Road project has long-term benefits for peninsula

  • By Peninsula Clarion Editorial
  • Saturday, April 29, 2017 9:34pm
  • Opinion

It’s a good thing when a project can kill two birds with one stone — or as is the case with planned improvements to the Sterling Highway between Soldotna and Clam Gulch, make the road safer for motorists while enhancing fish passage on the streams it crosses.

The plan from the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities is to widen the existing shoulders from 4 to 8 feet, add rumble strips and reflective striping, and install a safety edge, among other improvements.

Where the highway crosses salmon streams, including a tributary of Slikok Creek, Coal Creek, Crooked Creek, and an unmanned creek near Clam Gulch, existing culverts will be replaced with larger structures that will better allow juvenile salmon access to areas upstream of the road crossing.

In fact, fish passage had been identified as a significant issue on the Kenai Peninsula years ago — in a 2001 survey of culverts at road-stream, researchers found that 78 percent of the culverts on the peninsula were not adequate for fish passage.

Since then, an effort, spearheaded by the Kenai Watershed Forum, has been under way to upgrade inadequate culverts. Many have been replaced; others have been altered to slow the current passing through.

Planning road crossings that account for fish passage is now as much a part of road design as planning safe intersections.

Improvements to the Sterling Highway also are long overdue; if you’ve had the opportunity to drive on highways in other parts of the state that have undergone similar improvements, you know how much of a difference they make. Between 2006 and 2010, that stretch of road saw 266 traffic accidents; 93 of them, or 35 percent, could have been less severe or avoided altogether had the proposed improvements been in place.

Construction is planned for the summer of 2018, and we know to expect a long, slow drive for anyone who will be headed that direction, with likely detours around Kalifornsky Beach Road (which, by the way, will be seeing some improvements this summer, including traffic lights to be installed at the Gas Well and Ciechanski intersections; find details here: http://www.kbeachrd.com/).

While there will be some short-term inconvenience, we look forward to the long-term benefits, including a safer road and better salmon habitat, both of which are a boon for the Kenai Peninsula.

More in Opinion

This Aug. 3, 2021, photo shows Juneau International Airport.  The Federal Aviation Administration shared recommendations on Thursday for improving aviation safety in the state. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: How the FAA will improve the margin of aviation safety in Alaska

Alaska depends on aviation more than any other state…

Central Peninsula Hospital is seen in Soldotna on Wednesday, Oct. 13, 2021. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: Perspective of an educator in a ‘high-risk’ group, part 2

During some of the darkest days of my time in ICU, it was obvious where we all live is a special place.

Lawmakers havereturned to the Alaska State Capitol for a fourth special session. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Revenues should be determined before more PFD spending

The governor believes the dividend drives the entire calculation. Sadly, he has it backwards

Ronnie Leach. (Photo provided)
Point of View: For Domestic Violence Awareness Month, #weareresilient

At the onset of COVID-19, we expanded our services in a way to ensure COVID-19 consciousness.

Rep. Don Young talks during a June 2021 interview with the Empire. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion:Where’s Don Young when America needs him?

Once upon a time, avoiding political controversy was completely out of character for Young.

Peter Zuyus
Voices of the Peninsula: Seniors appreciate vaccination efforts

To those who have worked to encourage vaccination we say: Be proud, you are, in fact, saving lives.

Jackson Blackwell (courtesy photo)
Voices of the Peninsula: Carbon dividends are the bipartisan climate solution

By levying a gradually increasing price on carbon, U.S. emissions will be slashed by 50% in 15 years.

Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)
Dunleavy: Facts Matter

Political opportunists care more about spreading political untruths than accepting the facts.

Steve Hughes. (Photo provided)
Voices of the Peninsula: We are all victims of COVID-19

It is disturbing to hear, as a triage nurse, the many reasons cited for not getting a vaccine that are based on misinformation.

teaser
Opinion: LGBTQ+ Alaskans deserve respect and dignity

Like every state that lacks equality, we need federal protection.

Mobilizing for Action through Planning and Partnerships. (logo provided)
Point of View: September is National Recovery Month

The biggest challenge when talking about recovery is the truth that one… Continue reading

Sen. Lisa Murkowski, R-Alaska, is seen in this Dec. 19, 2019 file photo. (AP Photo/Patrick Semansky, File)
Opinion: Alaska will greatly benefit from historic infrastructure bill

I was able to add many provisions to our bipartisan bill that are targeted to help Alaska.