All-NLC teams announced

  • By Staff Report
  • Sunday, October 18, 2015 12:18am
  • Sports

The All-Northern Lights Conference team was announced Saturday.

Kenai Central, which finished second in the league, took three of the five major awards, while Soldotna, which won the league, had two of the five major awards.

For the Stars, Trevor Walden was Defensive Player of the Year, while Eric Pomerleau was Assistant Coach of the Year. For the Kardinals, Andrew Welborn was Offensive Player of the Year, while Zach Koziczkowski was Lineman of the Year and John Marquez was Coach of the Year.

Soldotna got first-team offensive performances from running back Kristian Palaniuk, fullback Mason Prior, tight end Walden, tackle Kyle Marcuson, guard Austin Crowder and center Dalton Best. The Stars received first-team defensive performances from linemen Marcuson, Walden and Sage Hill, inside linebackers Palaniuk and Wendell Tuisaula, outside linebacker Crowder and defensive back Dylan Simons.

First-team offensive performances from Kenai came from Welborn at running back and Koziczkowski at guard. First-team defenders for Kenai are Koziczkowski at defensive line, Welborn at inside linebacker and Chase Gillies at defensive back.

The area squads also filled up the first team on special teams. For Soldotna, Adrian Gomez was long snapper, Johnny Smithwick was kicker and Jesse Littrell was return specialist. For Kenai, Zack Tuttle was utility player.

All-Northern Lights Conference

Offensive Player of the Year: Andrew Welborn, Kenai

Defensive Player of the Year: Trevor Walden, Soldotna

Lineman of the Year: Zach Koziczkowski, Kenai

Coach of the Year: John Marquez, Kenai

Assistant Coach of the Year: Eric Pomerleau, Soldotna

 First-team offense

Quarterback — Andreas Carros, Kodiak; Running back — Chase Ferris, Palmer; Andrew Welborn, Kenai; Kristian Palaniuk, Soldotna; Fullback — Mason Prior, Soldotna; Wide receiver ­— Nick Daniels, Palmer; Tyler Wietfeld, Kodiak; Tight end — Trevor Walden, Soldotna; Tackle — Kyle Marcuson, Soldotna; Kordell Pillans, Kodiak; Guard — Zach Koziczkowski, Kenai; Austin Crowder, Soldotna; Center — Dalton Best, Soldotna.

First-team defense

Defensive line — Zach Koziczkowski, Kenai; Kyle Marcuson, Soldotna; Trevor Walden, Soldotna; Sage Hill, Soldotna; Kordell Pillans, Kodiak; Inside linebacker — Kristian Palaniuk, Soldotna; Wendell Tuisaula, Soldotna; Andrew Welborn, Kenai; Outside linebacker — Nick Daniels, Palmer; Austin Crowder, Soldotna; Defensive back — Vanu Mose, Palmer; Shaun Walton, Kodiak; Chase Gillies, Kenai; Dylan Simons, Soldotna.

First-team special teams

Long snapper — Adrian Gomez, Soldotna; Kicker — Johnny Smithwick, Soldotna; Return specialist — Jesse Littrell, Soldotna; Punter — Giovani Martinez, Kodiak; Utility player — Zack Tuttle, Kenai.

Second-team offense

Quarterback — Clayton Southwick, Palmer; Running back — Jay Miranda, Kodiak; Fullback — Draiden McMinn, Kenai; Wide receiver — Cam Smith, Eagle River; Giovani Martinez, Kodiak; Tight end — Connor Johnson, Kenai; Tackle — Sage Hill, Soldotna; Jonathan Delgado, Kenai; Guard — Bryce Martin, Soldotna; Travis Wheeler, Palmer; Center — Tobias Randall, Kenai.

Second-team defense

Defensive line — Tobias Randell, Kenai; Connor Johnson, Kenai; Dalton Best, Soldotna; Inside linebacker — Jake Yavorsky, Kodiak; Nick Beeson, Kenai; Justin Roth, Palmer; Outside linebacker — Grant Barkhurst, Eagle River; Defensive back — Grant Burningham, Eagle River; Jeff Glynn, Palmer; Wes Walker, Kodiak; Avery Hieber, Kenai.

Second-team special teams

Long snapper — Johnnie Burton, Palmer;  Punter — Tommy Flores, Soldotna; Utility player — Jace Urban, Soldotna.

Honorable mention offense

Quarterback — Thad Heagy, Eagle River; Fullback — Justin Roth, Palmer; Tackle — AJ Kollander, Palmer; David Beck, Kenai; Guard — Ryker Carrington, Palmer; Jake Yavorsky, Kodiak;  Center — Kris Don, Palmer; Dayton Denter, Eagle River; Hunter Bigley, Kodiak.

Honorable mention defense

Defensive line — Jack Mosely, Eagle River; Hunter Bigley, Kodiak; Austin Farris, Palmer; Lucas Santana, Palmer; Travis Wheeler, Palmer; Inside linebacker — Wayne Hershman, Palmer; Hunter George, Eagle River.

Honorable mention special teams.

Utility player — Trey Witz, Palmer; Mike Thompson, Eagle River.

More in Sports

CIA moves to Borealis Conference finals

The Cook Inlet Academy coed soccer team defeated Susitna Valley 3-0 on… Continue reading

Volleyball roundup: SoHi, Kenai, Seward all win

The host Soldotna volleyball team won its first Northern Lights Conference match… Continue reading

Aldridge captures 4th cyclocross race

Morgan Aldridge won the overall and women’s race Thursday in the fourth… Continue reading

Nikiski's Oliver Parrish blocks Seward's Lane Peterson during the Denali Conference title match on Friday, Sept. 30, 2022 at Nikiski High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
Nikiski football defeats Seward to secure playoff berth; Chugiak nips Homer

The Nikiski Bulldogs football team secured a Division III playoff spot and… Continue reading

Wallstrom backstops Bears to victory

The visiting Kenai River Brown Bears defeated the Wisconsin Windigo 4-3 on… Continue reading

Nikiski's Alexa Iyatunguk leaps to block a ball on Thursday, Sept. 29, 2022 at Nikiski Middle/High School in Nikiski, Alaska. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
SoHi volleyball sweeps Nikiski’s homecoming match

The Nikiski Bulldogs were swept by the Soldotna Stars in Nikiski’s homecoming… Continue reading

CIA soccer moves to Borealis semis

Noah Castenholz had a hat trick in the first half and the… Continue reading

Tsalteshi ready to host region meet

A Region 3 cross-country meet at Tsalteshi Trails just outside of Soldotna… Continue reading

Week 7: Area football fans can attend 3 impactful games

Week 8 features three games with postseason implications on the central peninsula,… Continue reading

Most Read