 inches. Closest to the pin on the second shot at the seventh was won by Dwight Kramer with 14 feet.

Men’s Night Sponsors include Mike Navarre and Arby’s, Chevron, Big John’s Chevron, Jersey Subs, Gas Land, Kenai Golf Course, Mark Azzara and Salmon Catcher’s Lodge, Paradisos, Mykels Restaurant, Country Foods and Kenai River Pizza. Thank you for your generosity!

Kenai River Brown Bears
Tournament, July 23rd

The winning team at minus-9 was Stanley Chrysler with the following players: Tim Bornowski, Mark McComsey, Jim Holliman and Kirk Hyman. In a card-back, Team Hardesty won second place with Tom Hall, Eric Hardesty, Anthony Murray and Mike Beals with a score of minus-7. Third place was won by Stanley Ford and included Paul Olson, Josh Lee, Doug Jung and Jesse Wade.

The women’s long drive was won by Lara Griffin. Don Zulkanycz won the men’s long drive. Closest to the pin at the fifth was won by Vince. No. 9 was won by Kirk Hyman. No. 10 was won by Tim Bornowski. No. 14 was won by Jim Holliman.

As you can see, the activities at the Kenai Golf Course are many and the play has been outstanding. The course is in excellent condition. See you on the course!

More in Sports

Friday: Twins top South, fall to Service

The American Legion Post 20 Twins split a doubleheader in Anchorage on… Continue reading

Chase Laker, Kate Cox win Salmon Run Series 1

Chase Laker and Kate Cox won the first Salmon Run Series race… Continue reading

Peninsula Oilers reliever Cameron Teper delivers to the Chugiak-Eagle River Chinooks on Thursday, July 11, 2024, at Coral Seymour Memorial Park in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Thursday: Oilers top Chinooks in sudden death

The Peninsula Oilers defeated the Chugiak-Eagle River Chinooks 4-3 in sudden death… Continue reading

Kristen Faulkner is pictured in her official Olympic portrait photo. (Photo by Evan Kay with Climb High Productions, provided by Kristen Faulkner)
Homer’s Faulkner now will compete in 2 Olympic events

USA Cycling announced Tuesday, July 9, that Kristen Faulkner, who grew up… Continue reading

Fans watch Mini Stock Heat 2 on Sunday, July 7, 2024, in the Skylar Thomas Lyon Memorial at Twin City Raceway in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Hale wins 30-lap A Stock feature at Skylar Thomas Lyon Memorial

Jimmie Hale won the 30-lap A Stock feature Sunday, July 7, at… Continue reading

Monday: Oilers finish road trip on high note by topping Chinooks

Robson hits 2 2-run home runs off foul pole

Peninsula Oilers infielder Petey Soto tries to make a play during a 2-1 loss to the Mat-Su Miners on Sunday, July 7, 2024, at Hermon Brothers Field in Palmer, Alaska. (Photo by Jeremiah Bartz/Frontiersman)
Sunday: Miners nip Oilers

The Peninsula Oilers lost 2-1 to the Mat-Su Miners in Alaska Baseball… Continue reading

Sunday: Twins post dominant sweep of Bartlett

The American Legion Post 20 Twins swept Post 29 Bartlett on Sunday… Continue reading

Post 20 Twins third baseman Gabe Smith explores the puddle at his position Saturday, July 6, 2024, at Coral Seymour Memorial Park in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Saturday: Twins walk off on Chugiak in extra innings

The American Legion Post 20 Twins defeated Post 33 Chugiak 3-2 in… Continue reading

Most Read