Chaz DiMarzio of Seward rides near the start of the Fat Freddieճ Bike Race and Ramble on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019, in the Caribou Hills near Freddieճ Roadhouse. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)

Chaz DiMarzio of Seward rides near the start of the Fat Freddieճ Bike Race and Ramble on Saturday, Feb. 9, 2019, in the Caribou Hills near Freddieճ Roadhouse. (Photo by Jeff Helminiak/Peninsula Clarion)

Anchorage riders win Soggy Bottom 100

Anchorage’s Brian Bonney and Alicia Tower picked up titles Saturday at the Soggy Bottom 100, a mountain bike race on the Resurrection Pass and Devil’s Creek trails.

The trail is just over 100 miles long and has more than 10,000 feet of vertical gain and loss. Riders start in Hope, take Resurrection Pass to Cooper Landing, ride back up the Resurrection Pass trail before dipping down to the Devil’s Creek trailhead, then ride from the Devil’s Creek trailhead back to Hope.

This full course was used this year for the first time since 2018. In 2019, the event was shortened to 70 miles due to wildfire. In 2020, the event was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

In that 2019 race, Seward’s Chuck DiMarzio, the 2013 and 2018 champion, had the lead before dropping out of the race after crashing.

DiMarzio, who has started every Soggy Bottom except for one since the event began in 2004, battled Bonney on Saturday.

DiMarzio led the race into Cooper Landing, arriving in 3 hours, 25 minutes and 33 seconds, which was 6 seconds ahead of Bonney. Bonney lost 26 more seconds on the transition, but won the leg from Cooper Landing to Devil’s Creek by 3 minutes and 33 seconds.

DiMarzio would win the leg from Devil’s Creek to Hope by 2 minutes and 28 seconds, but that was not enough to catch Bonney. Bonney won at 8:51:02, while DiMarzio crossed at 8:52:34.

While DiMarzio did not get the win, he did come back from his crash two years ago to set a new personal best in the race. Bonney’s winning time did not equal the 8:33:02 course record set by Soldotna’s Adam Reimer in 2017.

Tower came into Cooper Landing second among women, losing the trip over by 3 minutes, 15 seconds, to Anchorage’s Ana Jager. That didn’t matter when Tower dominated the next two legs to win at 11:09:14, while Jager was second at 11:44:50. Kinsey Loan still holds the course record for the women with her 2018 ride of 10:32:27.

The relay victory went to Anchorage’s James Stull, Brian Waldo and Branden Lashua in 8:18:53.

Soggy Bottom 100


Men solo — 1. Brian Bonney, 8 hours, 51 minutes, 2 seconds; 2. Chuck DiMarzio, 8:52:34; 3. Miguel Arias-Paic, 9:05:02; 4. Dante Petri, 9:05:03; 5. Toomas Kollo, 9:15:41; 6. Oliver Sternicki, 9:42:11; 7. Aaron Thrasher, 9:51:03; 8. Jack Novak, 10:16:17; 9. Mike Filipowski, 10:20:01; 10. David Seramur, 10:25:04; 11. Nathan Zgnilec, 10:27:03; 12. Nathaniel King, 10:42:13; 13. Jim Jager, 11:19:40; 14. Dan Bailey, 11:46:22; 15. Mark Moeller, 11:58:47; 16. Tommy Vanvliet, 12:34:45; 17. Jamin Agosti, 12:48:48; 18. Jonathan Tower, 12:58:11; 19. Spencer Martin, 13:51:24; 20. Devan Andersen, 14:19:37.

DNF — Mark Stewart, Joshua Duffus.

Women solo — 1. Alicia Tower, 11:09:14; 2. Ana Jager, 11:44:50; 3. Corrie Smith, 11:56:18; 4. Hailey Stark, 13:01:42; 5. Hope McGratty, 13:55:01; 6. Aurora Hablett, 16:14:44.

Team relay — 1. James Stull-Brian Waldo-Branden Lashura, 8:18:53; 2. Lee McAuliffe-Paul Hosmanek-David Stanfield, 8:30:00; 3. Jason Rowland-Chris Robertson-Zac Cole, 9:20:57; 4. Nicholas Straka-Bryan Hudson-David Gamez, 9:48:06; 5. David Slyker-Eric Teixman-Ben Napolitano, 10:31:23; 6. Rebecca Noblin-Julie Fields-Eric Parsons, 10:54:35; 7. Morgan Aldridge-Kelly Carson-Elizabeth Rexford, 12:02:12; 8. Ann Spencer-Patrick Schmidt-David Spencer, 12:07:09; 9. Caleb Brown-Alex Long-Dylan Van Rozeboom, 12:28:13; 10. Bjorn Nilsson-Samuel Koster-Lucy Hankins, 12:37:19; 11. Chris Cavanaugh-Andrew Romerdahl-Christopher Schutte, 12:52:26; 12. Pam Weiss-Pam Todd-Genevieve Nolan, 12:55:21; 13. Chris Jung-Chet Fehrmann-Melissa Eaton, 12:57:06; 14. John Notestine-Brian Mead-Jasmin Martin, 13:47:43; 15. Amber Bethe-Molly Fierro-Frances DeBlare, 15:16:57; 16. Wanda Burdick-Carlene Van Tol-Roger Parr, 16:29:18.

More in Sports

Kenai girls, boys move to 4th-place games

The Kenai girls and boys basketball teams both notched victories Friday at… Continue reading

Bears host Ice Dogs, renew fight for playoff spot

The Kenai River Brown Bears begin a two-game series with the Fairbanks… Continue reading

The sun shines over Kachemak Bay on Saturday, Feb. 25, 2023, in Homer, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Out of the Office: Homer holiday

On one of the first sunny days this month, I decided to… Continue reading

Kenai girls, boys lose state openers

The Kenai girls and boys basketball teams lost their opening games at… Continue reading

Kenai girls, boys basketball ready for state

The Kenai Central girls and boys basketball teams open play this morning… Continue reading

Anchorage's Jenna DiFolco skis to victory in the 42-kilometer women's race at the Kachemak Nordic Ski Marathon outside of Homer, Alaska, on Saturday, March 18, 2023. (Photo by Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion)
Kachemak Nordic Ski Marathon draws 96

The Kachemak Nordic Ski Marathon was held Saturday in windy conditions. In… Continue reading

Ninilchik fans celebrate the team's second straight Class 2A boys state basketball championship Saturday, March 18, 2023, at the Alaska Airlines Center in Anchorage, Alaska. (Photo courtesy of Robin Moore)
Ninilchik boys win 2nd straight Class 2A state title

The Ninilchik boys basketball team defended their Class 2A state title with… Continue reading

CIA girls take 5th place at Class 1A state tournament

The Cook Inlet Academy girls basketball team took fifth place in the… Continue reading

Most Read