First Lady Rose Dunleavy speaks to the importance of volunteerism during the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards in the Governor’s Mansion, Friday, May 24, 2019. (Ben Hohenstatt | Juneau Empire)

First Lady Rose Dunleavy speaks to the importance of volunteerism during the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards in the Governor’s Mansion, Friday, May 24, 2019. (Ben Hohenstatt | Juneau Empire)

Alaska first lady’s volunteer award nominations are now open

Each one of these Alaskans has made our state a better place to live.

  • By Rose Dunleavy, Alaska’s First Lady
  • Sunday, February 2, 2020 1:30am
  • Opinion

As we move forward into a new decade, I am happy to continue the First Lady’s Volunteer Awards, an annual tradition started by First Lady Bella Hammond in 1975 to recognize and pay tribute to a special group of volunteers that make extraordinary contributions to our communities and state. In the past decade alone, thousands of nominations were received, and 71 incredible Alaskans have been awarded as recipients of the First Lady’s Volunteer Awards.

Last year, our program recognized Alaskans that raised money to support our thriving military community, founded homeless coalitions, improved the lives of Alaska’s children through educational camps, and provided resources for families with dyslexia, as well as organizing community wide cleanups to get the next generation of Alaskans involved in giving back. Each one of these Alaskans has made our state a better place to live, and I thank them for their service.

It is a special honor for me to present these awards to individuals who are selfless, caring, and make positive impacts on the lives of other Alaskans and our communities. Exceptional volunteers are not those that seek recognition, but rather do the hard work with a giving heart. The First Lady’s Volunteer Awards shines a light on these special Alaskans. Each one of the nominees has an inspirational story to tell, and I look forward to sharing those stories with all Alaskans when the recipients are announced.

Recipients are chosen by a committee of Alaskans in a selection process that values long-term volunteerism, and high-impact service to community. The 2020 recipients will be honored at a ceremony at the Governor’s Residence in Juneau this spring. The committee members and I are looking forward to reading the nominations with the opportunity to highlight the good work that is being done across Alaska.

Please join me in recognizing deserving Alaskans by submitting a nomination. Nominations for outstanding volunteers are being accepted beginning February 1 through March 1, 2020. Nominations can be submitted online at volunteerawards.alaska.gov or by using hard copies which are available to pick up in person in the Anchorage, Juneau, Fairbanks, or Palmer Governor’s Office. For more information, please contact the Office of the Governor at 907-465-3500.


• By Rose Dunleavy, Alaska’s first lady


More in Opinion

This image available under the Creative Commons license shows the outline of the state of Alaska filled with the pattern of the state flag.
Opinion: Bringing broadband to all Alaskans

Too many Alaskans face barriers accessing the internet.

This photo shows a stack of pocket constitutions at the Alaska State Capitol. (Peter Segall / Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Join us in voting against a constitutional convention

Voting no on a constitutional convention is vital to the well-being and stability of our state.

Michael O’Meara.
Point of View: Tell BOEM how you feel

It seems like BOEM should prioritize input from people most likely to be affected if leases are sold

The State of Alaska, Department of Administration, Office of Information Technology webpage. (Screenshot/oit.alaska.gov)
Cloud migration now underway will strengthen, enhance State IT systems

At the most basic level, cloud computing is the delivery of computing services remotely

Jessica Cook, left, and Les Gara stand in The Peninsula Clarion’s offices on Thursday, June 30, 2022, in Kenai, Alaska. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Alaska Voices: Better schools for a better economy

We need leaders who care about our children’s futures

A resident casts their vote in the regular municipal election Tuesday, Oct. 6, 2020, at the Kenai Peninsula Fairgrounds in Ninilchik, Alaska. (Photo by Megan Pacer/Homer News)
Voices of the Peninsula: This is our borough and city

By Therese Lewandowski Another election already? Yes! This is our local elections… Continue reading

The Alaska Permanent Fund Corporation building is seen in Juneau, Alaska, in March 2022. (Michael S. Lockett / Juneau Empire)
Opinion: APFC keeps steady keel during turbulent year

FY2022 was a challenging year for all investors

t
Opinion: Don’t get scammed like I nearly did

I should have just turned off the computer.

Homer Foundation
Point of View: Nonprofits provide essential services not provided by cities

By our count, nonprofits provide more than 100 jobs to our communities

Kenai Peninsula Borough Mayor Charlie Pierce campaigns for governor as he walks in the 65th annual Soldotna Progress Days Parade on Saturday, July 23, 2022 in Soldotna, Alaska. Pierce resigned as borough mayor effective Sept. 30, 2022, to focus on his gubernatorial campaign. (Ashlyn O’Hara/Peninsula Clarion)
Voices of the Peninsula: ‘It has been an honor to serve’

Borough mayor gives send-off ahead of departure

Gov. Mike Dunleavy announces Friday, July 15, 2022, that 2022 most PFD payments will be distributed on Sept. 20, 2022. (Screenshot)
Opinion: A historic PFD still leaves work to be done

It is important to remember the dividend is not, and has never been, a welfare payment