Kenai Central’s Boonstra leads area at Sunday Besh Cup in Homer

  • By Staff Report
  • Monday, January 25, 2016 11:33pm
  • Sports

Kenai Central’s Riana Boonstra had the top finish by a Peninsula racer in Sunday’s Besh Cup racing in Homer.

Racers were competing in interval classic races. The women’s race saw Under-16 skiers competing with all ages above that.

Boonstra finished eighth in the five-kilometer classic race with a time of 16 minutes, 54 seconds. The winner was Abby Amick at 16:05, while Boonstra was second among U-16 racers, as Emma Nelson edged Boonstra at 16:51.

Kenai Central’s Addison Gibson was right with Boonstra, finishing ninth overall and third amongst U-16 racers with a time of 17:05. Also from the area, SoHi graduate Sadie Fox was 15th at 17:45, SoHi’s Kellie Arthur was 48th at 19:16, SoHi’s Hannah Pothast was 52nd at 19:47 and Homer’s Sarah Wolf was 55th at 20:01.

The U-16 boys also did 5K with SoHi’s Koby Vinson taking 10th at 15:13. Luke Jager picked up the win in 13:08. Also from the area, SoHi’s Jeremy Kupferschmid was 26th at 17:15.

In the U-18 and above race, the men did 10 kilometers. Homer graduate Andre Lovett was ninth at 27:32, with Thomas O’Harra winning at 25:52. Also from the area, SoHi’s Levi Michael was 23rd in 30:32, Kenai’s Karl Danielson was 29th in 31:03, Homer’s Jacob Davis was 46th in 34:49, SoHi’s Addison Downing was 48th in 35:05, Homer’s Tadhg Scholz was 50th in 35:26 and Homer master’s racer Atz Kilcher was 58th in 40:06.

More in Sports

Kenai’s James Sparks runs for a gain after a catch during a loss to Houston on Friday, Sept. 3, 2021, in Houston, Alaska. (Photo by Jeremiah Bartz/Frontiersman)
Kards, Mariners collect Mid Alaska Conference honors

The Mid Alaska Conference awards for football were announced recently. Redington, which… Continue reading

Kenai girls swimmers take 3rd at Palmer Invite

The Colony girls and Palmer boys swimming and diving teams won the… Continue reading

Soldotna junior Brayden Taylor rushes the ball down the field during the Division II state football championship game against Lathrop at Service High School in Anchorage on Saturday, Oct. 16, 2021. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)
Lathrop snaps SoHi’s run of state titles

The Soldotna Stars football team fell to Fairbanks’ Lathrop High School in… Continue reading

Soldotna’s Gehret Medcoff runs for a touchdown against Wasilla on Friday, Sept. 24, 2021, at Justin Maile Field in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Stars dominate major NLC football awards

Soldotna, which went undefeated in the Northern Lights Conference this season, won… Continue reading

SoHi wrestlers take 4th at Houston Altercation

The Soldotna wrestling team finished fourth at the season-opening Houston Altercation Tournament… Continue reading

Kenai Central's Emma Beck attacks against Nikiski's Rylee Ellis on Friday, Oct. 15, 2021, at Kenai Central High School in Kenai, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Volleyball roundup: Kenai tops Nikiski; Wasilla sweeps SoHi

The senior civics project of Valerie Villegas was a smashing success Friday… Continue reading

Morgan Aldridge leads riders down a hill at the start of Week 3 of the Soldotna Cycle Series on Thursday, July 18, 2019, at Tsalteshi Trails. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Chainwreck Cyclocross Series holds final race of season

The Chainwreck Cyclocross Series wrapped up with the fifth race Thursday at… Continue reading

Nikiski's Rylee Ellis attacks against Soldotna's Ashlee Anderson on Thursday, Oct. 14, 2021, at Soldotna High School in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
Volleyball roundup: SoHi, Kenai pull out wins

Staff report Host Soldotna celebrated its senior night with a 3-1 nonconference… Continue reading

Brock Wilson and Brayden Taylor lead Soldotna onto Justin Maile Field for a Division II semifinal against North Pole on Friday, Oct. 8, 2021, in Soldotna, Alaska. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)
SoHi football to play for 9th straight state title

Eight straight state titles, and 12 since 2006. An 18-game postseason winning… Continue reading

Most Read