Lieutenant governor candidate Edie Grunwald speaks at a Charlie Pierce campaign event at Paradisos restaurant in Kenai on Saturday, March 5, 2022. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)

Lieutenant governor candidate Edie Grunwald speaks at a Charlie Pierce campaign event at Paradisos restaurant in Kenai on Saturday, March 5, 2022. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)

Election Integrity: An Alaskan question with an Alaskan answer

A needless round of feel-good meetings and what-if conversations will be a thing of the past

  • By Edie Grunwald
  • Monday, August 1, 2022 11:20pm
  • Opinion

By Edie Grunwald

This campaign season Alaska voters are asking about election integrity, election reform, voting systems and voter accuracy.

I am preparing to get started on election issues on day one. I have already developed some processes that can go into effect immediately. I am all about can-do, will-do, and results. Let’s plan on upfront changes in the best interest of Alaskans.

Let’s start at the top. If we manage and confirm the Integrity of the Alaska election process, the methods of voting, vote counting, other questions become answered as part of the confirmation process.

Past administrations have not taken voter integrity seriously and have done little to investigate and correct any deficiencies we may have.

When elected, as Alaska’s lieutenant governor, I will exercise my statutory authority over our election system and will take immediate action to restore voter confidence in the electoral process.

Candidate for Governor Charlie Pierce has assured us all he will make election integrity a priority. I will take the actions that yield reportable and positive results to the public.

A needless round of feel-good meetings and what-if conversations will be a thing of the past.

First, purging the voter rolls of unqualified or false voter registrations will begin immediately. Alaska has almost 35,000 false voter registrations. That is about 6% with opportunity for voter fraud. That needs no discussion or consideration; it can and will be fixed without delay. Is voter registration proper? Confirm or Delete. Sound simple? Well it is. It just takes effort and consistent attention.

Concerns have been raised about the delayed counting of absentee ballots in Alaska. The fix is not complex — we will count mail-in, absentee and early votes upon receipt and maintain the counts in a secure facility, announcing them on election day. Not magic, it is called common sense.

Some question the veracity and integrity of our selected voting machines. Under my direction the State of Alaska will immediately conduct an intense analysis of the voting machines used, display the results to the public and make any changes necessary to assure confidence.

These tasks and any other anomalies brought to the Election Department attention will be investigated thoroughly and reported on a matter-of-fact basis.

Colonel (Ret.) Edie Grunwald is a candidate for lieutenant governor with the Charlie Pierce for Governor campaign.

More in Opinion

Kate Troll (Courtesy Photo / Kate Troll)
Opinion: The real ‘at last!’ on climate change

In Alaska, the Inflation Reduction Act offers come game-changing features.

The official ballot for the Aug. 16, 2022, Special General Election features ranked choice voting. (State of Alaska Division of Elections)
Voices of the Peninsula: Check out the ballot before you vote

This kind of ballot is not something you have seen before.

Former Gov. Bill Walker, right, and his running mate former commissioner of the Department of Labor and Workforce Development Heidi Drygas, speak to Juneauites gathered for a fundraiser at a private home in Juneau on Tuesday, June 7, 2022. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Why I’m voting for Walker

Walker is the only candidate with the potential to govern effectively for all Alaskans.

Nick Begich III campaign materials sit on tables ahead of a May 16 GOP debate held in Juneau. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Nick Begich is who Alaska and America need now

It is in Alaska’s best interest to elect a member of the Republican party

Michael Heimbuch attends a memorial service for the late Drew Scalzi on Aug. 5, 2005, at the Seafarers Memorial on the Homer Spit in Homer, Alaska. (Photo by Michael Armstrong/Homer News)
Point of View: King salmon: The clash of culture and science

People do some pretty awful things to king salmon stocks

State Sen. Josh Revak (Photo provided)
The time has come to end Big Tech’s rule

The hope is that the bipartisan American Innovation and Choice Online Act (S. 2992) will come to the Senate floor for a vote

Lieutenant governor candidate Edie Grunwald speaks at a Charlie Pierce campaign event at Paradisos restaurant in Kenai on Saturday, March 5, 2022. (Camille Botello/Peninsula Clarion)
Election Integrity: An Alaskan question with an Alaskan answer

A needless round of feel-good meetings and what-if conversations will be a thing of the past

This photo shows the University of Alaska Southeast campus in Juneau. (Jonson Kuhn / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: I’m a longtime educator, and I’m supporting Walker/Drygas

The issues our state faces are significant with regard to education.

Larry Persily (Peninsula Clarion file)
Opinion: Congress could keep health insurance costs from rising, but it has to act fast

The cost of health insurance will rise substantially next year for about 13 million Americans

The offical ballot for the Aug. 16, 2022, Special General Election features ranked choice voting. (State of Alaska Divison of Elections)
Opinion: Alaskans deserve an election system that represents our differences

The new system’s goal is to make this election cycle transparent, secure and easy for all Alaskans to vote

UAA Chancellor Sean Parnell (Courtesy)
Opinion: UAA’s career certificates are helping to fill Alaska’s workforce pipeline

At UAA, we are announcing a new suite of certificate programs responding to some of the state’s most critical needs