Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)
                                Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire) Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to members of the media before welcoming Juneau residents to the Governor’s Open House on Tuesday, Dec. 11, 2018. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire)

Dunleavy: Operation Lady Justice brings violence against women front and center

Alaskan women are killed by men at the highest rate in the country.

  • Saturday, December 14, 2019 10:12pm
  • Opinion
You must sign in or register to continue reading content.

More in Opinion

Bonita Banks in a photo taken in June 2019 in Connemara, Ireland. (Photo courtesy Bonita Banks)
Voices of the Peninsula: The Importance of Social Wellness

The social dimension of wellness plays a significant role in many aspects of one’s health.

Sonia Nagorski, assistant professor of Geology Arts and Sciences at the University of Alaska Southeast, investigates the broken oxbow along the Mendenhall River in this October 2018 photo. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: It should be easier to protect Alaskan water

Our waters are routinely used as cheap sewers for industry whose only goal is to maximizing profits.

Cathy Sandeen, UAA’s new Chancellor, photographed outside the Administration and Humanities Building.
Alaska Voices: How UAA is charting a positive course for the future

At the University of Alaska Anchorage, we have not entered into this process lightly.

The Exxon Valdez oil tanker spill March 24, 1989, blackened hundreds of miles of coastline in Alaska’s Prince William Sound, devasting wildlife and altering lives in fishing communities for generations. (John Gaps III / Associated Press)
Alaska Voices: Pressures are mounting on Alaska’s oil spill prevention and response system

We cannot afford a return to the complacency which triggered the worst oil spill in Alaska’s history.

Gov. Mike Dunleavy holds a press conference at the Capitol on Tuesday, April 9, 2019. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Direct democracy won’t fix the budget

Not knowing isn’t a matter of ignorance of apathy. It’s not our job.

In this Jan. 31, 2020 photo, Alaska Gov. Mike Dunleavy speaks to reporters in Juneau, Alaska. On Wednesday, Feb. 12, Dunleavy proposed a state lottery as a way to provide a new source of revenue. (AP Photo/Becky Bohrer)
Alaska Voices: State lottery nothing but a shell game

Our elected leaders need to talk truthfully about taxes.

Bob Griffin, senior education research fellow from the Alaska Policy Forum, left, and Sen. Tom Begich, D-Anchorage, at a Senate Education Committee meeting on Tuesday, Feb. 4, in Juneau. (Peter Segall | Juneau Empire)
Opinion: Our youngest Alaskans deserve the educational opportunities to succeed

The markers for a child’s adult success develop early in life.

Opinion: The salmon way is worth fighting for

Alaska is our country’s last salmon state.

Most Read