Popsicle season is tough on folks who are intolerant or allergic to cow’s milk. When popsicles containing cow’s milk are offered to those who cannot consume it, they have to pass or hope there’s an alternative available. Milk allergies are particularly tough on kids, especially when their needs are overlooked at events where others are in charge of the menu.
Cooking for someone who is lactose-intolerant is different from cooking for those who have an allergy to dairy. Real dairy substitutions containing an enzyme called “lactase” to break down lactose and make it more digestible (like those sold under LACTAID® brand), are well tolerated by people sensitive to lactose. That substitution, however, cannot be made for people who are allergic to dairy. If a person is allergic to dairy, substitutions must come from other sources, such as soy, rice, almonds and coconut.
Almond milk and coconut milk are excellent non-dairy substitutions for many dessert recipes calling for milk or heavy cream, in particular for puddings and ice cream. The same recipes used here for chocolate and butterscotch puddings work very well for making popsicles, too. When frozen, the mixture remains smooth and creamy, resulting in the kind quintessential warm weather treat that can be enjoyed whether you can have dairy or not.
There are many sources of information available to those who are intolerant or allergic to dairy. Besides seeking guidance from your own health care provider, find recommendations on the internet at http://www.niaid.nih.gov and http://www.godairyfree.org.
Sue Ade is a syndicated food writer with broad experience and interest in the culinary arts. She has worked and resided in the Lowcountry of South Carolina since 1985 and may be reached at firstname.lastname@example.org.