Saddened by the loss

  • By Peninsula Clarion Editorial
  • Thursday, June 22, 2017 8:46pm
  • Opinion

We were saddened to report the death of former Kenai city manager Rick Koch earlier this week, and will miss the contributions he had continued to make to the community after he stepped down from the position last year.

Koch, who served as Kenai’s city manager from February 2006 through December 2016, died after his motorcycle veered off the road on the Dalton Highway on Sunday. He was 60.

As city manager, Koch oversaw a number of improvements to the city, such as the new water treatment facility. While not everyone in Kenai agreed with every action taken by the city administration under Koch’s direction, most will agree that he was able to help guide the city forward in his 10 years working at city hall.

As one lasting example of Koch’s management, we’d like to point to the annual dipnet fishery, which is set to open on the north and south beaches at the mouth of the Kenai River in just a couple of weeks. Dipnetting exploded in popularity during Koch’s tenure, and while the state sets the regulations for participation, it offers very little support in managing the thousands of Alaskans who descend on Kenai during the fishery.

Koch never seemed to be much of a fan of the fishery — or at least he wasn’t fond of the headaches that came with the droves of dipnetters on the beaches. And a sure-fire way for a reporter to get under his skin was to suggest that the city makes a profit off the fishery — Koch was always adamant that managing the masses was a break-even proposition for the city.

However, over the years, the city has been able establish a well-managed fishery, with the revenue collected from parking, camping and boat launch fees covering the expenses of staff, equipment and improvements needed to keep things as orderly as possible for three weeks in July, and then return the beach to its previous condition in the first few days of August.

That’s no small feat for a small city like Kenai.

Koch had run unsuccessfully for the state House of Representatives last summer, and threw his hat in the ring when a borough assembly seat became open this past winter. He was on the city Harbor Commission, where his experience would have been invaluable as the city continues to push for a bluff erosion fix. He took on organizing the annual Kenai Central-Soldotna alumni hockey game, and we imagine he would have continued to be active in the community.

That’s what hurts the most when we lose someone unexpectedly — while we can remember them for their accomplishments, we miss all those things they have yet to do.

More in Opinion

Sens. Shelley Hughes, R-Palmer, left, and Robert Myers, R-North Pole, read through one of 41 amendments submitted to the state’s omnibus budget bill being debate on the floor of the Alaska State Senate on Monday, May 9, 2022. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: The Alaska Senate’s foolish gamble

“All these conservative people just spent all our money”

Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships. (logo provided)
Point of View: A few ideas for Mental Health Awareness Month

What are some things you can practice this month and subsequently apply to your life?

Alex Koplin is a founding member of Kenai Peninsula Votes. (courtesy photo)
Voices of the Peninsula: 1 candidate dined, 47 to go

By Alex Koplin Last month, I wrote a satirical piece for the… Continue reading

Smoke from the Swan Lake Fire impairs visibility on the Sterling Highway on Aug. 20, 2019. (Photo by Victoria Petersen/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Alaskans should prepare for wildfire season

Several past large fire seasons followed snowy winters or unusually rainy springs

The logo of the Homer Trails Alliance.
Point of View: Connecting our community through trails

Homer is booming with housing development and the viability of long-standing trails is threatened

A copy of the State of Alaska Official Ballot for the June 11, 2022, Special Primary Election is photographed on May 2, 2022. (Peninsula Clarion staff)
How do I choose a candidate for this Special Primary Election?

You could start by making a list of your top choices with the issues they support that you care about

The Swan Lake Fire can be seen from above on Monday, Aug. 26, 2019, on the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska. (Photo courtesy Alaska Wildland Fire Information)
Opinion: Supporting and protecting Alaskans during breakup and fire season

Our mantra is Team Alaska — we are here to help Alaskans and our communities.

Most Read