Anti-COVID-19 vaccine mandate demonstrators gather as a truck convoy blocks the highway at the busy U.S. border crossing in Coutts, Alberta, Canada, Monday, Jan. 31, 2022. (Jeff McIntosh/The Canadian Press via AP)

Anti-COVID-19 vaccine mandate demonstrators gather as a truck convoy blocks the highway at the busy U.S. border crossing in Coutts, Alberta, Canada, Monday, Jan. 31, 2022. (Jeff McIntosh/The Canadian Press via AP)

Opinion.: Reflections on the Juneau protest convoy

Although not perfect, vaccines have helped save countless lives.

  • By Mark S. Johnson
  • Tuesday, February 1, 2022 11:47pm
  • Opinion

By Mark S. Johnson

The protest convoy last Saturday by some local truckers, businesses and others caused a lot of reactions on social media, many supportive and many negative.

I had a different reaction to it.

First, I appreciated that it was peaceful. Regardless of our views on issues, we should respect everyone’s right to express their views and grievances peacefully.

Second, I respect the expressions of patriotism and supports for freedom.

Third, showing support and solidarity with fellow protesting truckers in Canada was a good reminder that Canadians are our neighbors and friends.

I also have no concern with the peaceful protesters honking horns, flashing lights and even temporarily slowing traffic in some areas. Peaceful protests often are noisy and cause minor inconveniences to others, sometimes blocking streets, etc.

I empathize with their frustrations. We are all weary of the significant disruptions to our lives due to the most serious worldwide pandemic in over one hundred years, and we are anxious for this COVID-19 pandemic to fade away!

My major disappointment was that the primary reason for the protest apparently was to express opposition to vaccine mandates.

Public health scientists have developed highly effective vaccines and they continue to develop new and improved vaccines to help protect us from serious and emerging infectious diseases. Although not perfect, vaccines, including the most recent COVID vaccines, have helped save countless lives and prevented millions of serious illnesses.

During this pandemic, we have learned that public health professionals and the larger medical community need to learn better ways to educate the public on methodologies used to develop and test vaccines. They also should learn how to better educate people about public health prevention and mitigation policies that help reduce serious threats to our general health and wellbeing.

Having studied health research methodologies, I appreciate the Food and Drug Administration’s processes for approving, rejecting, or limiting the use of newly developed medications and vaccines. I also understand that researchers at CDC have a greater challenge in developing public health guidelines because they are collecting current and ongoing data on infectious diseases that affect certain segments of the population differently, are more transmissible in different environments, and are mutating.

In this pandemic, we started with the original COVID-19 virus, then we had to respond to the more contagious and lethal delta variant, and now we are dealing with the even more infectious omicron variant. We hope the virus does not continue to mutate into even more infectious and lethal variants.

Public health and medical professionals, and political leaders, who try to follow the best available and evolving protocols and guidelines to help keep the general population as safe as possible should be commended.

Over the past two years, our primary public health enemy has been the COVID-19 virus! We all should work together to try to get this pandemic under control.

Mark S. Johnson retired from the Alaska Division of Public Health and has lived in Juneau for 43 years.

More in Opinion

An array of stickers awaits voters on Election Day 2022. (Clarise Larson / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The case for keeping the parties from controlling our elections

Neither party is about to admit that the primary system they control serves the country poorly

Voters fill out their ballots at the Challenger Learning Center in Kenai, Alaska on Election Day, Nov. 8, 2022. (Jake Dye/Peninsula Clarion)
Voter tidbit: Important information about voting in the upcoming elections

Mark your calendar now for these upcoming election dates!

Larry Persily (Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: State’s ‘what if’ lawsuit doesn’t much add up

The state’s latest legal endeavor came July 2 in a dubious lawsuit — with a few errors and omissions for poor measure

The entrance to the Homer Electric Association office is seen here in Kenai, Alaska, on May 7, 2020. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion file)
Opinion: Speak up on net metering program

The program allows members to install and use certain types of renewable generation to offset monthly electric usage and sell excess power to HEA

Gov. Mike Dunleavy signs bills for the state’s 2025 fiscal year budget during a private ceremony in Anchorage on Thursday, June 25, 2024. (Official photo from The Office of the Governor)
Alaska’s ‘say yes to everything’ governor is saying ‘no’ to a lot of things

For the governor’s purposes, “everything” can pretty much be defined as all industrial development

Alaska Permanent Fund Corp. board members, staff and advisors meet Oct. 30, 2023. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: The concerns of reasonable Alaskans isn’t ‘noise’

During a legislative hearing on Monday, CEO Deven Mitchell referred to controversy it’s created as “noise.”

(Juneau Empire file photo)
Opinion: Crime pays a lot better than newspapers

I used to think that publishing a quality paper, full of accurate, informative and entertaining news would produce enough revenue to pay the bills

Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo
Lt. Gov. Nancy Dahlstrom addresses the crowd during an inaugural celebration for her and Gov. Mike Dunleavy at Elizabeth Peratrovich Hall on Jan. 20, 2023.
Opinion: The many truths Dahlstrom will deny

Real conservatives wouldn’t be trashing the rule of law

Gov. Mike Dunleavy discusses his veto of a wide-ranging education bill during a press conference March 16 at the Alaska State Capitol. (Mark Sabbatini / Juneau Empire file photo)
Governor, please pay more attention to Alaskans

Our governor has been a busy guy on big issues.

Priya Helweg is the acting regional director and executive officer for the Region 10 Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. (Photo courtesy U.S. Department of Health and Human Services)
Happy Pride Month

This month is dedicated to acknowledging and uplifting the voices and experiences of the LGBTQI+ community

A roll of “I voted” stickers sit at the Alaska Division of Elections office in Juneau in 2022. (Ben Hohenstatt / Juneau Empire File)
Strengthening democracy: Native vote partners to boost voter registration

GOTNV and VPC are partnering to send over 4,000 voter registration applications this month to addresses and P.O. boxes all over Alaska

Hiroko Masuike/The New York Times
Former President Donald Trump arrives at Trump Tower after he was found guilty of all counts in his criminal trial in New York on May 30.
Opinion: Trump’s new fixers

Fixers from Alaska and elsewhere step in after guilty verdict