Vaping regulation needs reasonable fix

  • By Steven L. Mapes
  • Tuesday, December 6, 2016 5:43pm
  • Opinion

I own Mapes Vapes in Soldotna, and am writing to express my frustrations with the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), which has been unwilling to budge on the predicate date for the filing date on new or modified vapor products. This is an issue that threatens to put me out of business and significantly limit the choices available to my customers.

The predicate date relates to vaping products the FDA will approve for sale. The problem is that the cut-off date they are trying to mandate is February 15, 2007. This means that any product that has come out since then — which is most of them — will have to be proven to have extensive similarities to pre-2007 products or face the FDA’s lengthy and costly approval process. Changes as small as changing the flavor could cost manufacturers immense amounts of time and money to get approval for products they have been making for nearly a decade. And that’s not even taking into consideration the FDA’s current backlog of applications. Having every vaping manufacturer flooding the FDA with new applications will only further stretch the FDA’s resources.

An amendment has been proposed to fix this problem in the Senate, but it will still need the support of our delegation in D.C. Hopefully they will act to protect your access to healthier tobacco alternatives, as well as my business with this reasonable solution.

More in Opinion

Jodi Taylor is the board chair for Alaska Policy Forum. (Courtesy photo)
Private school, state reimbursement: family choice

By Jodi Taylor Alaskan parents have a legitimate right to choose the… Continue reading

t
Opinion: It’s time for bold action to protect our fisheries

Our fisheries feed the world and sustain our unique cultures and communities.

The logo for the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District is displayed inside the George A. Navarre Borough Admin Building on Thursday, July 22, 2021 in Soldotna, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: Hard to fill positions?

Paying poverty wages to support staff, secretaries and custodians is unacceptable yet routine behavior by our district

A copy of the State of Alaska Official Ballot for the June 11, 2022, Special Primary Election is photographed on May 2, 2022. (Peninsula Clarion staff)
Choosing a candidate – Who will best represent us in D.C.?

Voters are encouraged to do homework before casting a vote

Tourists watch as one of two cubs belonging to an 18-year-old sow black bear crosses the path between groups of tourists visiting the Mendenhall Glacier Visitor Center on Wednesday, July 18, 2018. (Michael Penn / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Tourists have pushed us to critical mass in parts of Juneau

I don’t go to the glacier in the summer now to hike or watch bears.

Sens. Shelley Hughes, R-Palmer, left, and Robert Myers, R-North Pole, read through one of 41 amendments submitted to the state’s omnibus budget bill being debate on the floor of the Alaska State Senate on Monday, May 9, 2022. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: The Alaska Senate’s foolish gamble

“All these conservative people just spent all our money”

Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships. (logo provided)
Point of View: A few ideas for Mental Health Awareness Month

What are some things you can practice this month and subsequently apply to your life?

Smoke from the Swan Lake Fire impairs visibility on the Sterling Highway on Aug. 20, 2019. (Photo by Victoria Petersen/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Alaskans should prepare for wildfire season

Several past large fire seasons followed snowy winters or unusually rainy springs

Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes. (courtesy photo)
Voices of the Peninsula: 1 candidate dined, 47 to go

By Alex Koplin Last month, I wrote a satirical piece for the… Continue reading

The logo of the Homer Trails Alliance.
Point of View: Connecting our community through trails

Homer is booming with housing development and the viability of long-standing trails is threatened