Cassandra Sandusky, right, a graduate of Columbine High School, pauses with her friend, Jennifer Dunmore, at a row of crosses bearing the names of the victims of the attack at the school 20 years ago before a program for the victims Saturday, April 20, 2019 in Littleton, Colorado. (David Zalubowski | Associated Press)

Cassandra Sandusky, right, a graduate of Columbine High School, pauses with her friend, Jennifer Dunmore, at a row of crosses bearing the names of the victims of the attack at the school 20 years ago before a program for the victims Saturday, April 20, 2019 in Littleton, Colorado. (David Zalubowski | Associated Press)

Opinion: 20 years after Columbine, Alaskans must act to prevent gun violence

A red flag law could address Alaska’s epidemic of gun violence.

  • By BILL HANSON
  • Tuesday, April 30, 2019 9:29pm
  • Opinion

Over my 42 years in Alaska, I’ve loved my life as an outdoorsman and hunter, and still do. Like many Alaskans, I own firearms that are essential to my hunting. I’ve taught my children (now adults) to respect safe use and handling of firearms. We’ve hunted together and continue to do so — a special relationship that brings us close to the land and lifestyle we love.

But I do not support unlimited ownership of firearms. As we mark the passing of 20 years since the tragic shootings at Columbine High School, I am deeply frustrated, ashamed and remorseful that Alaska and our nation have done so little to rein in preventable gun violence. Yes, we offer gun safety classes for hunters. But we fail to preventatively remove firearms from people who are most likely to hurt themselves and others.

Why is it that the mass killing of students and teachers at the Colorado high school changed everything and yet nothing?

“I feel like we have come so far in so many ways, yet we’re still stuck in the same spot,” said Coni Sanders, the daughter of Dave Sanders, the slain Columbine High School teacher. “I never imagined that we would be where we’re at right now, where there are so many mass shootings that we can’t even keep up. … It’s just unfathomable that Columbine wasn’t enough.”

[Opinion: Alaska can join other states in passing reasonable gun laws]

Knowing there are many ways to curb gun violence without encroaching on my Second Amendment rights, I find it unfathomable that Congress and our state Legislature continue to punt on gun violence, allowing the school death toll to rise and rise.

Did you know that according to The Washington Post, 143 children and teachers have been killed at school with an additional 294 injured by gun violence since the Columbine massacre? Fortunately, some municipalities and state legislatures are stepping up to pass legislation aimed at reducing gun violence.

The red flag law is one such law enacted by a number of states, including the Republican-controlled legislatures of Florida and Indiana. Shooters often display warning signs before committing violent acts. Red flag laws allow family members and law enforcement officials to seek a court order to temporarily prohibit the disturbed shooter from purchasing and possessing guns while the order is in effect.

[Opinion: Forget awareness, sexual assault survivors deserve real change]

A red flag law could address Alaska’s epidemic of gun violence — firearm suicide. According to the Center for Disease Control, suicide accounts for nearly two-thirds of gun deaths in the United States. Alaska’s firearm suicide rate exceeds the national average.

Between 2013 and 2017, more than 800 Alaskans were killed by guns. The CDC reports that 72 percent of all firearm deaths were firearm suicides, killing nearly 600 residents. On average, one Alaska resident dies by firearm suicide every four days. In Alaska, residents are more than three times as likely to die by firearm suicide than by firearm homicide.

We Alaskans must act now to keep our family members, friends and neighbors alive.

Three legislators have sponsored House Bill 62 which would allow Alaska to become the 16th state to pass a red flag law. An April 2018 poll conducted by Alaska Survey Research showed 84 percent of Alaskans support allowing family members or police to petition a judge to temporarily remove firearms from a person deemed to be at risk of gun violence.

[Opinion: Where’s the adult leadership on gun violence?]

Right now, we have a bill before the Legislature that’s supported by a sizeable majority of Alaskans. Next, we need a hearing in the state House Judiciary Committee.

An independent 2017 study of Connecticut’s red flag law found that the law averted an estimated 72 or more suicides. Think of how many more lives could be saved in Alaska with this simple step of empowering family members and community police to act on recognizable warning signs.

I know we can remain a gun country while being smart with guns. We must not wait to act. Even with our budget crisis, we can afford one simple hearing on HB 62. Please contact your legislators to support this legislation.

Bill Hanson is an Alaska resident of 42 years, a passionate outdoorsman, hunter and gun owner. He resides in Douglas.


• Bill Hanson is an Alaska resident of 42 years, a passionate outdoorsman, hunter and gun owner. He resides in Douglas.


More in Opinion

Larry Persily (Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: State’s ‘what if’ lawsuit doesn’t much add up

The state’s latest legal endeavor came July 2 in a dubious lawsuit — with a few errors and omissions for poor measure

The entrance to the Homer Electric Association office is seen here in Kenai, Alaska, on May 7, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion file)
Opinion: Speak up on net metering program

The program allows members to install and use certain types of renewable generation to offset monthly electric usage and sell excess power to HEA

Gov. Mike Dunleavy signs bills for the state’s 2025 fiscal year budget during a private ceremony in Anchorage on Thursday, June 25, 2024. (Official photo from The Office of the Governor)
Alaska’s ‘say yes to everything’ governor is saying ‘no’ to a lot of things

For the governor’s purposes, “everything” can pretty much be defined as all industrial development

Alaska Permanent Fund Corp. board members, staff and advisors meet Oct. 30, 2023. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The concerns of reasonable Alaskans isn’t ‘noise’

During a legislative hearing on Monday, CEO Deven Mitchell referred to controversy it’s created as “noise.”

(Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: Crime pays a lot better than newspapers

I used to think that publishing a quality paper, full of accurate, informative and entertaining news would produce enough revenue to pay the bills

Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo
Lt. Gov. Nancy Dahlstrom addresses the crowd during an inaugural celebration for her and Gov. Mike Dunleavy at Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall on Jan. 20, 2023.
Opinion: The many truths Dahlstrom will deny

Real conservatives wouldn’t be trashing the rule of law

Gov. Mike Dunleavy discusses his veto of a wide-ranging education bill during a press conference March 16 at the Alaska State Capitol. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Governor, please pay more attention to Alaskans

Our governor has been a busy guy on big issues.

Priya Helweg is the acting regional director and executive officer for the Region 10 Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (Photo courtesy U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
Happy Pride Month

This month is dedicated to acknowledging and uplifting the voices and experiences of the LGBTQI+ community

A roll of “I voted” stickers sit at the Alaska Division of Elections office in Juneau in 2022. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Strengthening democracy: Native vote partners to boost voter registration

GOTNV and VPC are partnering to send over 4,000 voter registration applications this month to addresses and P.O. boxes all over Alaska

Hiroko Masuike/The New York Times
Former President Donald Trump arrives at Trump Tower after he was found guilty of all counts in his criminal trial in New York on May 30.
Opinion: Trump’s new fixers

Fixers from Alaska and elsewhere step in after guilty verdict

Ballot booths are set up inside Kenai City Hall on Thursday, Sept. 29, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Perspective from an election worker

Here is what I know about our Kenai Peninsula Borough election system

Apayauq Reitan, the first transgender woman to participate in the Iditarod, tells the House Education Committee on March 30, 2023, why she opposes a bill restricting transgender rights. (Mark Sabbatini/Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The imaginary transgender sports crisis

House Bill 183 is a right-wing solution to a problem that doesn’t exist now and never will.