Editorial: ‘Tis the season for giving

  • By Peninsula Clarion Editorial
  • Monday, December 4, 2017 10:02am
  • Opinion

Between Thanksgiving and the New Year, it is easy to get caught up in the holiday rush, feel the pull of corporate shopping events like Black Friday and Cyber Monday and get lost in planning grand annual festivities.

But we encourage you to look for opportunities this season to consider the less fortunate here on the Kenai Peninsula, throughout the state and around the world. There are many who have less than we do, just enough to get by day to day, let alone celebrate the holidays. In fact, talk to representatives from any number of organizations, and you’ll hear that the need on the Kenai Peninsula is growing.

Thankfully there are a number of organizations close to home doing charitable work that could benefit from your contribution, whether it be your time, talent or treasure.

If you are looking for a gift idea for a hard-to-shop-for friend or relative, donate in their name, or give a gift card to an organization with a mission they support.

In another month, it will time to apply for the Alaska Permanent Fund dividend. Consider donating a portion of your dividend through the Pick. Click. Give program.

Maybe you’d care to call one of the local animal shelters, food banks, homeless shelters or other organizations to see what supplies they might need. Donate a package either from yourself or for another.

In addition to material objects, communities are always in need of volunteer time and effort. Maybe that’s walking dogs at the animal shelter, shelving books at the library, reading to students in our local schools or helping out at the senior center. Perhaps you know a neighbor that could use help shoveling snow or doing work around the house.

Also don’t forget to tell the people you have in your life how much you appreciate them and just what they mean to you. You’d be surprised how often we forget to tell each other such simple things and how much they mean to the recipient.

Indeed, the holiday season is about giving. This year, think about those in your circle of family and friends, but also remember those who are less fortunate and consider giving gifts that benefit the great meaning of holiday spirit.

And to all who give, thank you.

More in Opinion

Rep. Ben Carpenter, R-Nikiski, speaks about teacher bonuses during consideration a bill increasing state funds for public education in the Alaska House of Representatives on Thursday, Feb. 22, 2024, in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Time to disrupt our legislative process

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, presents information on a bill establishing a voluntary buyback program for Cook Inlet’s east side setnet fishery on Monday, Feb. 19, 2024, in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Fishing, energy move into spotlight

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Rep. Justin Ruffridge, R-Soldotna, speaks in support of debating an omnibus education bill in the Alaska House Chambers on Monday, Feb. 19, 2024 in Juneau, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Finding common ground on education

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, speaks to attendees at a town hall event on Monday, Nov. 20, 2023, in Nikiski, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Taking action for workers, supporting kids

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Rep. Justin Ruffridge works in the Alaska State Capitol building on Tuesday, March 28, 2023, in Juneau, Alaska. (Mark Sabbatini/Juneau Empire)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Bills move forward and public weighs in

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Alaska House Rep. Ben Carpenter, center, speaks to constituents at the Alaska State Capitol, in this undated photo. (Courtesy Office of Rep. Ben Carpenter)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Focusing on fiscal stability

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Alaska Council of School Administrators logo. (Photo provided)
Op-Ed: The K-12 Fiscal Cliff: Who is Responsible? Everyone!

Seven years is a very long time to go without a meaningful permanent state funding increase

Priya Helweg is the Deputy Regional Director and Executive Officer for the Office of the Regional Director (ORD), Office of Intergovernmental and External Affairs, Department of Health and Human Services, Region 10. (Image via hhs.gov)
Opinion: Inflation Reduction Act makes prescription drugs less expensive and more accessible

The Medicare program, can, for the first time, negotiate a fair price for certain prescription drugs taken by millions of beneficiaries

Alaska House Rep. Ben Carpenter, center, speaks to constituents at the Alaska State Capitol, in this undated photo. (Courtesy Office of Rep. Ben Carpenter)
Rep. Ben Carpenter: Looking toward strategic education reforms

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Sen. Jesse Bjorkman, R-Nikiski, speaks to attendees at a town hall event on Monday, Nov. 20, 2023 in Nikiski, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Sen. Jesse Bjorkman: Hearings for bills on the horizon

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

Rep. Justin Ruffridge works in the Alaska State Capitol building on Tuesday, March 28, 2023, in Juneau, Alaska. (Mark Sabbatini/Juneau Empire)
Rep. Justin Ruffridge: Energy on the front burner

Capitol Corner: Legislators report back from Juneau

In this undated file photo the Trans-Alaska pipeline and pump station north of Fairbanks, Alaska is shown. (AP Photo / Al Grillo)
Opinion: The PROVE IT Act would affirm Alaska LNG makes global sense

The PROVE IT Act is U.S. Senate legislation to study the emissions intensity of goods produced in the U.S. with those produced in other countries