Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)

Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Juneau Empire file photo)

Opinion: The 2023 budget represents bipartisan wins for Alaskans

“I’m a small government guy, but that means I believe government should stick to its core responsibilities … “

  • By Gov. Mike Dunleavy
  • Friday, July 15, 2022 10:46pm
  • Opinion

By Gov. Mike Dunleavy

While I know not everyone agrees with me politically, one thing I hope we can agree on is that the past few years have been unlike any other in Alaska’s history.

From a 7.1-magnitude quake in 2018 before I took office, to the most expensive wildfire season in state history in 2019, followed by the worst pandemic in more than a century in 2020, we’ve faced some challenges that are downright biblical.

Alaskans are tough, we are resilient, and I’m proud that we’ve faced these challenges together. We’ve been knocked down, and we’ve gotten back up.

Like any family, we’ve also had our arguments along the way. A $1.6 billion-deficit when I took office led to painful conversations about deficits and spending, and the size of the PFD. Nor was Alaska an exception to the passionate disagreements about how best to respond to the pandemic.

Today, Alaskans are facing new challenges with inflation at a 41-year high and record energy prices driving up costs everywhere from the gas station to the grocery store.

We’re also dealing with a federal administration in Washington, D.C., that is determined to prevent us from developing our vast natural resources that would create jobs and lower energy costs for Alaskans and our fellow Americans.

Turning from natural disasters and extremist policies that are difficult if not impossible to change, the budget I signed on June 28 reflects what we Alaskans can control.

First, the PFD in this budget is projected to be the largest in state history. No matter what their financial situation, it will be Alaskans, not the government, who will decide how to spend this money that will represent a $2.1 billion injection into our economy. Another $330 million in municipal school bond debt relief will help taxpayers and local governments as we continue to emerge from the pandemic.

Second, we are rebuilding our savings accounts that were nearly drained when I took office. Based on current projections, we’ll be able to put $1.7 billion into the Constitutional Budget Reserve, use additional surplus to fund K-12 education for the 2024 fiscal year, and put more than $340 million into the Higher Education Fund. Combined with royalty back payments to the CBR, we’re saving about $3.6 billion.

Third, we’re investing in infrastructure to address some of our most vital needs for our ports, harbors, airports, bridges and roads. After years of minimal capital budgets, these projects will create jobs, facilitate economic activity and growth, strengthen our state, and position us for future opportunities from the North Slope to Southeast.

Fourth, we’re holding spending in check. The state operating budget, which has traditionally been the most difficult place to find reductions, reflects my efforts since taking office to make government more efficient.

Excluding our debt service payments, and the increased resources we’ve placed into education and public safety, all other state agency spending is down 10% from the budget I inherited in 2019.

Spending restraint applies to my office as well, despite what you may have heard. Day-to-day operating expenses are down 4.5% from the budget I inherited. One-time spending this year in my office includes $1 million to establish a state infrastructure office to coordinate our efforts managing the massive federal bill that passed last year, and $1.3 million for election security efforts.

I’m a small government guy, but that means I believe government should stick to its core responsibilities that include public safety, education, and infrastructure.

I’ve been working on a bipartisan basis on education reform since I was in the Legislature, and I was pleased that worked paid off as 41 legislators from across the political spectrum approved the Alaska READS Act, which links accountability in outcomes to increases in spending for the first time.

Our public safety efforts have been paying off since we started my term by repealing the disastrous Senate Bill 91. Crime rates have fallen, in some cases to historic lows, and our State Trooper numbers continue to increase.

We have 41 more troopers than when I took office, 10 more Village Public Safety Officers, and another full Academy starting soon in Sitka that will add dozens more troopers and VPSOs to our ranks.

Finally, we accomplished all of this without raising taxes.

There was broad recognition from legislators and myself this year that this revenue windfall must be transferred back to the people who are paying for it through high energy prices. In the long run, more production, not higher prices, is what Alaska and the rest of America needs right now.

There was also broad agreement on saving this windfall, while making necessary investments in infrastructure, education and public safety. Beginning to refill the CBR and forward funding education are responsible steps to guard against the next downturn in prices.

We’re in an election year, so broad agreements in Juneau may be short-lived. To the everyday Alaskans we serve: I’m proud to say this budget does represent significant actions achieved on a bipartisan basis that will pay positive returns both now and in the future.

Mike Dunleavy is the 12th governor of Alaska.

More in Opinion

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Session ends with budget, dividend and bills passed

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

The Alaska State Capitol. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Listen to PAs; support Senate Bill 115: Modernizing PA Practice in Alaska

Health care is rapidly evolving, demanding a more flexible and responsive system

Mount Redoubt can be seen across Cook Inlet from North Kenai Beach on Thursday, July 2, 2022. (Erin Thompson/Peninsula Clarion file photo)
Opinion: Hilcorp Alaska: Powering Southcentral Alaska — past, present and future

Hilcorp Alaska has and will continue to fully develop our Cook Inlet basin leasehold

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, a Nikiski Republican, speaks in favor of overriding a veto of Senate Bill 140 during floor debate of a joint session of the Alaska State Legislature on Monday, March 18, 2024 (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Collegiality matters

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Juneau Empire file photo
Larry Persily.
Opinion: Alaska might as well embrace the past

The governor, legislators, municipal officials and business leaders are worried that the Railbelt will run short of natural gas before the end of the decade

The Alaska State Capitol on March 1. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Physicians oppose Alaska Senate Bill 115 — Independent Practice for PAs

Alaskans don’t want access to just any health care, they want access to high quality care

Norm McDonald is the deputy director of Fire Protection for the Alaska Division of Forestry & Fire Protection. (Photo courtesy Bureau of Land Management Alaska Fire Service)
The Swan Lake Fire can be seen from above on Monday, Aug. 26, 2019, on the Kenai Peninsula, Alaska. (Photo courtesy Alaska Wildland Fire Information)
Opinion: This wildfire prevention month, reflect on ways to protect each other and our communities from wildfire

Alaskans saw what happened in Canada last year, and they know it can happen here too

Jason Sodergren and retired veterinarian Ralph Broshes capture and attend to crane shot with an arrow, July 9, 2023, in Homer, Alaska. (Photo provided by Nina Faust)
What happened to the ‘Arrowshot Crane’?

In many animal rescues, the outcome is fairly quickly known, but the… Continue reading

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski addresses the Alaska State Legislature on Feb. 22, 2023. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: Set ANWR aside and President Biden is pro-Alaska

Could it be that President Biden is more pro-Alaska than Donald Trump?