What others say: Boehner’s deal might save party

  • Wednesday, October 28, 2015 4:14pm
  • Opinion

Outgoing U.S. House Speaker John Boehner may save his party — in spite of itself. And for that — once the dust settles — he will be viewed by history as a hero.

Boehner struck a deal with his Democratic counterparts and with the White House that will not only head off a possible government shutdown in December but will prevent similar budgetary showdowns for two years — and that means after the 2016 presidential election.

The $80 billion spending plan (over two years), which would also increase the federal borrowing limit through March 15, 2017, could come up for a vote as early as today.

“The agreement isn’t perfect by any means, but the alternative was a clean debt limit increase” without entitlement reform or money for troops, Boehner said yesterday. “So this is a good deal.”

And he was perfectly candid in acknowledging that part of his intention was to “clean out the barn” for the next speaker. .

“I’ve done my best to clean it up,” he said. …

The genuinely disgruntled in the House GOP — such as some members of the Freedom Caucus — no longer have any weapon to use against the departing Boehner, and they know it.

“We can’t stop it. He’s in league with the Democrats,” said Rep. Thomas Massie (R-Ky.) and, yes, he was likely thinking “devil” even as he said “Democrats.”

But thanks to John Boehner, Massie and his kindred spirits will likely survive to fight another day — even if they’ll never admit it.

— Boston Herald,

Oct. 28

More in Opinion

Jodi Taylor is the board chair for Alaska Policy Forum. (Courtesy photo)
Private school, state reimbursement: family choice

By Jodi Taylor Alaskan parents have a legitimate right to choose the… Continue reading

t
Opinion: It’s time for bold action to protect our fisheries

Our fisheries feed the world and sustain our unique cultures and communities.

The logo for the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District is displayed inside the George A. Navarre Borough Admin Building on Thursday, July 22, 2021 in Soldotna, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: Hard to fill positions?

Paying poverty wages to support staff, secretaries and custodians is unacceptable yet routine behavior by our district

A copy of the State of Alaska Official Ballot for the June 11, 2022, Special Primary Election is photographed on May 2, 2022. (Peninsula Clarion staff)
Choosing a candidate – Who will best represent us in D.C.?

Voters are encouraged to do homework before casting a vote

Tourists watch as one of two cubs belonging to an 18-year-old sow black bear crosses the path between groups of tourists visiting the Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center on Wednesday, July 18, 2018. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Tourists have pushed us to critical mass in parts of Juneau

I don’t go to the glacier in the summer now to hike or watch bears.

Sens. Shelley Hughes, R-Palmer, left, and Robert Myers, R-North Pole, read through one of 41 amendments submitted to the state’s omnibus budget bill being debate on the floor of the Alaska State Senate on Monday, May 9, 2022. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: The Alaska Senate’s foolish gamble

“All these conservative people just spent all our money”

Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships. (logo provided)
Point of View: A few ideas for Mental Health Awareness Month

What are some things you can practice this month and subsequently apply to your life?

Smoke from the Swan Lake Fire impairs visibility on the Sterling Highway on Aug. 20, 2019. (Photo by Victoria Petersen/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Alaskans should prepare for wildfire season

Several past large fire seasons followed snowy winters or unusually rainy springs

Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes. (courtesy photo)
Voices of the Peninsula: 1 candidate dined, 47 to go

By Alex Koplin Last month, I wrote a satirical piece for the… Continue reading

The logo of the Homer Trails Alliance.
Point of View: Connecting our community through trails

Homer is booming with housing development and the viability of long-standing trails is threatened