In this Jan. 29, 2019 file photo, Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing in Juneau, Alaska. Clarkson says his life was likely saved by one simple act. He suspected he was having a heart attack on a flight to Seattle on April 26, 2019, but didn’t want to bother anyone. But a half hour before the plane landed, he pushed the call button for a flight attendant, the likely life-saving event. (AP Photo/Becky Bohrer, File)

In this Jan. 29, 2019 file photo, Alaska Attorney General Kevin Clarkson testifies before state senators during a confirmation hearing in Juneau, Alaska. Clarkson says his life was likely saved by one simple act. He suspected he was having a heart attack on a flight to Seattle on April 26, 2019, but didn’t want to bother anyone. But a half hour before the plane landed, he pushed the call button for a flight attendant, the likely life-saving event. (AP Photo/Becky Bohrer, File)

Alaska Attorney General Clarkson: My wake-up call on heart health

“This cannot be happening to me, I’m the guy who runs or walks 3-5 miles every day.”

  • Tuesday, May 7, 2019 10:48pm
  • Opinion
You must sign in or register to continue reading content.

More in Opinion

Letter to the Editor: Alabama sets the stage for a Constitutional fight on abortion

Alabama did something courageous, but they still haven’t quite got it right.

In this March 7, 2019 photo, Mouhcine Guettabi, associate professor of economics at the Institute of Social and Economic Research at the University of Alaska Anchorage, speaks to the Senate Finance Committee at the Capitol. (Michael Penn | Juneau Empire File)
Opinion: Time for some budget humility

Economists are failing Gov. Dunleavy.

Harmful species coordinator Rosie Masui takes samples at the Homer Harbor in July 2017 in Homer, Alaska. (Photo provided)
Point of View: What we stand to lose

Funding for research is money well-spent

Letter to the Editor: This is not about abortion, but controlling women

In my medical records, it says I had an abortion: spontaneous. Most… Continue reading

Larry Persily gives a presentation at the Kenai/Soldotna joint chamber luncheon on Wednesday, Feb. 6, 2019. (Photo by Brian Mazurek/Peninsula Clarion)
Opinion: Alaska needs to stop dreaming and solve real problems

We love thinking about big projects, but unattainable big projects distract us from reality.

Cindy Harris (Right) receives the Advocate of the Year Award from the Alzheimer’s Association during their annual forum in Washington, D.C. on April 1, 2019. (Photo courtesy of Cindy Harris)
Letter to the Editor: Join the fight against Alzheimer’s

I understand firsthand the enormous burden this disease has on the families and the economy.

(File photo)
Opinion: Murkowski’s oversight failure on Pebble is troubling

We need leadership now when it comes to Bristol Bay.

Opinion: Prepare, attract and retain quality educators for Alaska’s future

Constant employee turnover takes time, money, and energy away from educating young people.

Alaska: Our quality of life is at stake

Total philanthropic giving in Alaska in 2018 added up to approximately $135 million.

Most Read